• BT Win 2-0 over Harbour View

BT!!!!!!!

It would be great to see that match!

...bwoy?

A pre-view:

Harbour View, Boys'Town in end-of-round showdown

Published: Monday | November 12, 2012

Harbour View's Hue

Harbour View's Harwood

Boys' Town's Parkes

Nodley Wright, Gleaner Writer

That both Boys' Town and Harbour View are gunning for the prize money of $250,000 awarded to the winner of the Red Stripe Premier League first end-of-round final, is obvious. What isn't so obvious is that this game could be the road to redemption for a number of players and one in particular - Romeo Parkes.

Besides a belated birthday present to himself, the Boys' Town striker - who turned 22 yesterday - will be looking to work his way back into the Reggae Boyz squad with a strong performance at the Anthony Spaulding Sports Complex, in a showdown set to begin at 9 p.m.

Having narrowly missed qualifying for the Under-20 World Cup under the guidance of his cousin Donovan Duckie and bowing out early from the Olympic qualifiers with Alfredo Montesso in charge, Parkes had only the 'big' team to look to if he wanted to represent his country at the highest level.

An outstanding 2011/2012 season saw him called to the Reggae Boyz band for friendlies against Cuba and New Zealand in February.
      "I had my first and only cap against Cuba in the first game at the National Stadium but did not play in the second. I also went to New Zealand when the team won 3-2 but I did not play," explained the 6'2" Parkes.

Disappointment in turkey
      Immediately after his return from the February 29 game in New Zealand, Parkes headed to Turkey for a trial with Turkish club Alanyaspor. His two-month stay did not land him a contract and by the time he returned, the team had moved on with the technical staff settling on their local core and there was no love in it for Romeo.

"It is for me now to regain my form, start scoring goals again and really showing what I have," said Parkes, whose departure saw a dip in Tivoli Gardens' form towards the end of last season as the goals dried up.

"Right now, I know it is tougher to get into the national squad with the work done by the players who have qualified for the next round, but if I do well in this game for Boys' Town, help them to a win and continue into the second round, then I should be able to force my way into the Digicel Cup squad for next month," added the player who previously represented St Georges Sports Club and Highgate.

But while Parkes will be aiming to take centre stage, the spotlight is already on his clubmate, Rafiek Thomas, the competition's leading scorer and his former teammate, Damion Harwood, who represents Harbour View and is on fire with four goals from his last four games. Both players are seen as key to victory for their team.

Harwood has struck up a fine partnership with the magical Jermaine Hue and will be aiming to continue providing the finishing touches to the service that will definitely come from Hue.

Coach Vin Blaine's guidance off the field and Hue's leadership on it have lifted Harbour View to the top of the league on 25 points and an unbeaten run of five games following their loss to Boys' Town last month.
      "We are positive, we are going into this looking to avenge that loss.
      "We have five straight wins, but we try to take it one game at a time and if we play the type of football we have been playing all season, I am confident we will have a good result," Blaine promised.

Today's game will be Boys' Town's first appearance in an end-of-round final in three years. On the last occasion, they lost 1-2 to Portmore United and only a significant improvement on their last game, a week ago, will see them winning.

"We always want to put on a show and we did not do that tonight. We want to apologise to the public," coach Andrew Price said last week after their draw with Portmore.

This week, things are looking up, he said.

"The camp is upbeat and ready to go. We want to keep a winning attitude and some consistency, so we are treating this game as a must-win," said the former Boys' Town representative.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports2.html

Would have loved to see it.

Btw Karl, why is it that the jff website does not track assists, is it not counted in the match stats.

...and another ---->

H’View, Boys’ Town clash in RSPL round final

Old rivalry
          Livingston Scott
          Monday, November 12, 2012

THE Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) First End-of-Round Final trophy and $250,000 will be up for grabs this evening when bitter rivals Harbour View and Boys' Town square off in the final at the Tony Spaulding Complex starting at 9:00 pm.

After a tough first round, the Stars-of-the-East emerged atop the standings with 25 points, three more than their opponents to set up tonight's contest.

HUE... Harbour View’s dangerman

However, the Vin Blaine-coached Harbour View, who are on a five-match winning streak and have won seven of their last eight games with their only defeat during that run coming at the hands of Boys' Town, are a confident bunch going into the game and will want revenge.

And although the Andrew Price-coached Boys' Town, also known as the Red Brigade, is the only team to deny Harbour View victory since the fifth round of matches, Blaine is confident that they have worked out all the necessary details and will be coming fully prepared to overturn that first-round result.
          "The last time we played them they defeated us 1-0, but we assessed that game and know exactly what happened in that match.

We will need to cut down on some of the mistakes we made in that game... but right now we are playing some good free-flowing football and we expect to see the same thing in the game," he said.

The veteran coach noted that despite the fact that they will be missing goalkeeper Michaud Barrett and midfielder Evan Taylor, the players coming in know the objective and will offer the same efficiency.

"Our objective at the start of the season was to win the end-of-round final... plus we are on a five-game winning (streak), so the players have very good motivation going into the game," Blaine said.

