BAY, Antigua --- Coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore has made sweeping changes for tonight's death-defying game against Cuba at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium Wednesday evening.
Game time is 7:00 pm (6:00 pm Jamaica).
There are six changes to the starting 11 from the last match.
The six coming in are Duwayne Kerr, Ricardo Gardner (captain), Dicoy Williams, Rohan Reid, Keammar Daley and Ryan Johnson.
Those out are Dwayne Miller, Montrose Phinn, Shavar Thomas, Jermaine Hue, Demar Phillips (card suspension) and Jermaine Anderson.
Jamaica find themselves in a must-win affair, and can only advance to the semi-final as Group A runners-up should Martinique beat French Guiana.
A draw would favour French Guiana who had defeated the Reggae Boyz in their opening contest.
Martinique are clear leaders on four points, following their 1-0 defeat of Cuba in their opening game on Saturday and a tough 0-0 draw against 10-man Jamaica on Monday.
Cuba and French Guiana are ahead of Jamaica on three points apiece, with each registering a win and a loss.
Cuba, meantime, came from behind to clip French Guiana, 2-1, in Monday’s opener of a double-header to throw the “group of death” wide open.
Full team: Duwayne Kerr, Dicoy Williams, Alvas Powell, Ricardo Gardner, Lovel Palmer, Rohan Reid, Jason Morrison, Keammar Daley, Darren Mattocks, Ryan Johnson and Tramaine Stewart.
BAY, Antigua --- Coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore has made sweeping changes for tonight's death-defying game against Cuba at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium Wednesday evening.
Game time is 7:00 pm (6:00 pm Jamaica).
There are six changes to the starting 11 from the last match.
The six coming in are Duwayne Kerr, Ricardo Gardner (captain), Dicoy Williams, Rohan Reid, Keammar Daley and Ryan Johnson.
Those out are Dwayne Miller, Montrose Phinn, Shavar Thomas, Jermaine Hue, Demar Phillips (card suspension) and Jermaine Anderson.
[b]Jamaica find themselves in a must-win affair, and can only advance to the semi-final as Group A runners-up should Martinique beat French Guiana.
A draw would favour French Guiana who had defeated the Reggae Boyz in their opening contest.
Martinique are clear leaders on four points, following their 1-0 defeat of Cuba in their opening game on Saturday and a tough 0-0 draw against 10-man Jamaica on Monday.
Cuba and French Guiana are ahead of Jamaica on three points apiece, with each registering a win and a loss.
Cuba, meantime, came from behind to clip French Guiana, 2-1, in Monday’s opener of a double-header to throw the “group of death” wide open.
Full team: Duwayne Kerr, Dicoy Williams, Alvas Powell, Ricardo Gardner, Lovel Palmer, Rohan Reid, Jason Morrison, Keammar Daley, Darren Mattocks, Ryan Johnson and Tramaine Stewart.
Damn? This reporter is saying it is not totally in our Boyz hands?
Some points of interest:
a) Tappa has gone into total 'attacking mode'!
b) For some reason he has started with overlapping/attacking left wingback Bibi with Ryan Johnson, Keammar Daley and Jason Morrison as the attacking mid-fielders....leaving Jermaine Hue on the bench.
c) ...and at the back he has left out the slower Shavar Thomas preferring to bring in the faster Dicoy Williams.
The selections suggest Tappa thinks the Cubans are quick and or our slower players are/would be liabilities!!! Right?
Yuh seit, tuh?
It caught me by surprise as I thought it was entirely up to our Boyz as some of the earlier posts had suggested that whipping Cuba by 2 was 'it'!
Not sure about this..we can advance if French Guiana beat Martinque. Martinque will be on 4 points and if we beat Cuba with a good gold difference then we will also be on 4 points..neck and neck with Martinque is 0-0 so then I would assume Gold difference will come into play.
We can't advance if there is a draw between the two teams
Not sure about this..we can advance if French Guiana beat Martinque. Martinque will be on 4 points and if we beat Cuba with a good gold difference then we will also be on 4 points..neck and neck with Martinque is 0-0 so then I would assume Gold difference will come into play.
We can't advance if there is a draw between the two teams
True, but FG has to play for the win. If they lose they are out, if they tie and cuba wins them done, if them tie and Cuba draws it may come down to a coin toss for all three. Incentive is there for both teams to play for a win.
Something is bugging me.... In a game we must win our so called messiah Jermain the Maestro , dont start. What does not say> maybe the TD is using this as a evaluation for Kemar... or he is not completely sold on Hue... somebody help me.. bTW them have CEEN TV a tornoto now.. I am enjoying it.