The truth about last minute UB40 callups

• The truth about last minute UB40 callups

They have never contributed anything to any of our teams. A player needs at least 3-6 months to settle and play with Reggaeboyz.

We play a totally different system than what they are use to, plus anybody who play some football know that when you join a team there is an adjustment period, even if a first division.

Even Beckham had to adjust in LA and DeGuzman adjusting to EPL, Hoilet adjusting to QPR. Not to mention team chemistry.

Can anybody tell me the last minute call that has contributed a lot to our team? Whether it is Robbie Earl, Jason Euell etc.

Football is not just about getting the best players available, it is more than that. Ask Canada.

I have seen too many players come to my team(when I played or manged) and couldn't adjust to team and after 2 games have to go pon bench or walk with them pretty boots.

Nosworthy and Mariappa were last minute additions to pre-hex that worked out pretty good. Key point you make though is it can't be a slew of guys, right now I see Mcanuff as a starting need if he has the desire that will work, beckford and Robinson and mccleary all competitive for forwards position but only one or two will make squad, Doyle is a definite need off the bench, must carry that guy, have no clue about quality on Gordon, Bartley and I am missing one person can't remember.

We have definite need for a defensive mid of high quality, Bartley doesn't seem to have pedigree or consistent performance based on what I have seen. Bottom line is one forward, Mcanuff and doyle that shouldn't be too hard to integrate with two or three games. If anyone else makes it then they are showing very high desire as Mr Burrell puts it ready to lay down their life on the field and if you are doing that integration is much easier.

I wouldn't call those two last minute callups. They were able to play in a few practice game well and had camps with the players over the summer. They had a big advantage as they were playing the same position and had an understanding before even the reggaeboyz.

We need players to commit NOW and JFF needs to get a camp going and a few games at some available time for the players.

They have never contributed anything to any of our teams. A player needs at least 3-6 months to settle and play with Reggaeboyz.

We play a totally different system than what they are use to, plus anybody who play some football know that when you join a team there is an adjustment period, even if a first division.

Even Beckham had to adjust in LA and DeGuzman adjusting to EPL, Hoilet adjusting to QPR. Not to mention team chemistry.

Can anybody tell me the last minute call that has contributed a lot to our team? Whether it is Robbie Earl, Jason Euell etc.

Football is not just about getting the best players available, it is more than that. Ask Canada.

I have seen too many players come to my team(when I played or manged) and couldn't adjust to team and after 2 games have to go pon bench or walk with them pretty boots.
        Would you call Deon Burton, Paul Hall, Sinclair and others as "never contributing anything to our TEAMs"?

In other words...all is well, the team needs no beefing up!

those were not last minute addition Karl. They had time to work with the team and had camps and friendlies to adjust.

The team needs beefing up but you can get a worst result if just inject people without some time to get use to each other. Ask QPR about that.

Far more upside given our reality...

The team needs beefing up but you can get a worst result if just inject people without some time to get use to each other. Ask QPR about that.
                  For the Mexico game I would add Doyley and McAnuff to the starting lineup. If Austin is not 100 % I would pull in Elliot as well. Doyley has experience playing with Mapss and Nuggs so he should integrate relatively easily. McAnuff is a very adaptable player who will play well to coaches instructions. If Austin is out, Elliott would be a logical replacement as I don't see any of our current crop doing Austin's job well. Elliott plays a similar role with his club and does it well.

When it's all said and done I expect that only McAnuff and Doyley will claim a regular starting spot from the new UK group. However, McCleary will push Dane on the right and Tappa might change the team makeup based on what he sees from the opponents.
                  Last edited by TheDread; November 29, 2012, 02:22 PM.

suh wha bout di Forwud line ??

Who ah guh score di goal dem ?

those were not last minute addition Karl. They had time to work with the team and had camps and friendlies to adjust.
                      OK! ...but if we take on players at this time you also could not call them last minute additions in light of the long-term plans being around 2014 World Cup finals.

...and it might just be easier for injection of good quality players to quickly raise of level of TEAMplay. Lord knows the quality of our TEAMplay needs raising to many levels higher...and that,quickly!

I'd still use Johnson and Shelton to start. Johnson is a workhorse who will help out defensively; Shelton's speed will create problems for the Mexicans especially if you have the likes of Hue and McAnuff setting him up in a position to succeed. We all know Shelton's weaknesses, but, if we play to his strengths, he can deliver for us. Mexico will not be an easy task so I wouldn't bring in new starters at striker for that game. The addition of Hue and McAnuff to our midfield is a significant upgrade, especially if Rudi is fit and ready to rumble.

Suh yuh ah guh mek man like Beckford siddung pon di bench while we admire Shelton weaknesses and watch Johnson run up and dung ?

Di man score 10 goal innah di 2010-2011 Premier League season..

All Mattocks get game before Shelton and Johnson much less..

Is wheh yuh a smoke deh dready ?

Suh yuh ah guh mek man like Beckford siddung pon di bench while we admire Shelton weaknesses and watch Johnson run up and dung ?

Di man score 10 goal innah di 2010-2011 Premier League season..

All Mattocks get game before Shelton and Johnson much less..

Is wheh yuh a smoke deh dready ?

You wan see me caan find any high grade; you see me? This is me looking from my vantage point now, but over the course of the digicel cup both Mattocks and Cummings will have a shot to dislodge Johnson; I will reassess then. Beckford has not been lighting up the championship so far this season (11 games 3 goals) same as the unfit Fuller but he did it with 3 more starts than Fuller. If you trying to draw card better you say Robinson with 8 goals in 18 games. Still, Shelton can lose form and Beckford could go on a goal scoring spree; if that were to happen a case might be made. As it stands right now Johnson and Shelton, but things could change like I pointed out.

I wouldn't call those two last minute callups. They were able to play in a few practice game well and had camps with the players over the summer. They had a big advantage as they were playing the same position and had an understanding before even the reggaeboyz.

We need players to commit NOW and JFF needs to get a camp going and a few games at some available time for the players.
                              I agree with you totally Sass.