Prediction on MLS as a world league!

• Prediction on MLS as a world league!

I believe that MLS will be in the top five leagues world wide within ten years. That can be quantified two ways based on attendance per game average and also based on total revenue earned by the league.

Currently Mls is number 8 in attendance averages and on the second point they are probably way down the line but within the top 20. By my estimates Mls is pulling in about $300m, based on average revenue stats across teams but compared to the top league Epl they are pulling in greater than $2.5b so close to ten times more.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    I believe that MLS will be in the top five leagues world wide within ten years. That can be quantified two ways based on attendance per game average and also based on total revenue earned by the league.

Currently Mls is number 8 in attendance averages and on the second point they are probably way down the line but within the top 20. By my estimates Mls is pulling in about $300m, based on average revenue stats across teams but compared to the top league Epl they are pulling in greater than $2.5b so close to ten times more.
    Getting there depends in large part on TV revenue and demand outside America for the MLS product, which means attracting top players from around the world. As I see it, for this prediction to come true, the league would need to be considered a destination for young players, not just as a way station for older players on their way to pasture. So that means "Neymar to Red Bulls" has to be as credible as hearing "Oscar to Chelsea". And by the way, does top 5 mean the leagues will be: EPL, La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga then MLS? Or do you see something else. There is no question though that the product has become quite entertaining.

Paul at this point it only is based on one thing as the quality is getting better every year, the interest is up across the board, I was watching the Seattle versus La game and actually feeling, man I which We could have that vibe here in my city and also actually thinking, LA is playing some ball!

Back to the key point it is all based on the money so my bet is a rising league in the richest country is almost a cant miss bet. Once that rev goes over the $500 mill mark it will be a different league.

The question is how are we going to get a slice out of that pie?

Guys i do not see a lot of the MLS. In terms of quality how would you compare the MLS to say the English Leagues whould it be on a par with say League 1 or the Championship?

Some MLS teams would compete well in the Championship. Can you imagine a team with Landon Donovan, Robbie Keanne, and David Beckham?

If you notice the MLS players who come to the EPL comes pretty prepared like Cameron at Stoke, The youth who went to Bolton the year before and got injured, Clint Dempsey, just to name a few.

Ok, it seem to me that the profile of the league has gotten better over the last 4 years and i would hope it continues to get better. There is certainly a lot of potential there for the league to grow into a giant especially with the diverse population in the USA. If they can continue to attract stellar names to the league then the fan base will get bigger and bigger and Europe will start to take the MLS seriously.

A few players well leave championship sides and come to the MLS without a lot of fanfare but I think what will rise the profile is the quality of youth players that America has to develop.

The grassroot level is booming and if I think it is better in some parts of the US than England from 4-10 years old. It is only going to get better.

I am a 100% sure that America will be a super power in Soccer within the next twenty years because i see a lot of the work they do at grassroot level, the next challenge for them is to get their league right so it is attractive for television companies abroad, only then will it be taken seriously.

A promotion/relegation league would help the MLS a lot in that sense.

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post
                    A promotion/relegation league would help the MLS a lot in that sense.
                    They can't afford it. It makes initial investment very difficult at the top levels; maybe in future, but very long way away from that. It also makes rivalries like the Seattle/Portland one hard to develop if they don't play each other every year (due to a relegation).

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                      I am a 100% sure that America will be a super power in Soccer within the next twenty years because i see a lot of the work they do at grassroot level, the next challenge for them is to get their league right so it is attractive for television companies abroad, only then will it be taken seriously.
                      You will see America as a super power when athletes like Tom Brady and Lebron James choose soccer over american football, baseball and basketball, and when inner city black kids start to play the game; it is still overwhelmingly a white middleclass suburban sport.

Tom Brady can run? Not because James is good in Basketball mean he will make it in soccer.

US have a huge population and if they get the hispanic alone really interested in soccer(I say hispanic as they don't play football or baseball and have interest in soccer) that would start it.

You won't get inner city black kids, Do you know that at least 40-50% of kids who go on to play pro sports in America is actually from the suburbs, rather than the inner cities?

...and the 3rd world-wide pull i.e. watched via cable and shown on networks & naturally on the totem pole with list of places to play. It sure is growing by leaps and bounds.

...bwoy iffen wi memba the many hear who claimed it would never become an important world player? a wah di duh dem dough? dem neva luk pan market-size + world's largest (professional) spectator sport?

TV ratings are dreadful and the games are on NBC & ESPN...what are you guys smoking?

see yuh still innah yuh thinkin stage!
                              Please look to the future?! In other words come awake???!!!.