• Strongest squadron?

Strongest squadron? - Burrell, Whitmore say Mexico group is Jamaica's best

Published: Thursday | January 31, 2013

National senior men's football team head coach, Theodore Whitmore (right), announces the names of players selected to the Jamaica squad for next Wednesday's World Cup Qualifying fixture against Mexico. Looking on is national Under-20 football team head coach Wendel Downswell, who also announced his squad for upcoming qualifying competition, during a press conference at the Jamaica Football Federation office in New Kingston yesterday. - Ian Allen/Photographer

Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

Despite Jamaica's senior men's football squad that has been called up for the February 6 World Cup Qualifier away to Mexico consisting of eight inactive players, five newcomers and two schoolboys, federation president, Captain Horace Burrell, and head coach Theodore Whitmore say it represents Jamaica's strongest available squadron.

"One of the mistakes that we will never make again is to have Jamaica parade an 11 on the field that we know is not the strongest 11 available," Burrell argued during yesterday's press launch held at the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).

"We should never repeat what happened in the Caribbean Cup. We have gone all out to try and secure the strongest 11 possible players to represent this country. We have gone for the most experienced players ever in the history of Jamaica."

The five players - selected following the JFF recruitment efforts in Europe last year - who are either new to the programme or have never represented the country in an official game, are Marvin Elliot (Bristol City), Joel Jobi McAnuff (Reading), Garath McCleary (Reading), Theo Robinson (Derby County) and Jermaine Beckford (Huddersfield).

The players will leave from their various clubs on February 3 for Mexico, where they are slated to engage in two training sessions prior to the game.

EXPENSIVE VENTURE

"Many of the clubs have made one request of the JFF because they are thinking about the health and safety of the players, they have asked that the players to travel as comfortably as possible," Burrell disclosed. "We have put arrangements in place for them (players) to be accommodated a little bit more comfortably, in the business cabin. That's an expensive venture, but we have to do it because it is necessary."

With the players set to be released by their clubs a mere 48 hours before the match, Whitmore has expressed concern with the limited preparation time, but is nonetheless expecting a good showing.

"I am very concerned about the limited time with the team in practice, but very confident with the quality of players that we are assembling together," Whitmore shared. "We want to go over there (Mexico) and give a good performance and the result will come.

"If we go down to Mexico thinking that we are going to lose the game then we have already lost the game."

Ryan Johnson, Omar Daley and Donovan Ricketts have been recalled to the squad after being overlooked of late. Whitmore also said 18-year-old schoolboys Alvas Powell and Andre Lewis are in the squad for development purposes.

"There is a time for every player ... at this time we have selected the 23 players that we think are best for the Mexico game," Whitmore said.

SQUAD:

GOALKEEPERS - Dwayne Miller, Donovan Ricketts and Duwayne Kerr. DEFENDERS - Nyron Nosworthy, Damion Stewart, Alvas Powell, Adrian Mariappa, Demar Phillips, Jermaine Taylor. MIDFIELDERS - Jermaine Johnson, Omar Daley, Tramaine Stewart, Rodolph Austin, Marvin Elliot, Jason Morrison, Joel Jobi McAnuff, Jermaine Hue, Andre Lewis. FORWARDS: Dane Richards, Jermaine Beckford, Garath McCleary, Theo Robinson, Ryan Johnson.

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

Results will prove if this is the strongest squad!

Results won't prove a thing, Stoni!

You could put together the strongest squad possible you will always be behind the 8 ball when you are calling together players who don't know each other, whose quality in a WC qualifier is unknown, who are going to have 2 training sessions prior to playing the biggest team in CONCACAF in the Azteca stadium.

Now, I guess if we win, in such a scenario as described, then yes, the results may suggest this squad is not only strong, but di baddest ting since the 1970 Brazil team!

Here are their club affiliations - other than the youths and Hue, all play abroad:

GOALKEEPERS - Dwayne Miller (Syrianska), Donovan Ricketts (Portland Timbers) and Duwayne Kerr (Stromenn).

DEFENDERS - Nyron Nosworthy (Watford), Damion Stewart (Notts County), Alvas Powell (Youth - Portmore), Adrian Mariappa (Reading), Demar Phillips (Aalesunds FC), Jermaine Taylor (Houston).

MIDFIELDERS - Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday), Omar Daley (Motherwell), Tramaine Stewart (Aalesunds FC), Rodolph Austin (Leeds), Marvin Elliot (Bristol City), Jason Morrison (Aalesunds), Joel Jobi McAnuff (Reading), Jermaine Hue (Harbour View), Andre Lewis (Youth - Portmore).

FORWARDS: Dane Richards (Burnley) , Jermaine Beckford (Huddersfield Town), Garath McCleary (Reading), Theo Robinson (Derby), Ryan Johnson (Portland Timbers).

I am all for youngsters being a part of the senior team, but could these youngsters at least be starring it up in the premier league before they are dragged along to a WC qualifier!?!?

Neither of them are regulars on any club team.

True thing Mo. No chemistry, no training at altitude and again no training,so what that is no training to the third power. Only thing good is the combinations of players, the Reading connection with three the last gold cup connection team, still strongly represented in this squad.

That is the fundamental flaw with our selection process, it is a combination of ring around the roses and musical chairs.

I am all for youngsters being a part of the senior team, but could these youngsters at least be starring it up in the premier league before they are dragged along to a WC qualifier!?!?

Neither of them are regulars on any club team.
                Who would have been your choices? I am not there so no chance to see any youngsters play.

The players in the U20 squad who have been making an impact in the premier league are, in my opinion, of course:

Paul Wilson (Kee-Ki) - midfielder, Portmore United
                  Ricardo Oldham (Deco) - midfielder, Arnett Gardens
                  Kareem Manning (Keh-Keh) - left back, Portmore United
                  Shawn Lawes - central defender/midfielder, Arnett Gardens

I think these 4 players would deserve to go ahead of Andre Lewis and even Alvas Powell who I rate highly. But why can't either of these two players prove their quality week in-week out in the RSPL?!?

Paul Wilson does exactly that and, despite his diminutive stature, continues to strike fear into opponents with his industry and smarts on the football field. He is the closest thing to a successor to Maestro.

So how fast is he and can he do the dirty work too.

The players in the U20 squad who have been making an impact in the premier league are, in my opinion, of course:

Paul Wilson (Kee-Ki) - midfielder, Portmore United
                      Ricardo Oldham (Deco) - midfielder, Arnett Gardens
                      Kareem Manning (Keh-Keh) - left back, Portmore United
                      Shawn Lawes - central defender/midfielder, Arnett Gardens

I think these 4 players would deserve to go ahead of Andre Lewis and even Alvas Powell who I rate highly. But why can't either of these two players prove their quality week in-week out in the RSPL?!?

Paul Wilson does exactly that and, despite his diminutive stature, continues to strike fear into opponents with his industry and smarts on the football field. He is the closest thing to a successor to Maestro.
                      Mo, sometimes it is not obvious what the manager is thinking. For example, (and of course this is wild speculation), he may like the mentality of these players or see a different kind of potential. I remember years ago, in the early nineties, hearing stories about how great Boyd and Lowe were (me living in foreign I never got to see them play until the WC campaign), yet when given the chance to go abroad early in their careers, they botched it. Maybe these boys need the kind of exposure a trip to Mexico will give them. Who knows? As with all these cases, absent reliable information, we have to trust the manager.

Did you see the word "industry" beside his name? He is fast and works hard. Not the whiz that Maestro is, but if yuh not going to be a magician, yuh better work hard!

I understand all of that, and don't have a problem with that.

I just wonder sometimes why those two young favourites are not given more playing time in our top league. I can understand the need to not rush them and to protect them from unnecessary injuries, to groom them carefully, but I think playing in the premier league and proving themselves is exactly what they need. Maybe not ever match, but certainly quite a few! It's not like they are 14 years old.

Lewis not going to be able to manage when a man go to eat him food. I am not even sure he can play football yet at big man pace. Too much dilly dallying. Then again, he has been making decisions faster over the past couple months. Maybe that call up to senior camp helped.