Starting 11 if it was my side!

I would drop it like this for the Mexico game given Austin and Morrison injured:

-----------Goalie------------

Simpson----- Nugsy -----Mapps ----- Phillips

Richards----- Elliott -----Hue----- McAnuff

-------------Johnson-----Shelton

I'm tempted to say Mattocks and Vaughan at striker, but their time will come as the competition moves along. Cummings has yet to reach form otherwise he would bump Johnson or Shelton for the Mexico game.

Any side that nuh have Mattocks innah it ah one fraud side..

Mattocks dey pon the side, but for the first game in the hex he would come on as a sub...if my eyes are correct (sass too) he will claim a starting spot relatively quickly.

LOL. you a real joker to rhatid.

Nice looking side but a few fundamental weaknesses.

Back line looks great, Simpson or Jt can't go wrong.

Middle is weak, your core player is out in Austin, you look at your opponent and realize, damn this is mex, they play quick fast short ball, almost ticki tacka style but to me faster and very effective, we must shore up the middle and also clog the middle so this game must be 4-5-1 offense on the counter attack, when the mex attack cracks. Hue in the middle of the park is a defensive liability especially at altitude, at sea level he has a tough time defending and running what will happen at 7k feet, we need a fitter than fit youth who know how to close space and mark tight, clog the flank push the action to mid and meet mex with steel in the middle of the battlefield. I like the rest of the team but basically take out hue go to 4-5-1 and add in two tougher mids, drop one forward.
            Need speed and skill up front and Cummings is best for that role.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              LOL. you a real joker to rhatid.
              Talk is cheap..name your side!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Nice looking side but a few fundamental weaknesses.

Back line looks great, Simpson or Jt can't go wrong.

Middle is weak, your core player is out in Austin, you look at your opponent and realize, damn this is mex, they play quick fast short ball, almost ticki tacka style but to me faster and very effective, we must shore up the middle and also clog the middle so this game must be 4-5-1 offense on the counter attack, when the mex attack cracks. Hue in the middle of the park is a defensive liability especially at altitude, at sea level he has a tough time defending and running what will happen at 7k feet, we need a fitter than fit youth who know how to close space and mark tight, clog the flank push the action to mid and meet mex with steel in the middle of the battlefield. I like the rest of the team but basically take out hue go to 4-5-1 and add in two tougher mids, drop one forward.
                Need speed and skill up front and Cummings is best for that role.

I see where you are coming from, but can't fully agree. I'm going for a side that can attack and defend. My proposed mid field is very balanced;Hue's ball handling ability and sublime passing more than compensates for any perceived defensive liabilities. Elliott has similar game to Austin and if fully fit can play Austin's role well. McAnuff is another box to box midfielder that will add more steel to the mid and offer a great attacking option. With Hue in the side you can expect us to take advantage of Shelton's speed. Johnson is a tireless worker who can hold up the ball well and put pressure on the Mexican defence. Still packing the midfield, like you suggest, and playing for the counter might get us a draw...I'm pushing for that improbable win

Not quite as good as the intent of Maestro!

Dread, yuh know ball. That is all I am going to say about that.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Dread, yuh know ball. That is all I am going to say about that.
                      No, I only played on a few youth championship teams a yard, got called up for the juvenile squad, and got drafted from college to play in the pros.. definitely have no clue bout the game though. Also, not a real Jamaican since I born a England. Did I miss anything?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        Hue in the middle of the park is a defensive liability...
                        Didn't you hear Vin Blaine say he is now playing defence?

sigh

So Dread, tell me what is the difference between a top class yard baller who never makes it outside yard and a England born with yardie roots who gets drafted at 8 yo by a pro team and is now playing championship or epl ball. In both cases they are getting good results in their respective leagues.

I hear that, but do I want to test that at Azteca?

Sass where is your team, let's se that.

Okay then! Play defence all evening!

Good luck!