• Caribbean Cup Squad named

http://www.jamaicafootballfederation...caribbean-cup/

1. DWAYNE MILLER
    2. DUWAYNE KERR
    3. JACOMENO BARRETT
    4. LOVEL PALMER - known quantity already, need to improve to make hex squad.
    5. XAVIAN VIRGO - unproven at this level has not made transition to nat level
    6. SHAVAR THOMAS - known quantity, not fast, not great, good, decent back up.
    7. DICOY WILLIAMS - want to see more, looked good at GC, looking for dominating performance in cc.
    8. MONTROSE PHINN - heard a lot about him, have no idea of potential, very interested in seeing what he can do.
    9. ALVAS POWELL - no clue about him, new to me interested to see what he brings.
    10. DEMAR PHILLIPS - known quantity, stalwart business amongst this crew, don't get injured.
    11. ANDRAE CAMPBELL - don't know anything, interested to see what he can bring new to table.
    12. EWAN GRANDISON - seen a little, interesting, heard a lot, let's see if he can shine.
    13. JASON MORRISON - play into shape, known quantity , should dominate at this level.
    14. ROHAN REID - need to see more, step to level and show potential for hex squad.
    15. LAMAR NELSON - don't know much.
    16. JERMAINE HUE - should tear it up at the cup, very interested in defensive side play, tackling and seeing fitness level.
    17. KEAMMAR DALEY - same as above interested in seeing mentally where he is and can he get it up for cup seeing he has even out of sync with club.
    18. RICARDO GARDNER - seeing what the legend still has left in the tank.
    19. TRAMAINE STEWART- seems to be doing well at Aalesund, should tear this up, looking to see how he has improved with stint in Norway.
    20. RYAN JOHNSON - done know, looking for leadership and plenty goals.
    21. JERMAIN ANDERSON - hope he get s a few games and gets to show what he can do.
    22. DARREN MATTOCKS - want to see some nice goals.
    23. OMAR CUMMINGS - want to see speed, skills and goals get ready for hex, get arsenal of weapons battle ready .

All in all, looks like we really just looking at Phinn, dicoy Williams, Grandison and t Stewart as some interesting potential for squad, Nelson, Reid, Powell, Virgo, Campbell can show us something as well, but the first four I am very interested in seeing performance.

1. DWAYNE MILLER - needs to show his Hex quality now. Cut out the mistakes!
      2. DUWAYNE KERR - be ready to step in if Miller not serious.
      3. JACOMENO BARRETT - needs to take care of the simple ones.
      4. LOVEL PALMER - known quantity already, need to improve to make hex squad. Agreed!
      5. XAVIAN VIRGO - unproven at this level has not made transition to nat level. Needs to demonstrate he belongs at this level to have a chance of making the Hex.
      6. SHAVAR THOMAS - known quantity, not fast, not great, good, decent back up. Agreed!
      7. DICOY WILLIAMS - want to see more, looked good at GC, looking for dominating performance in cc. How much of him did you see in the GC? Remember, he’s coming back from ACL/MCL surgery. Still expecting a dominating performance?
      8. MONTROSE PHINN - heard a lot about him, have no idea of potential, very interested in seeing what he can do. Steady player. Maybe a little short for central defence.
      9. ALVAS POWELL - no clue about him, new to me interested to see what he brings. Stoni, yuh don’t know Alvas? Best U17 and U20 player. But has been injured. Surprised he was selected because of that.
      10. DEMAR PHILLIPS - known quantity, stalwart business amongst this crew, don't get injured. For some, maybe our best player overall. Needs to cut out the gallery ball tendency.
      11. ANDRAE CAMPBELL - don't know anything, interested to see what he can bring new to table. Not expecting much. Would have to play out of his skin to show he is Hex-capable.
      12. EWAN GRANDISON - seen a little, interesting, heard a lot, let's see if he can shine. Let’s see if he ever gets a game over Jason Morrison.
      13. JASON MORRISON - play into shape, known quantity , should dominate at this level. Agreed!
      14. ROHAN REID - need to see more, step to level and show potential for hex squad. Agreed!
      15. LAMAR NELSON - don't know much. Most hyped player in the NPL this season. Sometimes lives up to it, sometimes fails miserably. It’s all in his hands.
      16. JERMAINE HUE - should tear it up at the cup, very interested in defensive side play, tackling and seeing fitness level. Hope he plays little defence. Keep supplying those assists, Maestro!
      17. KEAMMAR DALEY - same as above interested in seeing mentally where he is and can he get it up for cup seeing he has even out of sync with club. Needs to assume his crown prince position.
      18. RICARDO GARDNER - seeing what the legend still has left in the tank. Should be okay at this level. Let’s see if he wants to go to another WC.
      19. TRAMAINE STEWART- seems to be doing well at Aalesund, should tear this up, looking to see how he has improved with stint in Norway. Shooting is his forte, but needs to keep it simple.
      20. RYAN JOHNSON - done know, looking for leadership and plenty goals. Needs to show me he can step it up for the Hex.
      21. JERMAIN ANDERSON - hope he get s a few games and gets to show what he can do. Agreed!
      22. DARREN MATTOCKS - want to see some nice goals. Needs to live up to a lot of expectations.
      23. OMAR CUMMINGS - want to see speed, skills and goals get ready for hex, get arsenal of weapons battle ready . He has an arsenal of weapons?!? Again, is he Hex quality?

