• Liverpool FC and FSG continue to contradict themselves By Th

Liverpool FC and FSG continue to contradict themselves
    By This Is Anfield on January 16, 2013
    Last week captain Steven Gerrard spoke out against Liverpool’s transfer policy, which has seemingly prompted managing director Ian Ayre to give an interview with The Liverpool Echo, seeking to explain the policy. Instead, his interview has raised more questions than answers.

Ayre told The Echo that “It’s not a policy which is set in stone but it’s an aspiration.”

Spending Power?

More worryingly though, Ayre claimed that had Liverpool signed Clint Dempsey in the summer, they would not have been able to afford to sign Daniel Sturridge in January.

“If we had spent that money in the summer then we wouldn’t have done that trade recently,” explained Ayre.

And yes, the managing director of Liverpool FC used the word “trade” when discussing a player signing.

This is despite chairman Tom Werner saying last year that “we certainly have the resources to compete with anybody in football.

So, we either have the resources to compete with anybody in football, or we wouldn’t be able to afford £12m if we spent £6m. Quite a difference. Which is it?

Final Say on Transfers?

Meanwhile, in the same interview, Ayre said;

“If the right more senior player became available and was the right person to contribute – and the manager made that point strongly – we would definitely consider it.”

“Consider it”. That clearly suggests that the manager does not have the final say on transfers.

And yet, when discussing the new scouting team in September, Rodgers said;

“I’ll then have the final say over who comes in. It’s very simple.”

Again, more contradiction.

The question also is, who is the “we” that Ayre means when he says “we would definitely consider it”? Who, exactly, does have the final say on transfers?

As was evidenced with the farcical end to the transfer window when Rodgers and Liverpool allowed Andy Carroll to leave, with Rodgers confident that a replacement, or more, would be brought in, something doesn’t add up.

New Contracts are not Signings

Another disappointing, and worrying, statement from Ayre arrived when discussing the importance of experienced players – players whom Gerrard has rightly pointed out are just as vital – and Ayre cited the renewal of player contracts as evidence.

“As everyone saw in the summer we renewed deals with many of our senior player. So experience is vital and we will consider more experienced players where it makes sense,” said Ayre.

The question here is, what is the alternative? Don’t have our experienced and strongest players sign new contracts and thus allow them to leave? It’s hardly something to sing from the hills is it. It’s like citing the fact we had 11 players start every game this season.

Balanced Squad

The PR spin from Ayre continued with a quote claiming that “we have probably got the best balance in terms of any team in the league”. Surely if that were true and we had the best balance in the League we wouldn’t be sitting in eighth, with a desperately thin squad and having failed to beat any team placed above us this season.

Moving Goalposts

The latest series of contradictions follow on from how FSG changed from demanding Champions League qualification from Kenny Dalglish in his first season in charge – sacking him irrespective of picking up the club’s first trophy in six years – to explaining the need for the long-term project under Brendan Rodgers upon his appointment.

Perhaps that was one of the few lessons learned by principal owner John Henry and co.

Henry said “We don’t want to put any pressure on Brendan by saying you have got to make the Champions League this year.”

Clear Vision?

Henry wrote an open letter to the fans after the infamous end to the transfer window claiming that “It will not be easy, it will not be perfect, but there is a clear vision at work.”

Right now, that vision looks far from clear.

Experience at the top

Until a senior figure is appointed to help run the football operation, and is based on Merseyside, questions over FSG will continue from supporters. Having a chairman and principal owner reside on another continent is not the way a club suffering from huge errors by the previous management will recover.

Nor is appointing people to positions in which they have no previous experience or knowledge. Ian Ayre is a commercial expert acting as managing director, Billy Hogan is the club’s ‘chief commercial officer’ who was previously managing director for Fenway with no football experience. Hogan, along with Ayre and Werner, isn’t based on Merseyside. Jen Chang was appointed as director of communications despite no previous experience of such a role, he was of course sacked months into the role for the infamous Duncan Jenkins saga.

Even manager Brendan Rodgers lacks experience, having only had one full season in the Premier League prior to his appointment. Being thrown into such a big club and lacking experience around him doesn’t make his job any easier.

Take a look at the key positions within a football club; manager, chairman, managing director, owner, communications – not one of those at Liverpool FC has more than two years experience in their role.

Experience is needed not

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Suarez: Experienced players win championships
    By This Is Anfield on January 16, 2013
    Striker Luis Suarez has added to the discussion surrounding Liverpool’s transfer policy by suggesting that “experienced players win championships”.

