Jamiel Hardware dropped by US college after 'pro rumour'

• Jamiel Hardware dropped by US college after 'pro rumour'

Former Bridgeport High School Manning Cup standout, Jamiel Hardware, was aiming to emulate his former schoolmate Darren Mattocks in launching his football career through the American collegiate system, but his hopes were dashed after just eight games with Jefferson College.

Hardware was deemed to have played professional football and, hence, not eligible to represent the institution.

"I was at Jefferson College in the US for a year, but after playing eight games - scoring one goal - there was a rumour saying I was a professional, so I had to leave school, because as a professional you cannot play college football," Hardware revealed.

"It was a good experience at Jefferson, as that was my first lengthy period out of Jamaica. The players around were wonderful and the coaches as well."

Hardware did in fact represent local national premier league club Boys' Town before making the move to the US. It was during a league match against Tivoli Gardens in 2010 that he broke his leg, which caused him to miss the first part of his final year of Manning Cup with Bridgeport.

Since the disappointment of not being able to play college football, the 20-year-old has joined Sweden's second division club Motala AIF, where he played the tail end of last season and is signed to play next season.

"After leaving Jefferson College, I went to California to play in a league there while my agent was searching for a club," Hardware shared. He then hooked me up with Motala, the same club my former Under-20 teammate Craig Foster plays for.

"Things at the club weren't all that good, but it was OK; it is a start for me at a young age. I played seven games, where I came off bench in the first two games and then started in the next three, scoring one goal."

Hardware believes the Swedish league boasts more professional-minded players when compared to Jamaica, and they play a more free-flowing type of football. He, however, thinks Jamaica's style of play is far more physical than Sweden's.

The talented midfielder, who is currently participating in the Caribbean Football Union Under-20 finals, has also trained with the Reggae Boyz senior team, and is keen on representing the country at the senior level.

"Right now I would love to be in the national squad and I am also hoping to get a bigger and better contract overseas," he added.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
    The talented midfielder, who is currently participating in the Caribbean Football Union Under-20 finals, has also trained with the Reggae Boyz senior team, and is keen on representing the country at the senior level.

"Right now I would love to be in the national squad and I am also hoping to get a bigger and better contract overseas," he added.
    Truth - Jameel Hardware is not participating in the CFU U-20 finals. He may be doing just that in February, in the final round.

Also, he deserves a call up to the national squad. He is that good!

That story doesn't add up. Anyway, wish him the best with his career and hope he is in the Under 20 soon. We need some older players in the squad. Too many likkle boy.

What story? About being forced out of college because of his professional status?

You and I know there are several who have played in our NPL who have moved on to college. If I am not mistaken, maybe even Mattocks did that as well.

Are you saying he was forced out because of maybe academics? I don't know. Anyway, it may be a blessing in disguise. If he finished 4 years of college playing he would have emerged a useless player. Now he has a chance to make some money and go places, as he is a very good player.

"What story? About being forced out of college because of his professional status?"

No nothing not too strange about it. The schools now are more proactive and are complaining against each others. I know Ryan Thompson had to sit out for half of a season before he was deemed "not professional" .

Did he sign a pro contract or employ an agent? It depends on his, his club and his agents answer.

Because of the Semi-pro nature of our league, even if one play in it, they can either be a pro or ameatur.

A rumour that he played professionally? We need to teach our players to just say no comment...bout rumour

People don't get dropped from their College team based on a "rumour"

somebody must have lodge a complain and it was been investigated so he got dropped until it was proven or not, and in the case of Thompson it cost him half of a season.

That might be the case with hardware as well. He may have not waited for the final finding or they found him guilty.

That's like Jerry Hue saying he didn't like the style of play in Sweden so came back to Harbour View...a steaming load of BS...

We really have some lazy reporters who find it hard to do some real work before publishing a questionable article.

Even though it is called second division, that club is actually the 4th tier of swedish football.

also they wouldn't drop him in mid season unless they found something wrong with his transcript from Ja or a complain was lodged.

Right after leaving the school because of the "rumour," him immediately go out to California to play professional, not waiting for anything to be cleared up, and then him agent search for a team in Europe for him. the journalist need to do a better job. The story doesn't add up.

Don't follow your argument.

Oh really?!? And risk sanctions?!?