National women's football coach resigns

• National women's football coach resigns

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=news_byline></TD></TR><TR><TD style="HEIGHT: 9px"></TD></TR><TR><TD class=news_summary>National women's football coach and manager of the national under-17 squad, Vin Blaine, has resigned with immediate effect from both posts. <SPAN class=news_body>

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) decided to increase the technical staff of the national women's programme because of the number of upcoming tournaments, but Blaine was upset with how the information was relayed to him.

The national senior team is due to contest the Pan American Games in Sao Paulo, Brazil while the national under-15, under-17 and under-20 squads are slated to contest regional competitions shortly.

The CONCACAF qualifiers to the FIFA under-20 women's World Cup in Chile in 2008 is also set to begin in May.

Three Caribbean teams will qualify for the eight team CONCACAF final round.

Blaine, who was appointed to the post in 2005, has launched a scathing attack on the JFF.

“After all the work that Xavier Gilbert and myself have put into this under 17 programme and because of somebody else’s hidden agenda, I’m not calling any names, but because of somebody’s hidden agenda to get rid of me as <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial; POSITION: relative">head </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial; POSITION: relative">coach</SPAN> in this programme,” said Mr. Blaine.

“The president has taken upon himself to make a decision without consultation or even referring to me and saying this is what his intentions are and that is what ticks me off the most,”

“You cannot have a person who has given his all to a programme and you make a decision whether is unilateral or otherwise, I don’t know what kind of decision that was, but I know that decision was made with consultation with other people and that is what my concern is,” he continued.

Blaine guided the national senior squad to fourth place in the CONCACAF qualifiers for the senior and under-20 women's World Cup in Los Angeles and Mexico.

A fourth place finish at the CONCACAF <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: blue 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana,Arial; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Gold</SPAN> Cup also secured qualification for the <A id=amzn_cl_link_2 href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0008I9JBU?ie=UTF8

RE: National women's football coach resigns

Suh wha happen, Boxhill bring in a Brazilian to replace Vin? Im shudda at least discuss with the man. . .
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Is juss two weeks ago di man

contactmi fi one of mi players. Mi cyaan believe this. So wait nuten nuh stable ah yaad again?

That's ashame. I really thought he was doing a good job with the women's program. Blaine needs to chill though. I understand why he is ****ed but there is something to be said for leaving gracefully. Don't pull an Arena or else the next thing he might find himself doing is coaching the Red Cows and god knows that would be the end of his career. - T.K.

Dont talk too fast I saw yesterday that Clint Mathis is back in NYC so watch out

I can't believe they brought back that whinning cry like a baby racist !

Now I feel even better I didn't get season tickets this year.

Scaly (4/3/2007)Dont talk too fast I saw yesterday that Clint Mathis is back in NYC so watch out

I can't believe they brought back that whinning cry like a baby racist !

Now I feel even better I didn't get season tickets this year.
            You see Scaly if you were cool like me you would have a press pass.My friends have their own radio show that focuses on sports. So of course DC United gives them X-amount of tickets to every DC game so that they can cover it. The only problem is that they don't care about soccer at all.So they give me their allotment of tickets. I am the will call King! (Clap)

In either case I know Jangle is the freeness King so I guess you guys will get to your fair share of matches before the year is out.

As for Clint Mathis.....you guys are real desperate man.The Bruce must be going senile. It is moves like that whyyour club has never....ever....won a single solitary trophy. I will thoroughly enjoy beating you guys up this season. (Chal)- T.K.

Even if I get free ticks I still would be hesitant to mek the trek.

Right now I would rather spend my sports dollars on a NY Met game than a Red Bull game, that's how bad it is.

Guys, why you hijacked this post with the talk about the crap MLS???
                President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Reggae-Fan (4/3/2007)Guys, why you hijacked this post with the talk about the crap MLS???
                  Wow Reggae Fan....did you wake up on the wrong side of the bed or what?

Who is stopping you fromairing your opinions on theVin Blaine story? -T.K.

I took great satisfaction in Vin Blaine's progress with the Women's team.

I think Boxhill has a lot to learn about managing. Trying to introduceU-15 andU-17 squads is moving in the right direction...but, blind-sidingthe manager he appointed to oversee his women's program is crass. Blaine is correct, he had the rug pulled out from under his feet.

Blaine's action is good!It should tell Boxhill (...and, any succeeding JFF leader)never do that again to any of the managers.Yup! Blaine's action is good for the football.

Boxhill simply has no idea how to run an organization.

People not taking the Burrell excuse anymore. Boxhill has to go.

<DIV>The sad part is, imagine what Burrell would have done.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Vin, can you swim?</DIV>

No Mosiah principle is principle and we should be able to look at the Boxhill vs Blaine dispute without bringing up the smokescreen that is Burrell.

Look the argument is simply this, is it a good move for the program or not?

Mr TK sometimes we need dig deeper than whats on the surface and not knowing the facts of the case I can't make any definite statement but I can say this.

IF we look at what the much travelled Bora is doing we can see a method to his madness and its that he is focused on first giving the local players hope in that they too can be a part of the program.

The message is simply work hard, be committed and I will stand by you. The players in kind have responded and now we see the once forgotten commitment and drive being displayed.

I don't know what Boxhill plans are and what took place however all I can say is that when you bring in a coach and pay that person US $1 million a year. Other coaches in the program are only human and so they will ask well if I am delivering how about hunting and seeking some food for me too and if not then the least I can get is some respect.

Managing people takes people skills and we have to think before taking actions. IF what Mr Blaine says is true then it will reflect poorly on Boxhill so make we wait and see what Boxhill have to say as its two sides to a story.

<DIV>I'm hardly the one to be making excuses for Boxhill. Six months ago, perhaps, but not today! It's going to be so easy for Burrell to move the academy from Munro when he gets back into office because there is absolutely nothing of substance going on up there.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The point is, it is really sad when the people skills between both Boxhill and Burrell is...well...non-existent. Don't for one minute believe that Burrell would have handled this any different.</DIV>

Iknow it is sticky on you. You weretrying hardto defend the inspector, but nowyoutryingto distance yourself.