Chelsea regret rushing to accuse Clattenburg

• Chelsea regret rushing to accuse Clattenburg

Chelsea have issued a joint-statement with the Premier League and Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL) in which they have expressed their regret at the damage caused to referee Mark Clattenburg by their complaint against him.

The club also admit they should have shown more consideration before issuing a statement regarding the events of Sunday, October 28.
    Clattenburg was accused by Chelsea of using inappropriate language towards midfielder John Obi Mikel during the 3-2 league defeat to Manchester United, something he was later cleared of by an FA investigation.

Chelsea were represented in the meeting by chairman Bruce Buck, while Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore and PGMOL were general manager Mike Riley were also present.

The statement read: "Following the completion of the investigation by The FA into the case involving Chelsea FC and Mark Clattenburg, the Premier League and Chelsea FC requested, and PGMOL agreed, to meet in order to discuss the issues surrounding the reporting of the allegation.

"The Select Group appreciated the opportunity to speak to Bruce Buck personally. His willingness to engage and answer all the questions put to him was welcomed.

"There was a constructive and open discussion. The club regrets not having given more consideration before issuing a statement on the evening of Sunday 28th October. The club also regrets the subsequent impact the intense media scrutiny had on Mark Clattenburg and his family.

"The referees accept that, given Chelsea FC had received a good faith claim from one of their employees, the club had an obligation under FA rules to report the allegation.

"There was recognition by all parties that the impartiality and integrity of refereeing in this country remains paramount. Chelsea FC made it clear they would welcome Mark Clattenburg back to Stamford Bridge in the future and PGMOL would have no issue in appointing him to a Chelsea FC match going forward."It was a thoroughly professional meeting. All parties now believe it is time to draw a line under this incident, learn from it and move on for the good of all Premier League clubs, players and match officials."

Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport...Qho3zgTR5RE.99

Rafa mussi a shake innah im boots?

Wha dis affi duh wid Rafa?

john obi mikel ....you got soe 'splaining to do!

Dis sound kinda fishy to me.

He coaches Chelsea? ...and just a few 'either or' calls going the other way could have taking up his packed bags!!!

...he could have 'it' go either way... right?
              Either the referees try too hard to not victimize him or try too hard to not let him get away with anything...????

...mmm??? ...the whistleblower, Ramires?

Watch de ride!!!

He coaches Chelsea? ...and just a few 'either or' calls going the other way could have taking up his packed bags!!!
                Rafa bags are unpacked. The refs manage these games the best they can .... I don't think Mark should be given a chelsea game because if he makes a call that Chelsea think is against them, they gonna claim its revenge.

my friend Paul, si why mi say you always have to consider the man innocence as well? Sad state of affair.

Dunny now them can't talk to you.

Like i said to Tilla, Chelsea have no class. There is a right and a wrong way of dealing with things and Chelsea dealt with it the wrong way. The let the emotion of the game cloud thier judgement.

that is a two way street... i.e. fa needs to do better in running the league...not talking clattenbrrg now... fa has to help refs do a better job... i see where they will now record the chatter... if one good thing came out of this thats it... no more me seh, he seh..

"The referees accept that, given Chelsea FC had received a good faith claim from one of their employees, the club had an obligation under FA rules to report the allegation.
                        This is all I am saying. It is not the club's responsibility to investigate anything under the circumstances, but the FA's.

So the FA could not find conclusive evidence to say that Clattenburg was guilty. Does that mean he i innocent? Hence, it is unfortunate that this had to happen.

Lets move on people. And Dunny, no, to report a perceived case of racial abuse is not clasless. To not report it as you would I would say qualifies as classless.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

gamma,I wonder what Chelsea heard from the relevant players that would lead them to file an official complaint?

This is all I am saying. It is not the club's responsibility to investigate anything under the circumstances, but the FA's.

So the FA could not find conclusive evidence to say that Clattenburg was guilty. Does that mean he i innocent? Hence, it is unfortunate that this had to happen.

Lets move on people. And Dunny, no, to report a perceived case of racial abuse is not clasless. To not report it as you would I would say qualifies as classless.
                            Like i said in previous post, every alleged incident of racism need to be investigated so i wasn't having a go at Chelsea for reporting it. My point was why did they not establish the facts before the went shouting from the rooftop? That is not the way to do things - no class!!. Why did Chelsea try so hard to get John Terry off the hook when it was obvious he racially abuse Anton Ferdinand, and why is he still captain of the football club - no class. I have nothing personal against Chelsea Football Club but it is just the way they do things that pee me off!!

Dunny: When we are talking about this case, let it be about this case nuh man? I am not into discussing the John Terry and Ferninand case, as that was investigated as it ought to be and appropriate actions were taken. Terry was wrong and he was punished, both by the FA and the club.

As I also said on many occasions here, the club received a complaint they had no reason to think it was not credible. The onus is not on Chelsea to investigate, but to report it to the FA and let them do the investigation. If the FA could find that the evidence was there to punish the alleged offender, then I would think they would. Conversely, if they could not find convincing evidence, they had to dismiss the case against the man. This however does not mean there was no racial abuse.

I have nothing personal against Chelsea Football Club but it is just the way they do things that pee me off!!
                              That statement almost made me puke! Dunny, you are so blinded with bias against Chelsea that a statement like this coming from you is just unbearable.

It is a case of damned if they do report the incident and damned if they don't. On one hand there are the the likes of the Black Lawyers Association and others who are pushing the case and watching to see what the club will do and on the other, there are the likes of you who would rather see the incident swept under the carpet and we continue our merry making with football as usual. It is really sad...
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran