86 min - Wilshere! ...excellent strike!
    Deserved...has had an excellent game...

Yep, Dunny...Jack Wilshere was as good as gold!

Glad you seeing it now. Wilshire seems to be playing his best ball to me. Chamberlin not doing too much. Haven't improved this season.

Good display by Arsenal...but too many misses and too many poor decisions by Walcott, Giroud and 2 crazy ones by Carzola. Carzola could have set up 2 tap-ins...instead he went for glory...and hit hard, high and wide!

Wenger hails Wilshere! "he's a complete midfielder!"

Arsene Wenger hails Jack Wilshere after the midfielder’s display against Swansea

Arsenal 1-0 Swansea City
            The FA Cup with Budweiser
            Third Round Proper Replay
            7.30pm, Wednesday 16 January 2013
            Emirates Stadium
            Live on ESPN
            Winning clubs receive £67,500 from The FA's prize fund
            Click here for all the Third Round results
            By Glenn Lavery

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger lavished praise on Jack Wilshere after the 21-year-old's match-winning performance against Swansea in The FA Cup.

Wilshere scored the only goal of the game to book the Gunners a Fourth Round tie against Brighton, but, deployed in the traditional ‘No.10’ role, his all-round display caught the eye to the extent that his manager offered the ultimate compliment.

Wenger said of Wilshere: "He's a complete midfielder.

“He can defend, he can attack. He is a guy who can dribble and give final balls, the closer to the goal the better.

"He was outstanding [against Swansea]. He played in a different position, a bit higher up and it created a better team balance.

"You could see he was a threat even when he played as a left winger. He had a great second half and he combined well, but we were dangerous everywhere.”

Wilshere has fought his way back into the first team picture at the Emirates following a year-and-a-half on the sidelines with an ankle injury.

The diminutive schemer made his long-awaited comeback in October and has looked stronger with each game, a point not lost on Wenger.

He added: "I have no experience of a player being out for 17 months in my whole career. I always said if we get Jack back for 1 January we have done well but he's ahead of what I could imagine.”

Wenger was also happy with how Abou Diaby fared in just his second game back after a thigh injury, but more so with his team’s overall performance.

He said: "We created chance after chance in the second half but we got [the goal] in the end. We persevered and we were rewarded.

"As a team we played well. Overall it was a good performance. It is important that we continue [to play] like that.”

Manu missed a lot of chances today too but when your defense is good it gives you another chance to get it together.

Remember we (GUNNERS) scored only 1 and Sutherland had enough chances to have embarassed us?

The display by the GUNNERS showed great promise! That performance needed the taking of 3 or 4 of the created chances to raise a 'YEEEEEES!!! Now if on Sunday v Chelsea that same enthusiastic display comes with the goals then there shall be YEEEEESSSSS!

He is not top class. Too many defficiencies. Movement not up to standard. Touch not up tp standard. Passing not up to standard. Finishing poor. ...all lead to destroying GUNNERS attacks and giving away of the ball too frequently.
                  Ahh bwoy, like i said to Skeng i am gonna say to you Karl. Be patient..........

his goals came from air or ground balls?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                      Ahh bwoy, like i said to Skeng i am gonna say to you Karl. Be patient..........
                      He is getting goals...yet to see the other areas...but I shall be watching.
                      Plus + double plus his goals...good goals..proved vital!

...by the way - He is a monster in the air! ...when
                      on attack!

He is getting goals...yet to see the other areas...but I shall be watching.
                        Plus + double plus his goals...good goals..proved vital!

...by the way - He is a monster in the air! ...when
                        on attack!
                        Karl, take it from me. The youth is an excellent allround striker. Arsenal have been too one dimentional for far too long, now we have a striker who is excellent in the air we can mix it up a bit. All i am praying for is to keep Diaby and Rosicky fit for the remainder of the season then you will see the real Arsenal!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                          Karl, take it from me. The youth is an excellent allround striker. Arsenal have been too one dimentional for far too long, now we have a striker who is excellent in the air we can mix it up a bit. All i am praying for is to keep Diaby and Rosicky fit for the remainder of the season then you will see the real Arsenal!
                          We are bit thin in certain key areas...and include Wilshere in the list of those we wish remain fit for the rest of the season.

Who spells Gibbs at the back wide on the left....unless we play one of Sagna or Jenkins out of position filling that spot. The pretender we had there today as starter is a horrible joke!

...then The OX, on attack, is also proving lousy!

Diaby is unfit needs to get stronger and get stronger quickly.
                          Same with Rosicky.

Per Mertesacker on the 2nd goal against again showed he cannot leave his feet to save his life. All he had to do was cut out that cross. The forward stooped to head in...Mertesacker should have done the same to get to it earlier and put it behind. He was perfectly positioned to head that ball... For a central defender he sure is rooted to the ground whenever air balls come his way. If the ball is more than 6" from his head forget it. He is not leaving his feet.