Starting 11 if it was my side!

Enabling Jamaica to avoid grass roots development ???

lol ! woiee !

Suh di reason why wi nuh have Academy is because of UB40 out deh ???

heh, heh.. Look within unnuhself.. start wid yuh precious Schoolbwoy football program dat a conflict wid REAL program before yuh start blame UB40...

Nuh wondah dem cyaan move forwud.. dem ah heng pon scapegoat !

Yuh reasoning ability really impaired

Yuh ah blame school ball wid 15-18 y.o. pickney same time yuh ah insist dat 12 y.o. pickney "too old" fi academy help dem... yuh argument fatally flawed

School ball and academy development are not mutually exclusive states...ow much time mi fi tell yuh dat

I tell you Don1 you have a comparative advantage in pointing out the flaws but I don't see any development plans coming from you. I have laid out two specific elements in the past, a competitive island wide and player grading system as well as the latest foray in developing a more structured selection system as well as a competitive infrastructure where players, coaches, fans wil be more wired into a framework which clarifies and highlights real accomplishment based on performance which can be compared not just on the island but anywhere across the various levels of the football system. Those are real and tangible things that cost very little to implement as the infrastructure is already there , this is just another soft layer upon that existing base. Beyond that it is really about setting up the academy as the first step for which we had the money but somehow it never happened. Where is your plan.

I don't understand what this comparative advantage is...

..nor do I understand why you would claim I have offered no plan...I have done so several times ...as recently as a few weeks ago

Tapping into UB40 Talent and local development are not mutually exclusive states...

Yes Iayh, we need to do both to ensure we have the best product on the field in major competitions. We can not and should not neglect one for the other.

I agree....but we're overdoing one and completely neglecting the other...ever since the late 1990s

Time for a change

It Takes Cash to Care.. and di Old Boyz Schoolboy Network hard to crack...

Mexico in Mexico?
                    Always thought playing for a draw is 'a fool's choice'. However, the key on how to go for a win would suggest detailed study of the Chelsea v Barcelona Champions League final...and our loss in Mexico when Deon Burton's left foot curler went wide.

That Mex v Jamaica match was the closest we have come to beating Mexico. Yes, the final score was Mex 4 - 0 Reggaeboyz...but...?

Conservation of energy - 'Make the ball do most of the work' - Accurate passing and excellent movement into space all done at measured pace...with players alternating with judicious use of tremendous bursts such that surprise hitting opponents and opportunities at goal are 'enough'. It is all about TEAM playing as smart unit...allowing each member to always have necessary reserve of strength to on the one hand, negate the Mexicans attacks and on the other hand, spring our always sensible attacks. --- Sure it is 'baal' and 'any card can play' but it is planned control moves - wi can-trol - by our REGGAEBOYZ! They shape their own destiny!

Karl we have beat Mexico before, I think twice.

I don't think it is about playing for a draw but building the strongest defense and playing the 'anansi' ball that I have always touted. Strong defense, fast, strong and combative mids who are known 'chicken thieves' think natural interceptors and fast and skillful forwards. Playing a 4-5-1 like Chelsea played jamming the flanks with steel in the middle it is almost impenetrable if played with spirit and upon interception it becomes an opportunity for a quick counter with Jamaica having the overwhelming advantage of speed and Mexico out of position on the breakup of the attack.

Chicken thief was one of the names considered for Jamie Turbo Lawrence,I do not think we ever did decide a name.
                        Regarding Mexico vs Jamaica,you and Mosiah have to work out the midfield,so we can enjoy our only advantage,speed in the forward(make or break game for Shelton)and the lesser known speed at the back in the underrated Nosworthy.

Like Tilla, I appreciate your football posts.
                          I will never understand this play for a draw thingy, if it looks anything like it did in all the away games with the US then I am totally against it.Let see,the US scores and for we to get a draw we start playing ball and eventually score,why not just play ball from the get go?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                            Karl we have beat Mexico before, I think twice.
                            In Mexico?
                            I cannot remember that match!!!

I don't think it is about playing for a draw but building the strongest defense and playing the 'anansi' ball that I have always touted. Strong defense, fast, strong and combative mids who are known 'chicken thieves' think natural interceptors and fast and skillful forwards. Playing a 4-5-1 like Chelsea played jamming the flanks with steel in the middle it is almost impenetrable if played with spirit and upon interception it becomes an opportunity for a quick counter with Jamaica having the overwhelming advantage of speed and Mexico out of position on the breakup of the attack.
                            I think my suggestion went along that line. The only other thing I emphasized was judicious use of energy (& oxygen conservation). Playing in the rarefied atmosphere of Mexico City presents challenges. Those challenges can be met...they should be, at the very least, considered and pre-planning on how to best surmount be a part of the game strategy.