Speaking to FOX Sports Argentina, Suarez said “I am one who thinks that [success] does not depend on individual players, but the whole team. The mentality is that young players win matches and experienced players win championships.”

Suarez’s comments come after captain Steven Gerrard criticised the policy last week. Gerrard said “I disagree with the policy to be honest. I’ve seen many signings throughout the world who have gone to clubs at the age of 28, 29 or even older and done fantastic jobs.

“To be successful at this level you need to get the mix right.”

In the interview, Suarez also commented on the treatment he receives from the British media. He explained the handball goal that was allowed against Mansfield.

“I realize that Suarez sells. Because the other day, I accidentally hit a ball with my hand and had no desire to make the goal and hit it in. And because I kissed my wrist, people began to criticize.”

Suarez, kisses the tattoo of his daughter’s name on his wrist after every goal he scores. Not that that got in the way of the gutter journalism in this country.

Suarez said “United control most of the press here, they have a lot of power here and the press will always be of help to them.”

Good lad, Luis!

Suarez quotes translated by @AccioMaria.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Seems like a club in chaos but the players are behind BR, right paul...lol...

X - the club is far from being in chaos. While no Liverpool fan is happy with where we are in the table, I can tell you that since Alonso left, this is the first season where I can see a strategy being put into play that makes any sense. Is it a perfect strategy? No. But with over 60% of the team being 25 years old or younger, the only top players that we have in the "older range" are Gerrard, Downing, Carragher, Johnson and Reina (and the latter is a goalie, so his shelf life is longer) you can see that the team is being built for the long term.

By the way, that article/post on the contradictions must have been written by a simpleton. When the manager says he has final say, it is clearly not on the financial aspects. So for example, even if Ayre came up with the money for Dempsey, he wouldn't be in the squad if Rodgers didn't want him. BR has say on who, IA has say on how much - pretty standard business model.

Other examples of simplistic interpretations:

1. Spending power - the club DOES have the spending power to match anyone, but to spend their money stupidly is clearly not part of their intention. So buying Dempsey for £6m to then go buy Sturridge for £12m is not a matter of money, but internal financial controls. A variance on budgets can be had for anything.

2. Contracts are not signings - this one takes the cake. It is clear the club will consider experienced signings - what is also clear is that they are not going to pay over the top for it.

3. Balanced squad - the simpleton who wrote the post claims that if we were a balanced squad, we'd be doing better than 8th. He clearly doesn't understand the nuances at play.

4. Moving Goal Posts - he complains that a top 4 for KD is now not the standard for BR. Give BR £80m to spend and I am sure top 8 won't be acceptable either. It's not a matter of moving the goal posts, but getting the club on track towards a more realistic objective based on where we are now.

5. Clear Vision - he implies there is not. I disagree. The focus is on youth. Eleven of the following 20 first team players are 25 or younger:

(Pepe Reina, Daniel Agger, Sebastián Coates, Martin Skrtel, José Enrique, Glen Johnson, Andre Wisdom, Lucas Leiva, Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Joe Allen, Jonjo Shelvey, Stewart Downing, Suso, Oussama Assaidi, Daniel Sturridge, Raheem Sterling, Luis Suárez,Fabio Borini, Carragher).

Of this lot, Wisdom and Sterling came from the youth system, Robinson, Flannagan, Kelly are also players who played first team ball for the club this year from our youth system.

6. Experience at the top - one can't argue with this as it is true, but it is a bit disingenuous. "Experience" sometimes clouds the way forward as people do bring baggage with them. However, there's no question that experience is a big deal. FSG clearly believe in on the job experience being adequate for key positions. We will see if they are right.

Yes mi brethren you get promoted to Liverpool Analyst from disgruntled fan . Tell it to the mi divorced brethren.

Surez admitted to diving in the box against Stoke,a penalty that won the game,that was no surprise,what floored me was Brendon Rodgers pretending as if he is shocked and outraged.Peter Marin, are u shocked and outraged?

Who is Peter Marin?
              ... who is shocked when a player dives? outrage occurs when it happens against your team and it "works"...

..but it clearly is wrong and you don't want a player doing this as part of their strategy; as I said it's wrong and second, it could backfire like the boy who cried wolf... when you genuinely are tripped up you don't get the call.

It's not something I condone or approve of... who would? Having said that I actually approved of the handball vs Ghana, in retrospect. Then, I was outraged, but honestly, I would have done the same in his position.