Only two players have been dropped from the original squad – Andre Lewis and Joel Senior, who is injured. So this list says little to me. Needs to see the starting eleven and who comes on as a substitute during the Caribbean Cup.

Thanks for the info. I was just about to ask about Joel Senior's absence from the squad.

All in all. A good enough Reggae Boyz squad mixed with experience and youth. So win the first 2 matches and qualify for the Gold Cup with most of the Top Guns sprinkled with 2 or 3 of the Young Boyz whom have had a few international experience from the U-20s. Then use most of the Young Boyz with a few of the Top Guns in the final match.

How else will we find our next generation of Reggae Boyz.

Thanks Mo nice fill in especially on Alvas Powell I will be watching. But I am surprised on your view of Omar Cummings, in my opinion one of our best players, skill, speed, patience the whole package, can he find back that wicked form from two or so years ago.

What "view" on Cummings?!? I just asked about his "arsenal of weapons". He's not a bad player. I may even prefer him over Ryan Johnson. But not sure he is Hex quality.

Maybe Maestro will make him look really good!

He is probably the best forward we have, he is definitely hex quality in my books. Haida tough season with the injury but noticed that in his last eight games he had four goals and one assist so he was definitely rounding back to top form.

Mi waan know what is this Hex quality people talking bout...

Mexico, USA, Panama, Honduras, Costa Rica have a different set of players dem use fi di Hex dan wheh wi play gainst ?

Summady clue me in please..

Omar Cummings?
                  Have now seen quite a bit of this young(?)man in the last 2 years: I do not think he is ready for Hex!

He has great difficulty keeping possession. Has a lot to learn about making runs into advantageous positions - both on attack and defense.

Touch? Not good!

...shooting/passing not too hot!
                  Check his Reggae Boyz record? Please remember we are dscussing representing our national team and with Hex and beyond (World Cup play-off to advance to World Cup 2014 or playing at the World Cup 2014) in mind.

Would not be surprised if he scores and scores often at this level...but it is how he 'passes and moves, moves and passes' (support provided to teammates; %age successful pass rate or on the opposite side, number of times he 'joins' the opponent's team i.e. passes to the opponent; his decision making) that shall interest.

All will be judged with eye on quality to be met at the World Cup 2014. ...reasoning? If that quality is on display then the HEX would have been 'covered'. That is aim...isn't it?

Expect Ryan Johnson and Demar Philips to reach that 'World Cup 2014' looked for quality.

Jason Morrison & Omar Daley? Certainly looked the part in the CONCACAF Gold Cup...although based on playing time given at the Gold Cup it appeared the coaching staff was not totally convinced.

..anyway - Good Luck to the team and let's hope all given playing time put in quality play that would aid Reggae Boyz at the Hex and beyond. ...that would have our team Reggae Boyz riding roughshod over the 2nd formers we shall meet in these Caribbean Cup matches.
                  Last edited by Karl; December 8, 2012, 12:44 AM.

Karl he has a had a number of injury issues over the past two years which have been unproductive for him but his stats even in lean years still puts him in contention for the spot. This guy is undoubtedly our most talented forward and most productive outside of Fuller over past ten years.

Ok! If the stats say so, then it is what it is!

The goalscoring stats may be impressive...but have you watched his matches?

Well? He runs fast...takes many shots...has powerful shot... (Guess some must go in?) that no sensible player should be taking! In my book that is playing for the other team. He is too often giving away the ball. He also gives away the ball by running offside - OFTEN!

His passing is not good! - Passing too heavily or too softly or straight to your opponent is playing for the other team!

He does not share the ball as often as he should. Like Shelton he loves to 'kick it' and run. Great asset to have but it must be used in a sensible manner. He needs to brush up on judicious use of that skill set. (...and as we are about it - so does Shelton & Dane).

I wish wins. I would love to see Jamaica (live from the stands) in Brazil!

Stonigut: I am looking at winning against top opposition...not the '2nd formers'.
                        Last edited by Karl; December 8, 2012, 11:07 PM.

Ok we should get a good look in this tournament, lets see if you still feel the same way after this.

Listen the stats are the real deal they represent actual production, so if one guy scores 14 goals and seven assists in a season and you are comparing him to another that six goals and four assists in the same league it is really clear who is better.

What I find is that we are arguing about a guy who has been very productive and in many cases we are comparing him against guys who have done very little in terms of production. We would never do that in track and field why do we do that in football, is like we are trying to dream up an alternate universe where wishes rules reality. Cummings is the best forward we have based on the only thing that counts that is goals and assists, wins and championships, argument done, no other yard produced forward can touch that now.

Maudib, those teams consistently play at a much higher level that CFU TEAMS.

Remove MEXICO from the mix and you may jump to false impression on our standard relative to those teams as the scoreline in games with our ReggaeBoyz is usually close. The impression on our relative standard/level of play being close misleads as their scoring of goals relative to chances created in matches is poor.

E.g. We may win by a 1 - 0 margin but scored that 1 from few chances while the opponent missed 'a bunch' of chances while playing a better TEAM game. ...or we may even defeat the opponent by 1 or 2 goals. We then may jump to the conclusion that we are a better team or of equal quality. Later we (may) become surprised when higher quality teams are played by us and the opponent and consistently the opponent gets better results.