• Fracture Likely To Kick Austin Out Mexico Clash

Fracture Likely To Kick Austin Out Mexico Clash
    Published: Wednesday | November 14, 2012 0 Comments

Austin
    Kwesi Mugisa, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, remains optimistic, but cautious, in regard to the injury sustained to key Reggae Boy midfielder Rodolph Austin on the weekend.

However, the prognosis seemed a lot better for both the JFF and the player's English Championship division club Leeds United yesterday.

Initially, it was reported that Austin had sustained a double leg break, but a fresh diagnosis has revealed that the player suffered a fractured bone at the front of his ankle.

"Well, that would be great, but coach (Theodore) Whitmore and I will be going to see him tomorrow (today) so we will get an official update on what his progress is then," Burrell told The Gleaner from Birmingham, England, yesterday.

Austin, who has been a key midfielder for Leeds since joining the club in July, sustained the injury after a seemingly innocuous collision with a Watford defender early in the second half of the match between the teams on Saturday.

Leeds' manager Neil Warnock had feared the worst as the player left the field strapped to a stretcher, but yesterday he revised his stance.

"It's better news than we first thought," Warnock told the Leeds United website (http://www.leedsunited.com).

"The swelling made it difficult for us to get a full diagnosis until Monday evening. We wish him well in his recovery and, hopefully, he will be back with us sooner rather than later."

Burrell, along with Whitmore and assistant coach Alfredo Montesso, is currently in the midst of a recruitment programme that aims to bolster the ranks of the national team with England-based talent, ahead of the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers, which gets under way in February.

Initial fears were that Austin would have been ruled out for the rest of the season, which would certainly have seen him miss the majority of the qualifiers, but a revised projection could see the tough-tackling midfielder miss around two months of action, that is if there are no setbacks to his recovery.

"We remain hopeful that the injury will not keep him out of any of the qualifiers, but we will not say too much on it now," Burrell said.

However, even in the best-case scenario, it seems unlikely that Austin will be ready for the national team's opening fixture, an expected thorny trip to Mexico's Azteca Stadium.

Burrell, in the meantime, confirmed that the process was going "very, very well" but would not divulge specifics in regard to players already on board, missed targets, or players likely to join the team's crusade to Brazil.

Perhaps it's the best match for him to miss, right?

Agree! He would be totally healed and fit and ready for the return legs against Mexico in The Office and away to the US a few days later.

Wrong, even if we lose this match we need a stellar defense, we can't afford to start this thing on the wrong foot and give up goals that will be hard to find in the rest of the schedule. We need to blunt their midfield and without Austin or an Austin type player it will be tough especially with slower not so eager players on the field.

So, a match we would probably lose if Mexico uses their U-17 team...yuh know what...mi dinner a get cold!

Suh you bow already?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Suh you bow already?

What I do in the privacy of the UTe...my bedroom is my business, Stonigut!!!

Alright let me leave that alone, but seriously I hope the plan is not to concede before the game starts, Mexico is good but they are not that good, we must salvage a draw out of that game and a win is possible with the right training and plan.

You know Mexico is coming with all guns blazing for this one and will poke and penetrate this midfield and defense both theoretically they already are doing that and when that day comes it will be executing the multiple months of planning and training for that first game.

Hey, I would love to have our strongest team there. And I never play to lose, or not to win.

Just saying, the odds of winning are not in our favour at all, even with the strongest possible team. A stats man like you should be able to appreciate that. So, if we are to lose someone like Austin, let it be for a match like this.

Can't understand why you would argue with me about this.

Make them come out with guns blazing and see if everybody don't pop down after 20 minutes. LOL