Pro Patria draws one-game crowd ban

• Pro Patria draws one-game crowd ban

LORENCE, Italy -- Fourth-division Pro Patria has been ordered to play one home match behind closed doors after racist chants prompted AC Milan to walk off the pitch during a friendly last week.
    The Lega Pro judge made the decision Tuesday, noting that Pro Patria has already been fined $6,500 for similar behavior by its fans this season.
    Ghana midfielder Kevin-Prince Boateng was widely applauded for leading his Milan teammates off the pitch last Thursday, although FIFA President Sepp Blatter advised players encountering racial abuse not to walk off.
    Footballers' union leader Theo van Seggelen agreed with Blatter.
    Meanwhile, Italian football federation president Giancarlo Abete said Tuesday that the best solution would be keeping racist fans out of stadiums, but that "if necessary, suspending matches temporarily or definitively is OK."

Was hoping it would be more but this is a start. Now the clowns will realize that their actions have consequences. Another episode should be a 5 game ban.

Meanwhile, Italian football federation president Giancarlo Abete said Tuesday that the best solution would be keeping racist fans out of stadiums, but that "if necessary, suspending matches temporarily or definitively is OK."
      Do they wear their swastika or KKK-embroidered cardigans to the games?

Well, I think fans that don't want their club's image to be tarnished or don't want to be prevented from watching home games would be willing to point out the bad apples.

That would be nice of them, but might prove difficult.

They need to start losing games and being kicked our of competition for their actions!

that will larn them ....

Was hoping it would be more but this is a start. Now the clowns will realize that their actions have consequences. Another episode should be a 5 game ban.
              Lazie - are you off your rocker? How can you say "this is a start?" How long has this been going on in Italy and Spain (and now because of exposure, Russia (not that they haven't been doing it from time)? $6500 and a 1 game ban for a team that has about 1000 supporters per game is stupidness. The only way to fix these things is to have a zero tolerance policy so a second offense should be a ban from promotion for 5 years or something equally as harsh, including jail time for the owners (although that might mean that Manu** and Chelsea fans might start chanting racist remarks)

"Lazie - are you off your rocker?"

Hey, you never know.

I see it as a first step compared to doing nothing. Was I anticipating a tougher punishment? YES! The judge could have 'kopped" out and insist on having the offender brought in. This way the fans will see that any more of this and there is the possibility of more games.

I agree! We are way past "starts" now.

"Lazie - are you off your rocker?"

Hey, you never know.

I see it as a first step compared to doing nothing. Was I anticipating a tougher punishment? YES! The judge could have 'kopped" out and insist on having the offender brought in. This way the fans will see that any more of this and there is the possibility of more games.
                    "Kopped out"? Huh...gwaan play wid fire...anyway...

My point is exactly that - the judge SHOULD HAVE dispensed a far harsher punishment...why *****-foot around? :KMT:

"Kopped out"? Huh...gwaan play wid fire...anyway...

My point is exactly that - the judge SHOULD HAVE dispensed a far harsher punishment...why *****-foot around? :KMT:
                      I recall players in Seria A being racially abused and no actions were taken. I am hoping this is a start.

Jail time for the owners, Paul?

I recall players in Seria A being racially abused and no actions were taken. I am hoping this is a start.
                          Did anyone walk off the field? Nope. Let's see where this takes us...

Jail time for the owners, Paul?
                            Hey...just a suggestion... (but I bet it would work!!!)

I would up the money and give it to the victim, I am sure those racist bastards would have no interest in enriching their target.