Chelsea v GUNNERS! Chelsea's total dominance for 30 minutes

Well that is the problem. if he is not going to be in a defensive position and leave the space for the opposing player then it makes no sense to go forward.
    Agreed!_

Originally posted by Twan View Post
      are you still drinking that sorrel from Xmas ?
      Are we playing better than earlier during the current season?
      I think we are!

4 teams are currently playing better - BoyU, ManCity, Chelsea and Tottenham ...and we are rapidly on the improve! I will expect that if our improvement continues we can snatch the #4 position.

btw - Of those 4 only Tottenham suggests possible great improvement in quality of play.

We can...and should beat both BoyU and Tottenham! ...so we could max out those 48 points! ...or come very, very close to so doing!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          What a difference a RVP would've made, Bacary Sagna is just a shadow of the player he was!! My Gunners continue to frustrate me. When big game come up we always tend to have one or two important players missing. Arteta, Podolski, Chamberlain, Rosicky. could have done with a couple of these today.
          Yuh seit?!
          Why did it take until the 2nd half to see us get going???

As mi seh, Chelsea tek them foot off the gas. Arsenal got more time and space to make plays. Chelsea's passing percentage dropped noticeably in the second half as whenever they got the ball, it usually ended up with errant passing, thus gifting Arsenal the ball to start their attack.

Torres' and Ba's clear cut chances in the second half should have put this game to bed a long time and put the Gummers out of their misery.
            ...Ok ! Yuh seh?
            ...and if we had taken the 5 missed chances even as we were made to look like schoolboys v men in the 1st half

Are we playing better than earlier during the current season?
              I think we are!

4 teams are currently playing better - BoyU, ManCity, Chelsea and Tottenham ...and we are rapidly on the improve! I will expect that if our improvement continues we can snatch the #4 position.

btw - Of those 4 only Tottenham suggests possible great improvement in quality of play.
              in what areas are we improving Karl ?
              we are not creating enough chances, and then we miss the ones we create.
              defensively we are leaking goals...
              we get over run in midfield for the first 45 mins consistently....

tell me where you see improvement.

Yuh seit?!
                Why did it take until the 2nd half to see us get going???
                now that's the million $ question.

why do wait till half time to make adjustments, when our formation/strategy is obviously not working and we are being over run ?

We can...and should beat both BoyU and Tottenham! ...so we could max out those 48 points! ...or come very, very close to so doing!
                  in the same breath we SHOULD have beaten Chelsea and City too.

Spurs is the only team above us that we MIGHT get a win from. They are improving.
                  You seem to forget that Everton and now Pool are breathing down our arses right now.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                    It's not the overlapping, it is the fact that he is not getting back when the play breaks down, he is jogging back instead of sprinting back. Look at Gibbs on the other side, he is playing fantastic. Sagna need to up his game or get dropped. He also get into some great attacking position and not making is final ball count.
                    I agree that his game his below par, but Jenksion is no better.

I think Chelsea were a bit too cautious in the second half because they have been having a bad run at home. Games they were expected to win, then ended up either losing or drawing. This is the second win out of 8 home games for Chelsea since Raffa took charge. I guess the home fans have not made home a place the team look forward to playing, hence the string of bad results.

Anyway, I have my opinion and you yours. I still think Chelsea is a better team than Arsenal at this time. If it were not for their inconsistencies, there would not have been any doubt in the players' minds that they can put this Arsenal side to bed.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think Chelsea were a bit too cautious in the second half because they have been having a bad run at home. Games they were expected to win, then ended up either losing or drawing. This is the second win out of 8 home games for Chelsea since Raffa took charge. I guess the home fans have not made home a place the team look forward to playing, hence the string of bad results.

Anyway, I have my opinion and you yours. I still think Chelsea is a better team than Arsenal at this time. If it were not for their inconsistencies, there would not have been any doubt in the players' minds that they can put this Arsenal side to bed.
                        On paper, Chelsea is the best team in the Prem...but on paper don't mean squat if you can't get your act together. Their biggest problem is in the striker department, they should sell Torres in January, cut their losses and move on.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...673#post402673

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                            in what areas are we improving Karl ?
                            we are not creating enough chances, and then we miss the ones we create.
                            defensively we are leaking goals...
                            we get over run in midfield for the first 45 mins consistently....

tell me where you see improvement.
                            TEAMplay!

We are moving the ball faster! ...we are moving more! These 2 make a world of difference. It means the opponents are afforded less time to 'set up on defense'. It means less pressure on the ball when we are in possession. It affords more chances at goal. It results in easier chances. Makes us less susceptible to attacks.

When we move the ball faster as we did in the 2nd half today it makes for 'million times' better TEAM(play)!

Aside: It was good Arteta was not around. He slows our play.

Incidentally, our up tempo play also means we put more pressure on the ball when we lose same. Opponents afford less time on the ball.

Boss the GUNNERS we have seen recently against BoyU (loss 0 -2), Man City (loss) and Chelsea (loss) saw us playing our best type/quality football of the season. That type play will defeat all save - Spurs, Chelsea, ManCity and BoyU! Hell...we have drawn and won matches playing at a much lower level against 'the rest'.

As I said - I expect us to continue improving/continue on the 'up-track'...run into our best form! BoyU, Chelsea and ManCity are playing at top form. Only Tottenham has not yet hit top form. Unfortunately Tottenham is also improving...and we have a game against them!

If we keep up the rate of improvement - we shall be A-OK for Champions League next year! ...and who knows, 'win FA Cup trophy'?

PS: Ramsey...another who disrupts our game, came on and today tried to play faster. Still reverted to his old hesitations and slowing of the game...and as a result gave away the ball too often...and definitely at times 'destroyed' our play!!!

Santi Carzola who moved the ball swiftly consistently...and 'passed and moved' most consistently for us today, was our MOM!
                            Last edited by Karl; January 20, 2013, 11:53 PM.

That boy that filled in for Sagna when he was injured was very good and shouldn't have been dropped.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

On paper, Chelsea is the best team in the Prem...but on paper don't mean squat if you can't get your act together.

True, the Empire continues to defy the odds. Our players, with the exception of RVP and maybe Rooney, cannot make the starting team of Sh!tty or Chel$ki but we have scored the most goals and are leading the league.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015