Stars in trials, flops under pressure!

• Stars in trials, flops under pressure!

The evaluation of players cannot be wholly based on what they do in trials, let's not overdo these matches pitting the Boyz versus various local selections in a scrimmage type format.

If a player who is on the outside the bubble is dominating play then we need to look closer at that, the bottom line on this should be just looking at chemistry, looking at true desire in terms of is the player just giving it the half azz effort then lets not waste any time with that player, ensuring nobody gets seriously hurt and seeing how guys take instruction and execute to plan.

Over the years whether it is at primary/prep school, under 13,colts, manning/ dcup etc we have all seen plenty guys who played like stars in practice games and pickup games who could not replicate that in the big games and totally disappeared in such circumstances, so let's understand that and not put too much faith into some of these scrimmage results.
    Last edited by Stonigut; December 5, 2012, 10:37 AM.

So true! And that's why my reports have been brief.

Unnu ever wonder how come di B side in training always beat di A side?

Well, same thing happening here. Cavalier need to prove something. The Boyz don't. Well, not in the same sense. Some of the Boyz need to pick up their games if they want to be selected.

Tuffy has looked ordinary to me in training, but I would still want to see him on the field when the Caribbean Cup starts!

Football only!
      Thank you! - Stars?

...doing wonderful self-indulgent things with the ball is often interpreted as 'staring hit up'='im caan play eenh?'

In football practise matches look for those who do the simple (& sensible) things well!

Look Maestro is an excellent passer...but what is it he does on passing? The simple sensible thing! ...and he looks great as not many...no one in our squad have ever sat down and thought of replicating same...doing the simple sensible thing(s) - well! No the others do not have to 'look flashy' as does Maestro...just do it!

Truth is to make good...scratch that...to make excellent TEAM REGGAEBOYZ we need 18 - 30 players who do the simple, sensible things well! It is really no big thing. Football is a simple game.

The players just need to be fast, technically and tactically excellent and play sensible simple ball=TEAM ball! Really it is not difficult...it just takes thought!!!...and teachers=technical staff to motivate and encourage inquiring minds! 'Those teachings' must follow the example/methods of 'good teachers'...yup just like the teaching methods used by good 'school teachers' at any other specialist subject.

Make the 'teaching' exciting...make the players 'inquisitive'=develop ability to recognise problems and be good problem solvers...and to be good TEAM workers!!! There must be pride in 'doing' and joy in achieving (stated aims)!
      Last edited by Karl; December 5, 2012, 01:08 PM.

Yes but Tuffy have Nuff to prove, he is in te 15th round with 30 seconds left, he needs a knockout every chance he gets, he is fighting for the bench and a chance to shine in the Carib cup team as it stands.

True!

Brethren, good players flop, stars don't flop under pressure.

Exacto, that is wha we ah try do expose the county cricketers from the test cricketers, separate the syrup from the bagasse. We can't continue to make the same mistake of using emotion and feel to pick players, performance in real world situation pick players thus at this level we look at their everyday club job to see if them a bring food to the table frequently,if you can't hold own ah place where yuh work everyday then that is suspect. I believe in tried and proven you cyan beat it.