I heard Marlon King declined an England call up to represent Jamaica,do you know if it is true?
The truth about last minute UB40 callups
How soon unnu forget. I have been saying the same thing all along?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostThey have never contributed anything to any of our teams. A player needs at least 3-6 months to settle and play with Reggaeboyz.
We play a totally different system than what they are use to, plus anybody who play some football know that when you join a team there is an adjustment period, even if a first division.
Even Beckham had to adjust in LA and DeGuzman adjusting to EPL, Hoilet adjusting to QPR. Not to mention team chemistry.
Can anybody tell me the last minute call that has contributed a lot to our team? Whether it is Robbie Earl, Jason Euell etc.
Football is not just about getting the best players available, it is more than that. Ask Canada.
I have seen too many players come to my team(when I played or manged) and couldn't adjust to team and after 2 games have to go pon bench or walk with them pretty boots.
Suh wha mek yuh switch to nonsense lately? .
Yuh relapse?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I have been very consistent on building a team as my post yesterday said
"we should start with a camp" but you talk it and run with it as usual.
I said loud and clear after the first round that we needed at least 3 more players but no more than 5 and I even named our weakest position. So when many were rushing our local players saying they were no good and bring in the all the English players and now they are jumping on the other side.
Our building process must start at home but we can't take the option of including other players lightly either.Last edited by Assasin; September 14, 2013, 09:07 AM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Karl View PostOK! ...but if we take on players at this time you also could not call them last minute additions in light of the long-term plans being around 2014 World Cup finals.
...and it might just be easier for injection of good quality players to quickly raise of level of TEAMplay. Lord knows the quality of our TEAMplay needs raising to many levels higher...and that,quickly!
"Long term plans"? - They just never materialized.
On one hand I looked at the 1994 - 1998 number of preparatory matches.
...on the other I should have put more weight on the 1998 - to 2012 silliness=absence of plan(s) and good management.
Bwoy...was I in prayer and hope mode...was I naive!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Gwaaan Sass!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI have been very consistent on building a team as my post yesterday said
"we should start with a camp" but you talk it and run with it as usual.
I said loud and clear after the first round that we needed at least 3 more players but no more than 5 and I even named our weakest position. So when many were rushing our local players saying they were no good and bring in the all the English players and now they are jumping on the other side.
Our building process must start at home but we can't take the option of including other players lightly either.
Ignoring the uninformed opinion of yours that the NPL/RSPL (that you have never seen a game yet follow VERY closely ) has no defender of quality suitable for the RBZ
Kindly indicate who a few of these many are:
So when many were rushing our local players saying they were no good and bring in the all the English players and now they are jumping on the other side.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
do your own research. go and read all the post from 6-9 months ago and you will see for yourself.
The fact is most of our current local defenders are erratic, and are not of top quality right now. I challenge anyone including yourself to name 3 defenders playing locally can play as good as Jermaine Taylor, Mapp or Wes Morgan.
Thanks in advance, either do that or keep quiet about the subject. It is not so easy to see standouts. Alvas Powell was one of the major standout and he is now in the MLS. Not much more, maybe in a year or two you can talk to me again about this.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I never claimed anything about local Jamaican defenders... you did. So there is nothing for me to research.
I merely asked on what basis you made such a sweeping statement.
You then stated that you "follow the NPL" even though you "have not seen many games"... this is a disingenuous statement bordering on willful deception
It turns out that you have seen ZERO NPL games in the last year (based on your inability to cite any when asked repeatedly) and most probably ZERO games in the entire NPL history
Consequently one is forced to conclude that your statement re defenders is founded on ignorance, supposition and a misplaced estimate of your own competence
Here endeth your instruction... Go forth and sin no moreTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
"You then stated that you "follow the NPL" even though you "have not seen many games"... this is a disingenuous statement bordering on willful deception"
It is not. I follow West Indies cricket, Jamaican horse racing, English EPL. I have seen horse racing since I left Jamaica. Haven't seen a West Indies cricket game in a long time. Last time I have been to a EPL game is 3 years ago. I don't see what your problem with that.
What sport do you follow? How often you go to games? Thanks in advance- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"You then stated that you "follow the NPL" even though you "have not seen many games"... this is a disingenuous statement bordering on willful deception"
It is not. I follow West Indies cricket, Jamaican horse racing, English EPL. I have seen horse racing since I left Jamaica. Haven't seen a West Indies cricket game in a long time. Last time I have been to a EPL game is 3 years ago. I don't see what your problem with that.
What sport do you follow? How often you go to games? Thanks in advance
Neither is the NPL available to you on a screen.... consequently you cannot have much idea on the quality of defenders throughout that league.... sufficient to support your sweeping generalization that there is none qualified for the RBZ... which you claim is a FACT.
You're up a creek without a paddleTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
"This is a guy who claims to "follow" the NPL yet he probably has never seen a game... go figure"
this was your post. Stop make it up as you go. I follow the NPL. stop make it up as you go along. The fact is there are not many high quality defenders in Jamaica at this point. Do I have to see a game? and see all the NPL players? certainly not.
Defense is our weakest position in the Jamaica national team without any UB40, where were these great defenders up to a year ago??? Stop talking for talking sake. I haven't been in Jamaica in the last year so no way I could have gone to a game but I follow the sport.
Why do you always have to try to add something to what I say??? stop doing it.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
=Assasin;445228]"
I follow the NPL. stop make it up as you go along. The fact is there are not many high quality defenders in Jamaica at this point. Do I have to see a game? and see all the NPL players? certainly not.Assasin
I haven't been in Jamaica in the last year so no way I could have gone to a game but I follow the sport.
BTW... yuh did seh dere is none inna di NPL... not dat "there are not many". And yes...to be taken seriously it's advisable that you see even 1 game...as lang as yuh nuh spend it sexting pon yuh cellie.
Ok mek wi excuse yuh fi di last year... how many NPL games have you seen in total?Last edited by Don1; September 14, 2013, 07:41 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE