• A tip from Andrew Price

Hubert Lawrence, Gleaner Writer

When Harbour View met Boys' Town in the first-round final of the Digicel Premier League, most expected a tour de force by Jermaine Hue. After all, Hue had played like a maestro for Jamaica in World Cup qualifiers and is probably Jamaica's best outfield player of the year. The expectation didn't come to fruition and, if you listen to Boys' Town coach Andrew Price, there is cause for concern.

Speaking to The Gleaner after the game, Price said: "What played out was due diligence. We prepared properly for the game. We knew their key player was Jermaine Hue and we planned to shut him down, and we did that successfully."

"Once Hue was kept from playing his natural game, then the others would have difficulty functioning," added Price, the former Boys' Town defender.

just the beginning

Given his chance late by national coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, Hue has quickly taken control of Jamaica's midfield play. He makes himself available to receive the ball and confounds the opposition with fine passes and sometimes with incisive attempts on goal. Yet, against Boys' Town, he couldn't take control and the tide turned against Harbour View.

Domestically, it isn't a big deal. Despite the hoopla, the Boys' Town-Harbour View game was just a first-round final and the Premier League title is still a long way off. For all we know, Hue and the Stars of the East could dazzle the Red Brigade in subsequent matches. Price and the men in red will hope not.

If you're thinking of World Cup Qualifying in February, it's more worrying. If Boys' Town can shut Hue down, so might international teams. They'd have seen his impact in recent games and, like Boys' Town, they'll be planning for him.

Watch a replay of the recent English Premier League match between Chelsea and Liverpool and you'll see a second half where England captain Steven Gerrard gradually takes control of midfield. The 32-year-old stymies the classy Spaniard Juan Mata, helps in both defence and attack, and takes charge of the game.

At one point, he sprayed a slide rule pass on the right between two Chelsea men to release one of his attackers. When I saw that, I remembered Hue's pass to Dane Richards in the last Antigua-Barbuda match. It was inch perfect and nicely finished by Richards.

The standard of play and coaching will be higher in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying, and Hue and Whitmore had better be ready. Those teams and their coaches will have their eye out for the 34-year-old Jamaican. Maybe they had scouts at the Boys' Town game ... or maybe they're watching the video right now.

Preparation is what world-level sport is all about. Everyone will do their due diligence. So should we.

I won't pretend to be in a position to give José Mourinho-like advice to Tappa, but some things are obvious. Jermaine Hue has to continue improving his fitness so he can be as mobile as possible. That will allow him to receive the ball often, with space and time enough to do something with his accurate passes.

People harp about his age, but who can forget 38-year-old Roger Milla dubbing the corner flag after brilliant goals in the 1990 World Cup for Cameroon. Germany's Lothar Matthaeus was brilliantly fit when he played the last of his five World Cups at 37. In the 2012 European Championships, Italian veteran Andrea Pirlo, who like Hue is 34, made the ball do the work and carried the Azzuris to the final. So Hue can do it.

Having said that, coach Tappa might like to consider Hue as a second-half substitute. With 35, 40 or 45 minutes to work, the Harbour View man could break deadlocks with his refreshing vision and pinpoint passing. With him supplying front men like Richards and Luton Shelton and maybe others to come, Jamaica can score against anyone.

The outlook is reasonably bright, but there is that little shadow of worry. If the coaches of the USA, Costa Rica, Mexico, Honduras and Panama watch the Boys' Town-Harbour View game, Jamaica and Jermaine Hue will have to be ready.

Hubert Lawrence has covered sport since 1987.

Such garbage! No real referee would have allowed the overall hatchet job that Boys Town delivered against HV that day.

Yuh tink is Boys Town one know that Maestro should be shut down? They tried it yesterday again and they were burnt to a crisp! The only difference is Savannah did not come out with hands swinging, not just at Hue, but at all of Harbour View.

But, you know, I kinda like this. The negatives continue to pour in and Maestro keeps proving them all, not just wrong, but stoopid!

You are so emotional. Overall he is clearly positive on Hue being included in the team.

I am fine with Hue once he is not in a two man midfield in the center of the park. We tried that with Downswell and people ran right through the gut of the team and we picked up X amount of big beatings.

40 minutes on the field?!? Hell, he is that good that he may not need any more.

That is what he said to consider. When the other team run down, even easier for him to play.

We saw in the Gold Cup against USA and Mexico what happened when he started. Even though the attack looked decent (only the Mexico game, USA game he was crap), they ran straight through the center of the midfield.

Sorry, but not even Maestro can play well every time. Especially when he has NEVER been made to adequately fit into any national team.

And for that, we have only 1998 to speak about for the next 100 hundred years.

It is not a matter of expecting him to play well every time. You just have to look at that Gold Cup and it clear the issue with him and how our side will have to adjust.

Guatemala score three goals against us and had no problem going straight through the middle
              South Africa score three goals against us and had no problem going through the middle
              Mexico only scored one but had no problem going through the middle
              USA scored three and had no problem going through the middle.

So the team will have to accommodate for him by playing with two defensive midfielders.
              You can put him on the wing and have him tuck inside, but against the better teams Demar will be exposed without the support.

I agree that you can't use Maestro in any set up.

But I will keep it simple so as to make the best use of this unbelievable talent - pick him first and then see who is available to give us the necessary defence, plug holes and finish off his superb deliveries.

Yes unfair article...in some ways. . the fact is you cant play through a player anymore.. you need a system that generates the attack.. See arsenal started to struggle when the spaniard went off the boil a bit.. .

Again, the truth is if you put all your eggs in one basket you will have issues. Any team should be able to shut down one central all essential player. Hue is not unusual in that regard so BT played that well and if HV put all then eggs in that hue basket then shame on them, you must adapt, take pressure off hue y someone else stepping up and creating mayhem which creates the need to address the other factor thus freeing hue to do more. This idea of a one man messiah is way out of line with reality, that s why I am in favour of multiple skilled players with strong defensive skills in our midfield.

Harbour View is a good team without Hue.

And that's why the hatchet job was not directed only at Hue. Yes, he may have got most of it, but BT did not come to play football, and the referee assisted.

Funny how BT could not figure out who to contain when they played Cavalier on Sunday. Is ongle Hue dem have strength fah?