Arsenal transfer policy is helping club's rivals

• Arsenal transfer policy is helping club's rivals

www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jan/28/arsenal-transfer-policy-alisher-usmanov

Arsenal transfer policy is helping club's rivals, says Alisher Usmanov

• Shareholder says Arsenal must stop best players from leaving
    • Usmanov claims Thierry Henry wants him to take over club

Monday 28 January 2013 09.39 EST

Alisher Usmanov says Arsène Wenger has created two great sides: 'the one that plays for our rivals and the one that is trying to be the best in the world'. Photograph: Sergei Shakhidjanian/AFP/Getty Images

The Arsenal shareholder Alisher Usmanov has said he is concerned that the club's difficulties in hanging on to their best players has helped create great teams for their rivals. He also claimed that Thierry Henry has urged him to take over at the Emirates to stop the trophy drought.

Arsenal have not won anything since the FA Cup in 2005 and in recent years have sold the striker Robin van Persie, the midfielders Cesc Fábregas, Samir Nasri and Alex Song, and the left-back Gaël Clichy. Manchester United signed Van Persie; Fábregas and Song went to Barcelona; and Nasri and Clichy won the Premier League with Manchester City last season.

In an interview with the sports daily L'Equipe, Usmanov said: "The greatest achievement of Arsène Wenger is to have created two teams: the one that now plays for our rivals and the one that is trying to be among the best in the Premier League.

"That's why I say it's not enough to merely flatter the coach, but to give him the possibility to buy the best players, superstars. But not just stars, but those chosen by Wenger."

He added: "For me, he's one of the best coaches in the world, but it's not easy for him. I think he deserves that players are brought in at Arsenal when they're needed.

"The best players, and not being satisfied with selling our best players to our rivals. If that happens, we can ask everything of him. But, today, he's sacrificed. Because of the policy and we're all to blame. Everything's in [the Arsenal majority shareholder] Mr Kroenke's hands and I hope he succeeds, even if he doesn't go along with my ideas.

"It's unthinkable that the shareholders get well-paid while, for small clauses in contracts, we lose key players, symbols like Robin van Persie, Mathieu Flamini or Patrick Vieira. We should have increased their salaries when they started to be courted, started to look elsewhere. I don't know why we didn't propose that to them."

Usmanov owns just under 30% of Arsenal, less than the American businessman Stan Kroenke. But Usmanov claimed Henry wants him to take control of the club. "I like many footballers and I'm in contact with some of them. Perhaps my favourite of the last 10, 15 years is Thierry Henry. He's pushing me to buy all of Arsenal's shares, but I cannot predict the future," he said.

"When I had the chance to buy some shares and become one of the main shareholders in the club, I didn't hesitate for a second. I was even ready to take total control. That wasn't possible because certain people preferred to make a profit and create, using me, an outside enemy. I remain portrayed as a pirate, an enemy. They have won that game."

City and Manu** have certainly benefited...no one can argue with that...but notice he didn't say he was prepared to buy out the club and maintain that policy; little too expensive to spend a pound of gold to buy a pound of silver...right Alisher?

The man just want fi buy out the club. It is hard for Arsenal to keep all of those players because so many see themselves as big stars and wanted to leave. He couldn't hold some of them as others were splashing the cash. It ain't easy to compete with Madrid, Real, City and Chelsea with buying power.
      Last edited by Assasin; January 28, 2013, 04:36 PM.

Every now and then Ushmanov come and shout off his mouth, he is just bitter that he can't even get a place on the Arsenal board. No one man can take we club fi them play thing, if him don't like how Arsenal run then sell him shares and go buy Man U!!

all those three clubs you mentioned are loosing money.. Wegner has an economics degree and understand that. the issue is the wage structure of the club.. not buying players.. i think he sees it in a very socialistic way..

a nuh lie! is TRUE!!!! how boneheaded is that?

sell yes ... but not to your rivals in the same league?! madness dat! if man u win the league, the madness would be complete. last year was nasri ... this year van persie ... what more is there to say?

I doubt he could really stop Van Persie. Van Persie decided to go from the summer before and with little time on his contract he choose Manu.

Yes - but he could have "forced' departure elsewhere; the problem is that he has strengthened his main rivals when he didn't necessarily have to.

a nuh lie! is TRUE!!!! how boneheaded is that?
                    Yet half of your fellow Arsenal fans want him to open up the wallet and spend like unu fool like Chelski.

I think he refused to go anywhere else. With a few months on his contract what choice do you have???

Yes - but he could have "forced' departure elsewhere; the problem is that he has strengthened his main rivals when he didn't necessarily have to.
                        Paul: You are right on putting pressure to either keep the players (i.e. increased salaries & buying needed 'pieces' ) to encourage the players remain at Arsenal...but in any contract negotiation there is also the wishes of the other party or parties (agents' influence? etc?) ...and then there is the wild card - another entity e.g. other club.

In the case of the wild cards - Could our GUNNERS sensibly match those 'outside' offers?

I do not have a problem with Arsense's policy...it is his recent lack of ability to have our GUNNERS leave the blocks firing and or maintaining fire power at crucial times during a season.

Aside: I think after 2005 - Every year GUNNERS were in with a chance to win the league if not for a slow start or fumbles during the tough December - March period. This season is the only season where the December - March period is on us and we have not a shot at winning the league.

Please notice that at this period we are in the Champions League (as usual) and it is usual for us to have a shot of at least 1 other competition win/trophy. This period is usually one of the periods sans 2005...where we stumble...but this season we have been lucky to have top pieces of our team return from injury (they are getting fitter and fitter) and the 1st TEAM is playing better and better in each passing match.

As usually we have tough matches coming up...some teams we shall meet are also on the improve...either, like the GUNNERS, gelliing or have brought in new top quality players (In this latter case making for completely 'b rand new' teams from early in the season.

btw ---If I am wrong on the GUNNERS being in with a chance to win the EPL at this point in the season 2006 - onwards (forget this year) please point me to the season or seasons we were not right in the mix.