• Reading versus Manu analysis

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/blog/_/...id/480?cc=5901

Very good!
    ...but Reading also tired and started giving up the ball often.

Yes but that can be improved, but key thing is 34 crosses. People talk about formation being a waste of time but the Manu formation based lacked width in the middle so Reading exploited that with just result, they got unlucky with the offside goal from van persie and even the penalty call a little, it was aggressive but not a clear cut penalty from my standpoint.

I love this idea of the 4-5-1 with fast skillful players on the outside in mids with a definitive sense that these guys will play strong defense to shut down space on the wings and push play to center with three aggressive strong Austin like players in the mids with good skill that will really ensure a very formidable defensive team. Then on attack the outside mids can use that room much like how reading did today.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        Yes but that can be improved, but key thing is 34 crosses. People talk about formation being a waste of time but the Manu formation based lacked width in the middle so Reading exploited that with just result, they got unlucky with the offside goal from van persie and even the penalty call a little, it was aggressive but not a clear cut penalty from my standpoint.

I love this idea of the 4-5-1 with fast skillful players on the outside in mids with a definitive sense that these guys will play strong defense to shut down space on the wings and push play to center with three aggressive strong Austin like players in the mids with good skill that will really ensure a very formidable defensive team. Then on attack the outside mids can use that room much like how reading did today.
        You posted the analysis of the game, is there anything bout offside in the report? Is there anything there disputing the penalty? Refer to the article, "(plus a wrongly disallowed one), " plus the sitter RvP missed ... and yuh say lucky.

Just an 'Aside':

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          the offside goal from van persie
          RVP's goal was not offside. A player on his far right kept him onside!

Just an 'Aside':
            RVP's goal was not offside. A player on his far right kept him onside!
            Saw that too. No offside goal there.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Wow game done guys, Manu won. All I am saying is it was a marginal call.

No it was not! And the penalty was as clear-cut as day. It was undisputable.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015