It should be Paul Marin,it was a palpable mistake.
                Brendon Rodgers would have us believe he is shocked and outraged that Suarez dived.I think it would be reasonable to deduce he is shocked and outraged by the admission primarily for the reason stated by you in the last sentence of your second paragraph.

Prior to Siarez's admission did you think he was a diver?

The stats dont lie !

No Wins Against Top Ten Opposition: Tactical Naivety Or Mental Weakness?

By Kylie Mitchell on January 18, 2013

Kylie Mitchell compares Liverpool’s form, goalscoring and defensive record in games against teams from the bottom half of the table and teams in the top half of the table – the difference is huge.

We head into tomorrow’s game – weather permitting – against Norwich with 31 points from a possible 66; that’s 9 points off fourth place, and a massive 24 points off the top spot. Yet, this time 4 years ago we were 2nd in the table with 47 points; just 3 points off the top.
                  Of course, everybody knows our performances have declined since the 2008/09 season where we came close to that prized 19th league title. In this relatively short space of time, key players have left the club and we have had to contend with the Gillett and Hicks era, as well as managerial turbulence.
                  Brendan Rodgers was brought in last summer in what was described as a “rebuilding process.” FSG stated that they expected this process to take several years; i.e. they did not expect Rodgers to fire us back into the top 4 immediately, nor did they expect us to challenge for titles immediately.
                  From looking at some of the statistics below, it’s a good job that they didn’t have these expectations or Rodgers too, might have been shown the door by now;

As expected, we are currently a long way off our standards of 08/09.
                  The statistics don’t lie though and the truth is Rodgers hasn’t done much worse than Dalglish last season. Neither manager has led us back to the heights of 4 years ago but this was never going to happen overnight.
                  We are 4 points short of our tally at this stage last season but perhaps surprisingly, we have scored 10 more goals and even more surprisingly, we are just 1 goal short of our tally from 08/09. However, we have conceded double the amount of goals this season compared to 08/09. This could suggest that our main problem under Rodgers lies in defence and not in attack, as some people assume.
                  We have adopted a different style under Rodgers and as everyone will have noticed, he likes to play a 4-3-3 system. This is great offensively when it works but it can leave us susceptible to counter attacks; particularly when the full backs are pushed high up to provide width. Also, when our defenders are passing the ball around at the back and opposition players press forward, our defence comes under enormous pressure in trying to search for a forward pass and this ultimately leads to individual errors which of course, results in us conceding goals. This, unfortunately, has happened to us on numerous occasions so far this season.
                  Back in 08/09, our first choice defence usually consisted of Arbeloa, Carragher, Skrtel and Fabio Aurelio. Both Arbeloa and Aurelio were good offensively and we had two world class holding midfielders in Xabi Alonso and Javier Mascherano to help them out with counter attacks. This, in turn, meant that Steven Gerrard could go forward and help out Fernando Torres.
                  The situation is different this season. Lucas Leiva was injured for the majority of the first half of the season. Joe Allen has tried to take over that holding role but has not been too convincing. Nuri Sahin and Jordan Henderson have attempted it too but neither managed to make that position their own.
                  We had a similar situation last season too; Lucas Leiva was injured and Jay Spearing and Charlie Adam were left to control that defensive midfield area but neither did so convincingly. With this in mind it is not difficult to see why we are struggling defensively. When the holding midfielders are struggling, as Joe Allen has recently, this inevitably leads to problems in defence, particularly when we are attempted to play possession around the back four. Although he has lost his pace, Carragher’s ‘no nonsense’ approach can be missed at such times.
                  A worrying statistic from the table above is the fact that we have conceded the first goal in 8 games so far and we have failed to win a single one of them. In fact, we have only managed 3 points out of a possible 24 when we conceded the first goal of the game. We weren’t much better last season either where we managed to gain just 5 points out of a possible 24. Neither of these figures are anywhere near good enough and this has contributed massively to our decline over the last couple of years.
                  Liverpool vs Top 10 Opposition

