How can you not take the competition seriously when French Guiana just beat your side.
Or Antigua came dangerously close to beating us in the prehex.
Or Guat beat us in a most critical game. If any man out there not fighting for 90 minutes we have a problem, problem is we have a lot of unfit players on this team cannot run 90 mins.
This is not overconfidence this is plain lack of attention to fundamental detail.
Some are blaming the technical staff...specifically, Tappa...but on the displays, how can the players and their club coaches not be responsible for 'lack of being able to observe what is going wrong during games, not thinking of/on solutions and putting the thought-out solutions in place?
...a guess mi a seh yuh affi ave 'some sense'...fi play baal! dem man dere has TEAM neva seh nutten! dem a fool=they acted the part of clowns!!!
Soooo they technical staff must be blamed. They put this bunch (not TEAM...but BUNCH!) together!
...and the players must take personal responsibility for their 'work (work-product?)'...but it also speaks to us on quality of 'teaching' done at those club grounds in Jamaica...(and for the 'professionals' -- at their *professional clubs?)
*Just thinking on this leads me to believe that say a Keammar Daley is caught up in a situation whereby the coaches=technical staff do not waste time on teaching the 1st stage fundamentals i.e. things like using 'moving and passing, passing and moving' to keep possession in context of TEAM aims...or always being 'alternate outlet' for support when TEAM is in possession...or 'making a move' 2 steps ahead (as per chess) e.g. TEAMmate is about to receive ball and one should move into 'free space' before the ball gets to the TEAMmate thereby being a possible support receiver/being one of a number of potential receivers of ball...etc., etc. "Technical staff has no time to waste on teaching fundamentals...and if you have not got 'it', you are left to observe and 'work it out yourself' or be shipped out!
Seems to me Keammar is in a shipping out holding pattern. He needs someone to assist him in stepping up his 'understanding' of what is required.
..anyway our display suggests most of our players...at least 9, lacked knowledge of 'basics'=that 1st stage fundamentals!!! It must be so as I refuse to believe that they are that stupid!!! They lacked that inbedded knowledge that would have had them behaving in 'reflex' manner on carrying out/acting out those 1st stage fundamental attributes.
Let us think on it - Fit or not: What on God's Earth would prevent our players from "moving into space for receipt of ball and then passing the ball quickly and moving to another space or just putting self position as alternate receipt option...passing the ball and moving into space"?
[I used to tell my classes that the aim was to give the ball to your TEAMmate with God only by his/her side...and expect to receive the ball from your TEAMmate in like manner...and the way to have that happen consistently throughout a game was to continuously move into space when TEAM is in possession making self option for (safe)pass].
The mantra was "give and thou shall receive"...and that would lead to (TEAM)possession and finding self into good goalscoring (TEAM)possession!
Of course, there is the closing down of space or opponent when on defense...
...think of self only in terms of TEAM! ...and MANNA (not SHALL but..) WILL fall! It WILL fall as surely as night follows day!
Our TEAM players played dumb!!! ...stupidly! ...in a not football manner!!!
Wow Bruce that is one serious rating, so you are saying that Miller is the only thing between Jamaica going home or still in with a chance to end in the top two.
Agree to all of that but the first thing I always see when a team with players that should be at least reasonably good don't come prepared or motivated to play that is always on leadership.
I have always been a Whitmore supporter but now I am starting to wonder if he has lost his touch with the players,one of his advantages in my mind has been the direct connection with the players and the knowledge of what makes team most competitive but it seems they have lost their way, almost expecting the team to just play well in an automatic mode.
The comments by Montesso in the guat and French Guiana game are way out of line, any manager for anti team whether it is a team of workers at Golden Krust or football players, for a team to lack focus and motivation means the coach and staff are not connecting at the most primal level.
Btw why is Montesso being put out to the press when the team fails, why is Whitmore not responding when the team loses.
Btw I have been quite impressed by the staff at the Golden Krust on University close to commercial I think and also on 12th street by 441 in Broward County, efficient, courteous and hustling all at the same time, wow! The Golden Krust patty was awful however!
Agreed with the football part of your post...yet each player and also our squad should not have been as bad as that display...not under any circumstances!!!
...and amused by the insertion of the observations on Golden Crust!
Hey, when you see staff performing, it is no accident, it is a direct reflection of management and total engagement with the team. That goes for everything team or operations related from football to Golden Krust customer service staff.