Meanwhile, Boys' Town coach, Price, made note of the teams' long-standing rivalry and said despite Harbour View playing some of the best football in the competition this season, his players have their sights set on the end-of-round title.

"We set our target of 20 points for the first round, and we surpassed that and now we are in the bonus final. So now it's about going out there and being consistent and try to continue this winning habit, because we take this game very seriously... and we are going all out to win the financial incentive and the trophy," he said.

The former Boys' Town defender said anytime the teams meet it's always a ding-dong battle, and although his team has one up on Harbour View this season, he expects another cracker of a game.

"For this game we have to defend properly and don't give Harbour View room to play... we will have to attack in numbers and be clinical in front of the goal," he added.

Price singled out Jermaine Hue as a major threat, but believes once the national midfielder is kept quiet, his team will have a great chance of winning the match.

"We know what Jermaine (Hue) can do from dead balls and with his passing skills... but he's a player that can be shut down.
          "So we will pay him some attention and try to prevent him doing the things he can do," he said.

With Asrick Samuels out on red card, Price is also contemplating playing Xavian Virgo, who has been out through injury, at right-back, but that is still a watch-and-wait situation.

Of the two teams, Harbour View have been more prolific scoring 18 goals, one more than Boys' Town. Defensively Harbour View have the better record, conceding seven to Boys' Town's 10.
          The losers this evening will take home $150,000.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2C6zZQlp1

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            Would have loved to see it.

Btw Karl, why is it that the jff website does not track assists, is it not counted in the match stats.
            Took up the stats thing with a major player at the PLCA. Hopefully some changes will be made. ...at least it was said that may be something to look at! We shall see, what we shall see!

A match report - Boys' Town snatch End-Of-Round title

Red Stripe Premier League: Boys' Town snatch End-Of-Round title

BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter
              Tuesday, November 13, 2012 | 7:32 AM

Harbour View FC..... 0

Boys' Town FC........ 2
              Own goal (28th), Parkes (77th)

KINGSTON, Jamaica - Boys’ Town took the first end-of-round title for the 2012-2013 Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) season with a hard-fought 2-0 victory over Harbour View in Monday night’s final at the Tony Spaulding Complex in Arnett Gardens.

The Boys’ Town team, coached by Andrew Price, took the lead in the 28th minute when Harbour View defender Rondell Morris turned a cross from Boys’ Town’s Rafiek Thomas into his own net.

National Under-23 attacker Romeo Parkes made the $250,000 winners’prize safe for Boys’ Town with a crisply driven shot past goalkeeper Devon Haughton in the 77th minute.

Teams:
              Harbour View- Devon Haughton, Eric Vernan, Christopher Harvey, Rondell Morris, Daveion Woodhouse, Nicholas Beckett, John Ross Edwards, Joel Senior, Jermaine Hue, Jermie Lynch (Roland Dean 61st), Damion Harwood (Romaine Lewis 69th)

Subs not used- Ashek Taylor, Clifton Waugh, Robert Williams, Romario Campbell, Kemeel Wolfe

Booked- Lynch (18th)

Boys' Town- Kirk Porter, Hugh Evans, Wayne Ellis, Carlos Wright, Xavian Virgo, Daemon Benjamin, Marvin Stewart, Marvin Morgan, Michael Campbell (Garfield Gillespie 29th), Rafeik Thomas (Khalil Johnson 90+1), Romeo Parkes

Subs not used- Roshane Campbell, Nicholas McMorris, Robert Scarlett, Oneil Thompson, Shane Edwards

Booked- Thomas (42nd), Virgo (57th), Ellis (67th), Parkes (90+4)

Referee- Cardella Samuels
              Assistance referees- Stacy-Ann Greyson and Lloyd Reader
              Fourth official- Kevin Morrison

Match commissary- Anthony Cooke

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2C70Owepb

Harbour View was outplayed. Marvin Morgan played well. slick likkle midfield general. Hue was the only bright spark for view as expected but Boys Town hardly gave him time on the ball. All in all a satisfactory match

Thanks, boss!

How much is Ja.$250,000 in US $.

Thanks.

Bout $3k...

Thanks man, btw what happen to Evan Taylor, I though he wasthe key in their d mid, he was not on the stat sheet.

Are you serious?!? Only one team played football and it wasn't BT!

The referee was atrocious and missed several glaring tackles committed by the BT team.

Hue shone even as they hacked him from all over.

And you say Marvin Morgan played well?!? Which game wi talking bout?!? Could not be the 1st End of Round Final for the 2012/13 RSPL season!

Great goal by Romeo Parkes, though!

Even though Rafik scores, I think Romeo is the only one with potential to do anything at the senior level.

The tackling is a nightmare, not just with them, but in the league overall. As much as Virgo played well while attacking in his first games after his recall, you could see by his defending the foolishness that he was allowed to do at the local level.

Rafeik has other problems that cannot be mentioned on this Forum.

The nightmarish tackles carry over into our international games when we use local players. We will be penalised heavily for them in the Digicel Cup. Watch and see!

The clubs need to take charge and discourage eediat tackles, and the referees need to step up and do their part in cutting these cayliss challenges out of the game.