• Liverpool-sign of Wisdom

Sign of Wisdom from Liverpool as defender pens long-term Anfield deal

By Carl Markham, Press Association
    PUBLISHED:12:06, 9 January 2013| UPDATED:12:06, 9 January 2013
    New deal: Wisdom

Liverpool defender Andre Wisdom has signed a new long-term contract after establishing himself in the first-team squad this season.

The 19-year-old made his debut for Brendan Rodgers' side in the Europa League tie against Young Boys in Switzerland.

Injury to left-back Jose Enrique meant Glen Johnson switched to the opposite flank allowing Wisdom an extended run in the side and he has made 14 appearances this campaign.

'It was an easy decision to make - as soon as they offered it to me, I grabbed the opportunity with both hands because it's a great club and I just want to continue to play for Liverpool,' Wisdom said.

'I am happy with the progress I've made so far and hopefully I can progress more in the second half of the season and continue to keep playing.

'There's still so much hard work ahead. There is big competition within the team and everyone wants to play football.

'I just hope I can keep progressing and continue in the way I have been.'
    Wisdom joins fellow former reserves team-mates Raheem Sterling and Suso in extending his stay at the club, with more senior players Luis Suarez, Martin Skrtel, Daniel Agger, Brad Jones and Jonjo Shelvey all agreeing new deals since the summer.

Highly-rated: The defender has been regularly used by Liverpool this season

Managing director Ian Ayre said Wisdom's new contract was indicative of the direction the club was moving.

'It's another great example of a player committing to the club and what we're trying to achieve under Brendan,' he told liverpoolfc.com.

'He's a great young player, shown a fantastic improvement, broken into the first team and made a huge contribution and, rightly so, we've provided him with a new contract and a long-term one.

No-brainer: Wisdom said that signing on was an easy decision to make

'Getting talent like him, Raheem and others to commit at this point is absolutely essential to the future.

'The manager, the owners and everyone have said the key is to build something for the long term and young players are a catalyst to that. None more so than Andre.

'He's come on leaps and bounds in the last year or so and that's because of all the hard work he's put in and the manager giving him a chance, so it's absolutely essential players like that commit themselves to the club.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2HUEPjqJS
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Hey Mo...

You can't say that Liverpool not getting more "African" now can you? And if Suarez was such a big time racist, how come BR building a team around him with black people? Hmmmm?

racist people work with other races because dem have to!

That is true... beware of backbiters... you often don't know who your real friend is, but would it be safe for me to label people who share your belief about Suarez as "Ethical Imperialsts" ? I personally don't ascribe to this necessarily but I will be honest and say that I do believe there are some absolutes when it comes to certain behaviours... like treatment of women... I see in India that they are trafficking women as there is a shortage of marriageable females... after some families have committed infanticide etc. because they didn't want girl children... ironic.

In the Suarez case his use of the "offensive" term, negro, IMO cannot be a measure of whether he is or is not a racist; I prefer to take that a Cultural Relativism approach in this case. He might very well be a racist, but we don't know for sure... for all we know so is Evra or any other player in any league, but if there is no real evidence, well...that use might be enough for you though.

racist people work with other races because dem have to!
          Perhaps that is why "holier than thou" Evra contiues to work with Rio who called a nex black man "choc ice" (a racially motivated term)? Interesting.

...Saurez seems to get on well with all races while on the field...save all opponents! Rooney does no better, no worse! ...and legions of others do just as well!

...anyone who can do an imitation of a "brother from the hood" like this and then claim ignorance of Suarez's use of the word negro and feels offended has to be lying! or telling the truth?? punk!
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEwLkCRziD8

...anyone who can do an imitation of a "brother from the hood" like this and then claim ignorance of Suarez's use of the word negro and feels offended has to be lying! or telling the truth?? punk!
                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEwLkCRziD8

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..........people don't want to look at this no more...dem done mek up dem mind (to not use dem mind).

them say pool soon sign Ince after Kenny sold him for a little bit.

It seems like Pool stockpiling on some decent young talen. Way to go.

them say pool soon sign Ince after Kenny sold him for a little bit.

It seems like Pool stockpiling on some decent young talen. Way to go.
                    They are clearly focusing on youth - sane strategy.

Following the Arsenal blueprint right?

Brendan has the right idea

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                          Following the Arsenal blueprint right?
                          Actually, I think it is the Barcelona blue print which means they will be fueling the side with their own academy players first, but this is a necessary first step. From what I understand, FSG have significantly increased funding for the academy (I have heard as much as trippled funding, but I don't know how true that is).

haha....unuh Gooners always believe that Wegner is the great genius at buying and developing young talent. The English expert at that is SAF. His record speaks for itself.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

haha....unuh Gooners always believe that Wegner is the great genius at buying and developing young talent. The English expert at that is SAF. His record speaks for itself.
                              Who has Slurgieson developed recently? It seems to me your gaffer is so drunk with power that he has started letting your young talent go and not giving them a chance like in the old days...but I may be wrong.