• Klinsmann sounds off on US Soccer Mentality

Klinsmann Sounds Off on U.S. Soccer Mentality

By Ross Fadner, Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal has a lengthy interview with U.S. men’s national team coach Jurgen Klinsmann, covering a range of topics, including: the need for a January camp for MLS players, the connection between culture and a country’s style of play on the field, the dominance of Spain, Landon Donovan’s future with the U.S. team, and the importance of never settling at the club level.

On Landon Donovan’s future, the German was coy: “Landon wanted his time off. He made certain decisions throughout the last couple of years that are his decisions. I watch that. I evaluate that. I could have evaluated him a few times when he was with us, not that many times, but a few times. I will make the call at the end of the day if he fits into my plans or not. I told him in December he’s not part of the January camp, and I told him in December he’s not part of the Honduras game. >From his perspective, he’s still on his break.”

According to Klinsmann, the biggest problem with American soccer is the idea of settling at club level. “If a player makes it to MLS when he is 18- or 19-years old, he thinks he made it. This is the problem we have ... my whole talk to Clint Dempsey for 18 months was [about how] he hasn’t made s***. You play for Fulham? Yeah, so? Show me you play for a Champions League team, and then you start on a Champions League team and that you may end up winning the Champions League. There is always another level." [Dempsey moved from Fulham to Tottenham in August.]

© 2013 Soccer America, 145 Pipers Hill Road Wilton, CT 06897 USA

Very interesting!

Is it? Not one thing in there was something you didn't already know? Except maybe that Dempsey really thought he "made it" playing for Fulham! LOL!!!

so he goes to tottenham to "make it" ... same place klinnsman went to "make it" in english football

...should be mandatory readin' for Tappa.

so he goes to tottenham to "make it" ... same place klinnsman went to "make it" in english football
            Excuse me? Are you comparing Dempsey to Klinnsman? Well... if so, you are now officially off your rocker (unofficially, you always have been a bit of a nutcase, but now we have legal recourse to put you in a madhouse).

I didn't know many things in there! You give me too much ratings!

to be called a nutcase by a madman is a relief to me ..... how you even come to raise that question will be a mystery for eons to come ....

I thought it was only me calling you nutcase, who is the madman you're referring to? Jangle? X? LOL!!! Tan deh wait fi eons fi come...Klinsmann didn't need English football by any measure...certainly not as much as Dempsey.

I didn't know many things in there! You give me too much ratings!
                    Too much ratings? LOL!! Well, even if is not so much you are still HEAD AND SHOULDERS above your bredrin Gamma...

yuh read but yuh naw undastan

======

Mussi true mi mad