• 'Bibi' is back! Gardner recalled to Boyz set-up fr Carib Cup

'Bibi' is back! Gardner recalled to Boyz set-up for Caribbean Cup
    BY HOWARD WALKER OBSERVER SENIOR REPORTER walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, November 29, 2012

IN a surprising move, 34-year-old Ricardo 'Bibi' Gardner has been recalled to the Reggae Boyz squad for the upcoming Caribbean Cup tournament after a three-year absence.

Gardner, along with fellow England-based Keammar Daley and the USA-based duo of Ryan Johnson and Omar Cummings, is expected to join the Jamaican camp, assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday at a training session at the JFF Technical Centre as the team finetunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16.

GARDNER... returns after three-year absence.
    1/1

"We have four players that will join the team in Johnson (Ryan), Cummings (Omar), Kaemmar Daley and Ricardo Gardner. These players with good experience will be a good addition to the team as we use the Caribbean Cup in preparation for the World Cup," Montesso said following the near 11/2-hour training session.

While US-based Cummings and Johnson have been an integral part of Jamaica's squad during the World Cup campaign, Gardner and Daley were overlooked mainly because of their inactivity at the club level.

Former Reggae Boyz captain Gardner is currently a free agent after being released by English club Bolton Wanderers following a fruitful 14-year spell, while 24-year-old Daley, who signed for Preston North End in August 2011, has not been playing regularly, which was cited as the main reason for his exclusion.

"The change is with the opportunity, and in the Caribbean Cup we have five games in 10 days, and I think this is the opportunity to bring players like him (Daley) and Gardner who is training with Bolton but not playing... it is a good opportunity for the technical staff to see them and their actual condition," Montesso explained.

Gardner, who made his Jamaican debut in 1997, went on to represent his country for 12 years and earned approximately 109 caps during which he was captain between 2005 and 2009 when he last played.

"The training was good with high intensity from the players and they were really focused and committed with the training. So we did some drills in the defensive line and some combinations with the strikers and midfielders, and to play with more vertical situation to the goal.

"They responded very well and we did some ball possession in a short game situation and they showed a lot of energy, lot of movement and good passes and that was very positive," noted Montesso.

Meanwhile, head coach Theodore Whitmore watched yesterday's proceedings from the sidelines as Montesso directed the session.

Jamaica, who won the Caribbean Cup on five occasions and are the current back-to-back defending champion, are drawn in Group B alongside French Guiana, Martinique and Cuba. Hosts Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti and the Dominican Republic will compete in Group A.

The four semi-finalists will gain automatic berths to next summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup to be held in the United States.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2DZOjCyWw

Bwoi, what will it take to get the RSPL MVP to get a call, everybody ah get call except the MVP, a man that has shown leadership quality, scored ten goals and almost as many assists in one Rspl season, he stands alone as a mids with that level of production.

Why the man can't get a call???
    Michael Campbell for Reggae boyz.

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2012...s/sports7.html

if you are 33 and you have not feature in this ting .. a waste a time.. better then call some of the u20s... Kemar yes.. but some a dem a waste a time.

I knew it was coming

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            if you are 33 and you have not feature in this ting .. a waste a time.. better then call some of the u20s... Kemar yes.. but some a dem a waste a time.
            He is either among top mids or he is not?

If he is better than others in our squad he should get the call. It is quality of play that leads to successful TEAM results that count, not age. Look if we have a fifty-year old faster than Bolt then it would be a nonsense move to leave him off our team because he is too old.

on a lighter note ask Mosiah why the aging (aged?) Maestro should be in the TEAM ReggaeBoyz

Keammar bwoy at least di staff membah mi ballah, glad fi si dat. Bibi ah di diamon every time an have nuff ball attributes an odahwise fi offer di side.

to be honest, what else would he be doing if not taking part in the torunament? riding the pine? what kind of an option is that?

regarding bibi ... WHOA NELLY!!! experience is one thing is he game fit? hell, is he FIT!??

"Gardner, along with fellow England-based Keammar Daley and the USA-based duo of Ryan Johnson and Omar Cummings, is expected to join the Jamaican camp, assistant coach Alfredo Montesso told the Jamaica Observer yesterday at a training session at the JFF Technical Centre as the team finetunes for the defence of their Caribbean title between December 7-16".

What's wrong with the above quote from the Jamaica Observer senior reporter' submission above?

(Actually there are two issues).

Thanks.

heard Bibi training wid first team at Bolton suh him condition should be ahright, suh him should bi rearing to go.

Noice!! Bibi, when fit, could be a good role player and on/off field leader

Don't see anyting wrong.

Sentence structure.......hmmm???? I don't like how Montesso seems to be talking so much to the press instead of the Head Coach Tappa.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"finetunes" s/b fine-tunes ? and of course you Americans might disagree with his spelling of "defenCe" ??? it is a long sentence... other than that we waiting to hear

Yes sentence structure. Singular subject-singular verb.

Much has been said about the editing of Jamaican newspaper.

Also, the writer could have made three sentences from the very long one quoted. It would make for simplicity and ease in reading....