Marlon King retires from International football

• Marlon King retires from International football

Reggae Boy Marlon King has announced his retirement from international football.

King also played for Birmingham City in the English Championship, made the announcement via a statement today.

His recent omission from the national senior squad has been a major talking point in Jamaica since King is said to have been among the best striking options for the Reggae Boyz.

See full statement below:

It is with the deepest regret that I Marlon King have today decided to retire myself from international football.

I have always given my all to the Jamaican football team and have some very fond memories of my achievements within the squad.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Captain Burrel and Carl Brown for their outstanding support during my time with the JFF.

They will always have my complete respect.

I would also like to thank the Jamaican public and my fans for their support and wish the squad the very best in achieving world cup qualification.

Marlon King

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=40946

Woo Hoo!!!!!

thanks Mr. King for your time.

Now we can move on.

aahhh sahhhh .Mo yuh happy !

When are we going to learn, man management, we act as if , indiscipline is reserved for jamaica,

The worst of us before the best of them.

Terrible !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Captain Burrel and Carl Brown for their outstanding support during my time with the JFF.
          He's trying to call out Tappa for his non-support. I would like to tell Marlon that is not just Tappa one who never waan fi see him back pon di team.

This is great news! No more Marlon King discussion from hereon!!!

YAY!!

Nonsense, X! Bout man management! Where is personal responsibility and behaviour!?!? Not all players can be "man managed". Just the sound of the phrase has a bad ring to it!

lots of time to un-retire.. especially if it look like we qualifying fi Brazil..

Man manage this:

Personal life

Incidents and legal cases

While on loan to Hull City, King was alleged to have headbutted teammate Dean Windass in a casino in Scarborough. Hull City stated that the matter had been dealt with internally, and both players remained with the club.[44] Windass later described the incident as a "storm in a teacup".

King has convictions for 14 offences, dating from 1997.[45][46] He received fines, driving bans, community service sentences, a rehabilitation order and orders to pay compensation on convictions including: theft from a person and from a car, criminal damage, and attempting to obtain property by deception; fraudulent use of vehicle licence document, driving without insurance, speeding, drink driving; a wounding incident while playing amateur football, and two cases involving assault of young women rejecting his advances in the Soho area of London.

Two cases have led to imprisonment. In May 2002 he received an eighteen-month prison sentence for receiving stolen goods, in relation to a BMW convertible that he was found driving. He was found not guilty of a charge of assaulting a police officer in a related case. His solicitor commented that "His reputation will be tarnished forever, whatever success he achieves, he'll always be referred to in a Tyson-esque way as someone who has had a criminal past and that is a considerable penalty."[47][48] Gillingham continued to pay his salary while he was in jail, and supported in his appeal, which resulted in the sentence being reduced to nine months, and he was released on licence after five months, returning to the Gillingham team within two days of his release.[49]

In December 2008, again in the Soho area, King was arrested on suspicion of punching a 20 year-old female university student in the face, causing a broken nose and split lip for which she was treated in hospital. He was later convicted of sexual assault and assault occasioning actual bodily harm, and sentenced to 18 months in prison and placed on the sex offender register for seven years.[2] Wigan Athletic immediately initiated the cancellation of his contract.[50] King’s agent, Tony Finnigan, said he was confident that his client would find a club on his release, which was on 29 July 2010,[51] and accused the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) of failing to offer support.[52] Gordon Taylor, the chief executive of the PFA, said that the PFA did not represent players when they have broken the law and been convicted on non-footballing matters. It would support members with anger management or other issues if approached but no approach had been made by King.[16] After his release, he made an appeal against the conviction which was unsuccessful.[53]

King is married to Julie and has three children.[43]

Source - Wikipedia

Maybe he is right ! Tappa has no man management skills , that said we need to implement a system for the Kings & Lowes, its part of football.

Panama knocked us out with a convicted felon, gun man, Fuller was charged for rape & boxed a player on the field , maradona was a karate expert on field & a drug abuser,half or all of england squad has an alochol & battery problem, i.e glen johnson stole toilet fixtures.

I can go down each team in europe & S. America to list the problems with each player, there isnt a Saint!

Why do we take this expunge attitude as the only way to deal with indiscipline?

You pointing out Kings past transgressions says it all, paint , villify to justify expulsion or forced self expulsion.thats how we deal with it.
                  Last edited by Sir X; November 4, 2012, 01:31 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

KMT! Yuh couldn't just celebrate like di rest a wi?

Damn man and we training at Braco All-inclusive .

Make King was a local Jamaican and see how them bawl fi him offa the side long time.

Do you know how those felons behaved when THEY WERE WITH THE TEAM?!?!?

Okay then!

them say make him the captain.

Guess wha, if the news is true, because I am stilling for confirmation, X can say anyting him waan say.

Riddance!

And further, none were serial convicts like Marlon King!