When we look at our record against the other 9 clubs in the top half of the table this season, it makes for painful reading. We have faced top 10 opposition on 11 occasions this season and have failed to win a single one, managing just 5 points from a possible 33. This is unacceptable and very worrying. We managed 14 points from 30 last season remained unbeaten in 08/09 so we have fallen drastically short this season.
                  We’ve scored the first goal on 4 occasions but we only managed to gain 2 points from a possible 12. If we look at the length of time we have managed to hold onto our lead, this too, makes for painful reading. Our longest lead against top 10 opposition all season is 29 minutes but in every other case, we have conceded an equaliser within 15 minutes. This must surely worry Brendan Rodgers.
                  Could this signal a lack of confidence and belief amongst our squad? Do we face top 10 opposition low in confidence and panic and fall to pieces the minute we take the lead? Does the occasion overwhelm our players? The evidence could suggest so. Then again, the evidence could also point to complacency; a premature sense of “job done,” perhaps?
                  Unsurprisingly, the majority of our goals scored against top 10 opposition have come between the 46th and 75th minute, especially when we consider that we have conceded most frequently in the 16th-30th minute. Liverpool trailing at half time, being left to chase the game in the second half and failing to find the equaliser has been commonplace this season.
                  If we look at the timing of our goals against top 10 opposition in 08/09, we can see that we scored most frequently between the 30th and 45th and between the 76th and 90th minute. Title contenders do not give up until that final whistle and we were no different 4 years ago.

The table above shows the timing of all goals scored and conceded and it applies to all 22 games. As we can see, we are least likely to score in those late periods of each half this season.
                  Could this indicate poor fitness and stamina compared to 08/09 or lower levels of determination? Or do our players simply lose concentration? The latter would appear to be the case when we consider that we have conceded goals most frequently in that final third of the first half.
                  Liverpool vs Lower opposition

When we look at the table above which shows our record against clubs in the bottom half of the table, we see a totally different Liverpool to the one we have just discussed.
                  Our record against bottom half opposition has improved from last year. Again, our record against such clubs is similar to that in 08/09. We have won on all 8 occasions where we scored the first goal. This is interesting considering our very poor record when we have scored the first goal against top 10 opposition. A significant reduction in the number of cards we have picked up against lower opposition this year could suggest that our players are very relaxed and confident in these games. This is also where Rodgers’ possession dominated philosophy bears fruit.
                  Still, on the 3 occasions where we have conceded the first goal against lower clubs, we still haven’t managed to win.
                  The fact that we are yet to win after conceding the first goal this season could, on surface, indicate a lack of spirit? However, our strong finish to games would suggest that spirit isn’t the problem. We lost a 1-0 lead away to West Ham in December but managed to come back from 2-1 down to win 3-2 and the character we showed in that game was similar to that in the final half hour against Man Utd last week. It was similar to that in the second half against Tottenham at White Hart Lane. And it was similar to the second half against Chelsea back at Stamford Bridge too. But in all of the latter cases, we have failed to get the equaliser.
                  My personal observation of our games against clubs in the top 10 is that they have studied our game beforehand. They realise that they can apply pressure on our defence by pressing us and force us into making mistakes. More often than not, this intense pressure has led to us conceding goals.
                  We have had similar problems further up the pitch too with Raheem Sterling and Suso. Quite often in more physical and intense games, these two have been outmuscled by the opposition. When this happens, Luis Suarez then becomes isolated.
                  Part of the reason we were so successful in the 08/09 season is the fact that our central midfield trio of Steven Gerrard, Xabi Alonso and Javier Mascherano was brimming with strength and confidence.
                  In games where certain players’ physique is a problem, Rodgers could perhaps consider changing his system before we concede that opening goal, whether this be by altering the formation or making an early substitution – which he has done on more than one occasion. Ideally, Rodgers could identify before the game that certain players aren’t as suitable as others. For example, in highly physical games against Stoke, where there isn’t too much pace amongst the Stoke attack, perhaps somebody strong and more experienced like Carragher could be a better option. Likewise, Sterling could perhaps be utilised more effectively as an impact substitution later on when defenders are tiring in highly physical games.
                  I’m not saying that Rodgers doesn’t make changes because he does. But he usually does so when it’s too late and we’re already trailing.
                  So, are we struggling this year due to Rodgers’ tactical perseverance or a lack of confidence on the players’ part? Or both? Everybody will, no doubt, have a different opinion but the statistics don’t lie and would suggest a bit of both. Nevertheless, both can be improved with experience.
                  If we had 47 points this season as we did in 08/09, we would now be 3rd and 8 points off United. Also noticeable is the fact that Man City and Tottenham were in the bottom half of the table 4 years ago but both have improved drastically in recent years, meaning the competition at the top end of the table is now fiercer.
                  Still, we have 31 points and that isn’t good enough, granted. We need to start beating teams in the top half of the table if we are to make any real progress. Our saving grace is the fact we’re picking up wins against the lower teams, which we weren’t doing enough last season.
                  All things considered, Rodgers’ progress in his opening 22 league games isn’t too different to Dalglish’s last season and when we consider that Rodgers has had to cope with a much thinner squad than Dalglish, it doesn’t seem too bad.
                  If people thought Kenny deserved more time then so too does Brendan Rodgers, surely?

