Bracing for the Arsenal apocalypse

• Bracing for the Arsenal apocalypse

For 5,125 years, the Mayans have been telling us that the world will end on Dec. 21, 2012, but they may have missed their mark by five days. Or at least that's the prevailing feeling among Arsenal fans, who are convinced that the apocalypse will arrive Monday afternoon (ESPN2, 2:45 p.m. ET) should the Gunners fail to beat Reading in their relegation six-pointer at the Madejski.

OK, I might be guilty of hyperbole, as Liverpool is much closer to the drop than Arsenal, but you'd still be hard-pressed to find anyone in North London -- except for Arsene Wenger -- who doesn't view today's game with bottom-of-the-table Reading as Judgement Day.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/blog/_/...id/211?cc=5901

For 5,125 years, the Mayans have been telling us that the world will end on Dec. 21, 2012, but they may have missed their mark by five days. Or at least that's the prevailing feeling among Arsenal fans, who are convinced that the apocalypse will arrive Monday afternoon (ESPN2, 2:45 p.m. ET) should the Gunners fail to beat Reading in their relegation six-pointer at the Madejski.

OK, I might be guilty of hyperbole, as Liverpool is much closer to the drop than Arsenal, but you'd still be hard-pressed to find anyone in North London -- except for Arsene Wenger -- who doesn't view today's game with bottom-of-the-table Reading as Judgement Day.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/blog/_/...id/211?cc=5901
    These people are jokers, i've got to laugh. Is Arsenal not 5 points away from 3rd?

Wow this rough:

"but the Frenchman will continue to stamp his authority and fashion sense on the club until he alone says "Je suis fini."

See Missah Barristah, a no me alone suffer from these debilitating injuries:

"For one thing, my torn meniscus severely restricts any normally kneejerk reactions to Arsenal's inconsistent behavior."
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It's even more infuriating when you consider that last week, majority shareholder Stan Kroenke was able to look under his sofa cushions and scrape together around $90 million to buy a 124,000-acre ranch in northwestern Montana. Stan the Ranch Man is now up to four giant spreads, six sports teams, three vineyards and a partridge in a pear tree.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

hehehe....

That he often deploys them in positions not necessarily suiting their strengths -- although, to be fair, the bench may fit Arshavin perfectly -- and that it might have something to do with their underperforming isn't something that even occurs to him.

Classic:

It takes time to bed in new players, and I'm willing to give Wenger the next four months to work his legerdemain while laughing in the face of doom.

How can this be so?
              Possession GUNNERS are in the EPL mix relative to 3rd place.

a) GUNNERS has the players!
              Can the TEAM be strengthened in the coming January transfer window? Sure.
              ...but...?

b) ...as of today, before this Reading game.
              Tables:

5 points off 3rd!
              1. BoyU 42 pts.

2. ManCity 36 pts

3. Chelsea 29 pts

4. Tottenham 29 pts

Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/tables

c) Think GUNNERS are set up for a possible good run!

d) Just a wee bit on some players:

Gervinho needs to stop missing that which under other circumstances would be impossible to miss! This guy also needs to spend great amount of time on the field improving heading technique and kicking technique!

His TEAM effort, awareness, movement and pace? EXCELLENT!

...and the less seen of Walcott and Ramsey the better.

Walcott?
              For years he has been thinking he is better than he is and additionally he is not giving 100%.

Ramsey?
              ...because he is a 'dancer' not a footballer.

...and short runs for Giroud to help him regain confidence. His confidence is totally shot...and that lack of confidence has led to him to hindering rather than helping team.

The TEAM as entity just needs to play faster - swifter movement and passing!!! ...and attack the ball 'always'...needed greater commitment!

Our 1 constistently good player has been Jack Wilshire!!!!
              Last edited by Karl; December 17, 2012, 04:05 PM.

Looks like the hayters (and all seem to be Manu** fans) will have to wait another week for judgment day....

I think .... 4-2 now and Ramsey about to come on...

Well we came out in the 2nd half and Reading is still always on to create chances...so we must take ours. Carzola's last shot is case in point - He is miles out Walcott (who has not been playing well - keeps giving the ball to Reading with bad passes, fumbles and silly shots!) is perfectly placed on other side of the goal...Carzola gives the ball away with his shot. We could have been in with a chance at 5. ...instead Reading now has 2 goals! ...and still as they come forward it looks as if the shall have a few chances.

Incidentally Ramsey is now on...will he continue to give the ball to the opponents with the frequency as he has been doing in his games this season??? Will he make us better or worse.

...as I typed Walcott scores!

Well we came out in the 2nd half and Reading is still always on to create chances...so we must take ours. Carzola's last shot is case in point - He is miles out Walcott (who has not been playing well - keeps giving the ball to Reading with bad passes, fumbles and silly shots!) is perfectly placed on other side of the goal...Carzola gives the ball away with his shot. We could have been in with a chance at 5. ...instead Reading now has 2 goals! ...and still as they come forward it looks as if the shall have a few chances.

Incidentally Ramsey is now on...will he continue to give the ball to the opponents with the frequency as he has been doing in his games this season??? Will he make us better or worse.

...as I typed Walcott scores!
                    walcott's two touches were excellent though... before he equally brilliantly slotted home...

...ooooh yes, and that came after he gave away the ball on a number of occasions. Those giveaways aganst better teams could mean the difference between losing and winning!

Been saying for years AFC needed to nasty tings up a bit in the middle.
                        Dem need a young Von Bommel type to steel up dem centre midfield, and now need another fox in box, clinical finisher like Van Persie. Maybe dem should try a cheeky bid for Klaas-Jan Huntelaar if dem can sort out the finances.

Jangle, I think the writer meant to write : "J'ai fini" , I'm done or finished my work (understood), and not "Je suis fini" which is I'm undone... what he (the writer) means is ambiguous unless he actually meant the latter. It's not clear from the context which one he meant but I think he means the former... confused yet? LOL

Yuh too brite fi yuh owna good. What would I do without Peter & Paul.....I saw Jeezaz Crise!!!

Ah...without us, you would be led about by the dark forces of evil for the rest of your days. With us, you have some hope. We are the light!!! :fred_sanford_big_dummy_smiley: