No play now, no World Cup - Burrell

Incidentally - Stoni, I watched our away match against the USA last night and although we could have lost by 4 or more our players showed 2 likle ting missing that if fixed would make us better than the USA - technical skills i.e. in the area of passing and speed on decision-making and the tactical awareness that makes for good movement.

Just dose likle tings!

All needed: Tappa go thou forth and make those changes!!!

Which part mi need oxygen for Mo?

1. Not getting Perch, who with Austin would not only be one of the toughest defensive midfield generals, not just steel but tungsten steel, that one does hurt we really need that alloy in the mids.
      2. Not getting dyer, I can live without dyer, would be nice but no oxygen needed there.
      3. No DeGuzman, would have been nice, creative mids of the very highest quality available to us.

4. No hoilett, no loss there, never thought he was interested at any time in representing Jamaica.
      5. Or do I need oxygen because I think Jamaica should be able to make the second round if the right aggregation s pit together and plays cohesively.

Pick one Mo, which one is it?

I deleted that match, I could not even watch it after I recorded it. We were thoroughly outplayed in that game, especially 1st half. That was not a defensive Jamaica that was a cowering wait for somebody to do something Jamaica, strong defense means you shut down space, aggressive marking, running, pressure, pressure, pressure we were sitting back that isn't defense.

Mo you are killing me, I have already posted that the door should be shut now. We opened it and some man step forward now everybody else step back.
          A you say yuh a dead!

Yuh alrite now?

No man, I say yuh killing me, me ah try run wey!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              With that all the things that everybody talk about especially Don Juan and Tilla will be more easily attainable.
              This is what's called fool's gold if history is any guide

I believe Jamaica qualified for the 1998 WC ....and what happened on the development end?? Very little

Qualification for WC may make the conditions for development more fertile.....but the fundamental requirement is leadership and focus... not WC qualification

They are not mutually exclusive.. please be guided..

Exactly my point...

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    I deleted that match, I could not even watch it after I recorded it. We were thoroughly outplayed in that game, especially 1st half. That was not a defensive Jamaica that was a cowering wait for somebody to do something Jamaica, strong defense means you shut down space, aggressive marking, running, pressure, pressure, pressure we were sitting back that isn't defense.
                    I have to smile as I say this (as we were pitiful) - Our only problem was technical i.e. lack of good technical skills.

Here is what happened: We won the ball well...but each player was on 'automatic give back the ball mode'. It is just about impossible to win a match in the 'automatic give back ball mode'.

...secondly, we did not help ourselves by each player's (save each on the back 4) deep distrust of the man on the ball being able to use same sensibly! Result our support movement was ******** poor.

So I am saying that same group of players can be made into FIFA TOP 40 TEAM...but it cannot be done by having 3 days prep and 1 off matches only. We must have continuous diet of locals training together - build trust, technical skills and SUPPORT MOVEMENT...all as aquired reflex action...and having the TEAM ReggaeBoyz i.e. locals plus those playing in leagues outside of the island, training together for, and playing together on, each and every FIFA date available for friendlies. (JFF must get them the matches).

It takes repetitive practice sessions (that crazy doing 'over and over' and 'over and over'...ad infinitum) to build total trust and reflex movement. Look at it this way, for example: Our goalkeeper sends a high ball to Ryan Johnson (I use him because he is our forward/midfielder who best passes with his head) and when the ball is on its way to Ryan...as reflex action Dane Richards immediately stats running to the place he judges (knows) Ryan will head the ball. Dane trusts Ryan to do his job - i.e. win the ball and additionally head it (pass) to where Dane 'knows' Ryan will send that ball...Dane reacts on reflex...it is conditioned...to what he 'totally knows' Ryan shall do. ...and as Dane runs to receive from Ryan...Groan!!! Maestro runs to open support spot he knows Dane shall need his support...and as Maestro...(and on and on as the players rotate/support...in reflex mode/total trusting mode/actual good football playing mode...).

...and so it must be on support movement to allow for Reggae Boyz possession, attack (...and defense) and making of goalscoring opportunities (inclusive of at least 2 - 4 tap in possibilities during matches).

Now you know why I smiled - It takes understanding of the game and nuff-nuff practice to get it to conditioned reflex.

Mexico, Spain, Germany, Barcelona...Bwoy mi 'fraid fi seh GUNNERS...OK! --- former GUNNERS TEAMs had - all have their players with that conditioned reflex embedded within the 'soul' of each TEAMplayer. ...but our REGGAEBOYZ can get there with needed practise. Afterall each is MAN with brain!!!!

We just cannot keep putting on the field players who have not a clue on playing TEAM. ...these 2nd formers type players. It is nonsense! The guys have sense...our administrators i.e. coaches and back-office types must help them in making of TEAM. Nutten nuh wrang wid di players! They need the practice!!! ...the practising!!!
                    Last edited by Karl; November 29, 2012, 03:42 PM.

so stap harp pon one piece of the puzzle because then cyaan sort out di oddah piece..

It is all a part of the whole, making the WC needs leadership and focus, making it consistently is building the framework and institutions that make the whole thing repeatable WC after WC.

It is very clear to me that because of size and resources we will never have a real professional league but that is not really necessary.

The fool's gold as you call it has led to the development of an upper tier of locally produced ballers that actually earn money for themselves and family and have brought a higher and more consistent level of football to Jamaica.

Though we have not been back to the WC we have competed well in the prehex and hex and also won a bunch of regional tournaments, competed well in the GC, made a few junior level world cups, so all in all with the resources we have had we have done quite well. Not to say we couldn't do better.

My thought for Jamaica is that it becomes Academy land, much like it seems Belgium has mastered this role and basically produces a lot of youth players for export.

With a few good academies we could develop a comparative advantage in youth player development, pulling players from the other islands and within the region, Haiti, Panama etc. thus we can build expertise in early player development, pile up some money on export and continue to improve local leagues with the goal continually being export of players at all levels as it has been since WC98.

Making the 2nd round just adds to credibility of the Jamaican product something which we sorely lack. That can make a big difference in establishing and attracting top talent in the development of such a program.