• Tyrone Marshall wants to coach young boyz for free

GORDON WILLIAMS, Star Writer

Reggae Boy Tyrone Marshall is offering his coaching services to Jamaica's national football programme. Free.

The 35-year-old, who represented the senior Reggae Boyz more than 80 times and holds a "B" coaching license in the United States where he is based, said he was willing to serve as an assistant coach with the country's youth teams, starting in the offseason, following the 2011 Major League Soccer (MLS) campaign in North America.

"It's something that I've always wanted to do," Marshall explained yesterday. "I feel I have the capability. I feel I can contribute in different ways."

Marshall said he would soon contact the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) to make his intentions official.

"I plan to contact Captain (Horace) Burrell and the JFF to ask if I can come down and help out with the under 17s, under 20s, under 23s," he said.

much compensation

The defender said he understood the current financial constraints of the JFF and was not looking for much compensation beyond transportation and accommodation. He said his aim was to make a contribution to Jamaica's football, while gaining coaching experience.

"I'm not looking for pay," Marshall said. "I just want to give back. They would just have to take care of my basic needs."

Marshall, who last played for Jamaica against Canada in a February friendly in Kingston before announcing his retirement from the international game, recently completed his 12th MLS season, the last two with the Seattle Sounders. He won two MLS titles with the Los Angeles Galaxy, and two Lamar Hunt US Open Cup knockout competitions while at Seattle. The two-time MLS all-star made 294 appearances with four MLS clubs and scored 16 goals.

He is currently in contract negotiations with 2010 MLS champions Colorado Rapids, which recently selected him in the league's re-entry draft after, Marshall said, the Sounders declined to pick up the option on the final year of his contract.

Marshall said he planned to play "two good quality" MLS seasons before embarking on a coaching career full time. He said Jamaica's national program could benefit from his fresh approach.

"I want to bring another perspective, a younger perspective," he explained.

Jamaica's under-17 and under-20 teams are currently preparing for final- round CONCACAF qualifying competition from which they hope to qualify for the youth World Cup at both levels in 2011. Wendell Downswell, who coached Marshall at the senior national level, is in charge of those two teams. The under-17 team is currently on a training stint in Brazil.

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2010...s/sports1.html

Really a no-brainer for the JFF. Would he be ok with living in a one-bedroom apartment in Tivarli though?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hi godda can katchup wid him old man.

Originally posted by Za View Post
        Jamaica's under-17 and under-20 teams are currently preparing for final- round CONCACAF qualifying competition from which they hope to qualify for the youth World Cup at both levels in 2011. Wendell Downswell, who coached Marshall at the senior national level, is in charge of those two teams. The under-17 team is currently on a training stint in Brazil.
        I understand Luciano Gama is in charge of the U20 team and Downswell is in charge of the U17s. He is asst. to Gama on the U20.

Reggae Boy Tyrone Marshall's 15-year professional playing career appears all but over after his Major League Soccer (MLS) club decided not to keep the 38-year-old defender.

According to Marshall, the Colorado Rapids declined to extend his two-year deal last week following the club's disappointing 2012 season in North America's top football league, failing to make the MLS play-offs.

"My contract is up," he confirmed from the United States (November 17). "They're not offering me a new contract."

Marshall, who has played more than 80 times for Jamaica's senior national team, appeared in 337 MLS games, fifth on the league's all-time list. He wanted one more season with Colorado, but wasn't surprised by the club's decision, despite earlier indications a deal could have been reached.

"I was hoping to get another year, based on discussions during the season, but it didn't work out," explained Marshall, a teammate of national player Omar Cummings at Colorado.

"At the end of the season, when you've had a bad season, you're going to have changes."

Marshall started his MLS career with Colorado in 1998. He moved to Miami Fusion, now defunct, and later Los Angeles Galaxy, where he won two MLS championships. Stints with Seattle Sounders and Toronto FC followed. In 2012, Marshall appeared in 16 MLS games, starting 13. He scored twice, to push his career total to 18 goals.

Marshall believes he is still good enough to contribute to a MLS team and has not totally ruled out playing next season. However, he is mentally prepared for retirement.

"I'm looking beyond playing now," said the married father of five children, ages ranging between two and 10 years. "It's time to settle down with the family and raise the kids. Watch my boys grow up and play soccer. Go to their games. It's going to be my time to watch them play instead of them watching my games."

The son of former Jamaica club player Cornell 'Granny' Marshall plans to return to university to complete a bachelor's degree in sports management. He holds a US "A" coaching licence, which he wants to use possibly as a player/coach in the professional ranks, or as coach at US college or club academy level. He is considering offers.

"Going forward, the future looks bright," said Marshall, who plans to move to Kentucky, his wife Cari's home state.

He said he has also spoken to Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) President Captain Horace Burrell about future coaching possibilities with the national programme.

Despite being out of the national team, Marshall said he's always ready to step in if the Reggae Boyz need him, but would never hamper the progress of the youngsters.

Gordon Williams said he is 35 years old.

Which is correct? Not that it matters, really.

he is 38

DOB - Tuesday, November 12, 1974
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

JFF should at the very least 'talk'.
                  Do not think living arrangements would be a problem.

AND is it a "A" or "B" US Coaching License???

Ah believe Granny Marshall, Bertis Bell and weh him name again di one Jackie Walters wouldah mek ah wicked undah's coaching team. A done wi wouldah done di place wid ease, some time ah woundah wah JFF really tinking. Wi hab di yout quality coach dem but wi nah use dem UP!!!! Weh Bricktop seh Jamaica football ah joke, bout 5% ah di time him right, di nex 95% him mad sick head nuh good

Sounds great, but I would like to see him work exclusively with the defense of the current team, shaping that team into a stronger more cohesive unit, Marshall is our most intelligent, tactically aware defender of the last ten years