No problem... I knew it was a typo... just have to ask anyway...

To answer your question... no; and I still don't think he is a diver... any more than Ashley Young or Nani ...or Valencia, if I am to believe this article

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1...he-epl/page/10

Prior to Siarez's admission did you think he was a diver?
                      Yes. You'd have to be blind not to see that. But so is Ashley Young, Nani at times, and countless others in the Prem. Suarez though, takes the cake but I think he learned his lesson after the Stoke flop.

also among cheaters he is the biggest cheat? Bwoy when yuh seh suh.....

Let me buy experience! Rodgers' plea to Anfield chiefs as he eyes Sneijder

By Dominic King
                          PUBLISHED: 17:30 EST, 18 January 2013 | UPDATED: 17:30 EST, 18 January 2013

Brendan Rodgers has urged Liverpool’s owners to open their minds to the idea of signing experienced older players to help accelerate the club’s development.
                          Since Fenway Sports Group appointed Rodgers last June, they have implemented a policy of recruiting players who are 23 and under – the exception was Oussama Assaidi, who was 24 years and two days on arrival at Anfield – but that rigid approach is starting to be called into question.
                          Both Steven Gerrard and Luis Suarez have explained why it is folly to shy away from buying players who are closer to 30 and Rodgers himself would love to bring 28-year-old Wesley Sneijder from Inter Milan, if the Holland international was prepared to take a salary cut.

Searching: Brendan Rodgers wants to add more experience to his squad

Rodgers was prevented from signing Clint Dempsey, 29, in August but while he maintains there are no problems with FSG principal figures John W Henry and Tom Werner, who is due on Merseyside this weekend, Liverpool’s manager has felt the need to explain to them what they could potentially gain.
                          ‘I have got a terrific relationship with the guys there,’ said Rodgers. ‘I will always do in my role what I think is best for the team and club. That is all I can do. It's not my money and not my club. I'm here to manage the group and, hopefully, we will get the players in to take us forward.
                          ‘I have got no complaints with the owners. They allow me to work and work well. If you ask any manager, they will always look for a young player that they can develop. But there are certain times when you need that experience.
                          ‘Look at (Robin) van Persie as the example. If you bring him in at 29, there is absolutely no question that he reinvigorates Ryan Giggs, Rio Ferdinand and Paul Scholes. He also gives the young players something too.
                          ‘If we bring in an experienced player of the right quality, there would be no question of Steven Gerrard getting a boost from it; Luis Suarez, Daniel Agger and the young players would feed off it. That is the importance. If you are going to be up there fighting for titles, you need the right blend’

Plus point: Rodgers thinks that even players like Luis Suarez would benefit from having a more experienced hand on deck

There is little doubt FSG are being more circumspect in how they operate and Managing Director Ian Ayre revealed this week that the contracts Liverpool now offer are not as lucrative as they were once before. Even still, Rodgers has impressed the need to make further additions in this window.
                          ‘We have got money that can be reinvested back into the team,’ said Rodgers, whose side face Norwich this afternoon. ‘We are just looking for the right players who fit the profile we want. It is going to take time. But I will certainly always say what I feel is right for the team.’
                          Suarez, meanwhile, will not face an FA charge after admitting he cheated in an attempt to win a penalty against Stoke in October. The FA studied his comments but because referee Lee Mason dealt with the incident at the time – Suarez was not booked – no retrospective action will be taken

Yes?? Strange I never heard you criticize Suarez, maybe it is because you were too busy defending him;probably even for diving too.
                            Why would Suarez learn a lesson from the Stoke game and not learn any lesson from his many many infamous handball infractions?
                            In the interview..,didn't he try to justify his diving,where is the regret that would be the driving force for him to learn a lessen?

Yes?? Strange I never heard you criticize Suarez, maybe it is because you were too busy defending him;probably even for diving too.
                              Show me where I have defended his diving.

Why would Suarez learn a lesson from the Stoke game and not learn any lesson from his many many infamous handball infractions?
                              The nuances of the differences are lost on you. So I won't bother. You simply are not capable of understanding as you have a hardened position.

In the interview..,didn't he try to justify his diving,where is the regret that would be the driving force for him to learn a lessen?
                              I am not here to try to read the man's mind but again, the nuances on what you call justification are far more complex than I think you contemplate - culture, background, early football lessons in Uruguay vs. Europe etc.. All I can tell you is that there has been a change since the Stoke game. Whether that will continue or not is to be seen.