Look, Jamaica has(yes has and I refuse to say have), two serious problems. It does not have enough good local talent(just look at the Dcup/Mcup/RSPL standard) to build a winning team around. Now, this does not mean that the talent that we have cannot be molded into a decent outfit through great coaching. We do not have that level of coaching in Tappa. So what is the obvious solution?. The answer is to build a team around mostly English(UB40) players because they already know how to play the game and the coaching would there to formulate strategy and game plan, basically. The guys who played in the CFU lacked basic skills and "ball sense". To change Tappa now would be a disaster for the hex, so we need to go on a second recruitment drive in England. The current MLS stock?. I have my doubts. With the current coaching staff, and the current local talent, we just don't have the time to do otherwise. Tappa is just not up to scratch. I base this on our performance in the last Gold Cup(yes I did say that), and the recent WCup qualifying round. The guy's game plans, and team selections are terrible. It seams as if he is just "trying a thing". That does not work at this level. The guy is scared of having accomplished players on the team because he probably thinks he is not qualified to be their coach, thus we are stuck with mediocrity. The coach's insecurity is a big part of our problem. No, Mattocks and Hue will not take us to Brazil. That is my opinion.
That is the short term solution...the long term solution is academies...cull those with potential ages 8-11...remove them from school and place them in academies where they develop with those with superior talent...there is no other solution...how do you expect to compete with players being coached by Admiral Bailey, Andrew Pryce and Mike Henry...cmon son...
We need both long-term and short-term solutions. What, we should just not play the hex in 8 weeks, and wait for 12 years before we reenter international competition?
Reggaedoc, of all your posts here, this is your absolutely best post.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
We aren't going to the World Cup in Brazil...that is obvious...the rebuilding process starts now...not this perpetual patch job...
Yes, but we can't just roll over in a supine surrender for the hex. That would set us back even further. That would be cowardice or football malpractice for want of a more suitable term. In the meantime what do we do?.
Look, Jamaica has(yes has and I refuse to say have), two serious problems. It does not have enough good local talent(just look at the Dcup/Mcup/RSPL standard) to build a winning team around. Now, this does not mean that the talent that we have cannot be molded into a decent outfit through great coaching. We do not have that level of coaching in Tappa. So what is the obvious solution?. The answer is to build a team around mostly English(UB40) players because they already know how to play the game and the coaching would there to formulate strategy and game plan, basically. The guys who played in the CFU lacked basic skills and "ball sense". To change Tappa now would be a disaster for the hex, so we need to go on a second recruitment drive in England. The current MLS stock?. I have my doubts. With the current coaching staff, and the current local talent, we just don't have the time to do otherwise. Tappa is just not up to scratch. I base this on our performance in the last Gold Cup(yes I did say that), and the recent WCup qualifying round. The guy's game plans, and team selections are terrible. It seams as if he is just "trying a thing". That does not work at this level. The guy is scared of having accomplished players on the team because he probably thinks he is not qualified to be their coach, thus we are stuck with mediocrity. The coach's insecurity is a big part of our problem. No, Mattocks and Hue will not take us to Brazil. That is my opinion.
Part of Tappa's record - Last Gold Cup
Jamaica 4 - 0 Grenada
Yes, but Karl, the evaluation has to be a little more than just the numbers. You and I are looking at the same numbers, but you and I have come to different conclusions. Even the games that we won were not, in my opinion, convincing wins. We never stamped any class on the vanquished. We won simply by scoring more goals(and you may be attempted to say that is all it takes) than the opponents and not by defeating them with better technique or tactics. Now if you can see the limitations of that notion of winning, then you will understand the grave difficulty we face going forward, when we face better teams or even the same teams playing better football. A good example is the DR during the CFU. They never advanced but I can see where they are on the right trajectory and if everything remains the same, they could well move beyond us in the next 10 years. Never mind the crap talk about how strong and fast and skillful Jamaicans are. It takes a little more than just talk.
Guatemala and the Antiguan game were very convincing wins and in the USA game we looked the better team. Our form in the losses (away games) is far more concerning.
We won those games but we defeated only A&B and that's not hard to do.
Bricktop. Do you have an idea of what's going on at the JFF that we don't know about? Is there a secret cash stash that they are hiding from us. An idea is one thing but how do you make this vision become a reality with the limited resources that we have.
You know this. So does Captain Burrell because he already stated it.
We need both short and long term solutions. And yes Bricky, we need to start developing the youths in a proper set up at an early age. However, given the players we currently have at our disposal we should be able to make it to Brasil. This debacle in Caribbean Cup is not indicative of what will happen in the hex. This CC team is by far one of the weakest squads we have fielded in a long time. There was no Richards, Austin, Shelton, JT, etc and even when they were there we barely squeaked by Antigua last time; which again highlights our need for better development at home.
Bricktop. Do you have an idea of what's going on at the JFF that we don't know about? Is there a secret cash stash that they are hiding from us. An idea is one thing but how do you make this vision become a reality with the limited resources that we have.
You know this. So does Captain Burrell because he already stated it.