'Bibi' is back! Gardner recalled to Boyz set-up fr Carib Cup

I hope it's not the JFF paying his way to and from England...he is out of contract so him better find himself back here on his dime

Using one sentence, it should read:

"As the team fine tunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16,at a training session at the JFF Technical Centre,assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday that Gardner, along with fellow England-based Keammar Daley and the USA-based duo of Ryan Johnson and Omar Cummings, is expected to join the Jamaican camp"
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Disagreed, this is the reason we do not have player development. We are not talking of the woldcup here or even he Hex. We are talking about using some players who will not play or should not play in the Hex. So If I were the TD and I knew that it would be Bennet playing as my striker along with Shelton there is no reason for me to feature a 34 year old in the build up. I would use my younger players so they get the experience and develop. If you are talking about the world cup and you think Bibi is going to help that is different. There is a kid a colubus crew I am trying to understand why they dont rate him. Also Kahari Stevens is a name that seems to be skipped... Point is we cant have it both ways.. we want youth dev but dont know how to do it.

oh we have player development alright, sterling, morrison, hines .... who else?!!

yeah you see where i am comming from. We need to look at the transition from u 17 to 20 and 20 to 23 and so on. Example the best player on the U17 in my view was holness.. What happen to him...

Using one sentence, it should read:

"As the team fine tunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16,at a training session at the JFF Technical Centre,assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday that Gardner, along with fellow England-based Keammar Daley and the USA-based duo of Ryan Johnson and Omar Cummings, is expected to join the Jamaican camp"
              jangle, tek a "e" for effort, dat sentence wuss dan de firs one

The first one was crape so I just wanted to clean it up by using the same words, but I couldn't without Addison "that " in it.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes sentence structure. Singular subject-singular verb.

Much has been said about the editing of Jamaican newspaper.

Also, the writer could have made three sentences from the very long one quoted. It would make for simplicity and ease in reading....
                  Perfectly normal sentence. The subject, Gardner is singular, the other names are simply spactator nouns, were contained between commas, and the sense of the sentence would not have changed if they were left out. So the sentence is totally correct. Ironically, Jamaicans tend to get tempted in pleuralizing the verb in these instances, which is incorrect.

Reggaedoc, what do Americans (HL) know about the English Language!?!

If I have a problem with the sentence it would the rambling length of it and this part - "...as the team finetunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16."

I would say, "as the team finetunes for the defence of ITS Caribbean title between December 7-16."

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      Perfectly normal sentence. The subject, Gardner is singular, the other names are simply spactator nouns, were contained between commas, and the sense of the sentence would not have changed if they were left out. So the sentence is totally correct. Ironically, Jamaicans tend to get tempted in pleuralizing the verb in these instances, which is incorrect.
                      doc, "pleuralizing"?, is that something to do with the lungs? : D

Reggaedoc, what do Americans (HL) know about the English Language!?!

If I have a problem with the sentence it would the rambling length of it and this part - "...as the team finetunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16."

I would say, "as the team finetunes for the defence of ITS Caribbean title between December 7-16."
                        I hear you Mo. Are you talking about "team fine-tunes" vs team fine-tune?. If that is the case then the debate between British English which considers all sport teams as pleural i.e England play Germany tomorrow, or Jamaica play good football, while in American English it is more fluid. This is due to the fact that most sports teams in the US tend to have pleural names i.e the NY Jets, Giants, Cavs, Knicks etc. So it wasn't a problem. However, the debate reopened recently with the prominence of the Miami Heat and the Ok Thunder. Linguists and jounalists were split on the whether the verbs that follow these names should be pleural or singular. I think the general consensus in the US is that teams with singular names should be paired with singular verbs, and those with pleural names should be paired with pleural verbs. This makes more sense, at least to me, than British dogma which says that all teams are pleural. That just doesn't make any sense, because if you say Jamaica play good football, what you are essentially saying is The Jamaica team play good football, well the team is one single unit and the verb should be plays. It is like saying, "the married couple that live next door owe me some money". Well, the couple is a man and wife existing as one unit, and so the verbs should be lives, and owes.
                        Now, the rambling nature of the sentence is another issue.

Sorry Pete, I mistyped, should be pluralized. Thanks for the correction. I was thinking medicine while discussing language.

Please excuse my "pleurals" I meant "plurals". Hard to get away from work sometimes.

The British way of pluralising the verb for words like "team" always sounds odd to me. But is fi dem language!

Thank you very much for your input ReggaePhD, PR, Jangle and Mosiah!(shudder...shudder)

It is so refreshing to have a thread that is constructive.