Mattocks goal last night

RD, we need a goal scorer. Fuller is not quite the finisher in our national colors.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Rather simple!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
        There is no other striker that we used in the qualifiers who would have scored that goal. Period.
        That was a great goal! But, Fuller, King, Cummings, Shelton, Richards, and Johnson, on their day, could have all done that; don't kid yourselves. Mattocks looks like he is going to be a good one, but, at this point, he hasn't done anything yet. If I'm going into battle this Feb and have all my strikers fit and in form Mattocks will not start and will be hard pressed to even make the bench. Mattocks might very well turn out to be our best striker ever, but right now all he has shown is potential. And, as you you all know potential is short for you have not accomplished anything yet.

A wonder if Vancouver used the same formula if they would have made the playoff????

They had about 5 other forwards, all with more experience than Mattocks, Kenny MIller was a bigtime Scottish striker. The Frenh Pair and their last year lead scorer had to sit when Mattocks was fit.

When you have bubling talent you have to let it go.

all he has shown is potential ?

How much minutes him play in qualifying ?

Some of us find it hard to be fair to our players for whatever reason. If Mattocks can score over 35 goals in college while winning the NCAA trophy, and then go on to have a pretty good year in the MLS, almost breaking Damani Ralph's rookie goals record, how can he not be highly regarded?!?

If one should take a look at his goals, you would see that many have been first class finishes, the types of which some of our "bigger" strikers would not have a clue about!

That said, I will not jump on the "play Mattocks" bandwagon just because of what he has done in the USA. I'm sure the coaches have treated him fairly and will play him in the Jamaica national team if he deserves that honour.

It's all about commitment, chemistry and team work.

the fact is Tappa going to have to choose somebody to give us performance up front in the second round and he is going to live or die by it. It is as simple as that.

as Tracy seh.. yuh coulda fling in Physics, Math and Biology.. juss mek sure yuh have man wheh know and can play ball pon di field fuss before wi start talk bout Chemistry..

A wonder if Vancouver used the same formula if they would have made the playoff????

They had about 5 other forwards, all with more experience than Mattocks, Kenny MIller was a bigtime Scottish striker. The Frenh Pair and their last year lead scorer had to sit when Mattocks was fit.

When you have bubling talent you have to let it go.
                    I would expect that any of our forwards (Johnson, Cummings, Fuller, King, Shelton) would start over the other strikers that Vancouver has. You have come with a weak argument the Vancouver coaches see Mattocks day in and day out not so with Tappa and company. From what I've seen from Mattocks he looks like the real deal, but he will have to go to camp and knock off all the other forwards (JA camp) to get the start; a very difficult task to do if all of them are full fit and in form and the coach only has a few days to game plan.

if all are full and fit then we go to form...

Some of us find it hard to be fair to our players for whatever reason. If Mattocks can score over 35 goals in college while winning the NCAA trophy, and then go on to have a pretty good year in the MLS, almost breaking Damani Ralph's rookie goals record, how can he not be highly regarded?!?

If one should take a look at his goals, you would see that many have been first class finishes, the types of which some of our "bigger" strikers would not have a clue about!

That said, I will not jump on the "play Mattocks" bandwagon just because of what he has done in the USA. I'm sure the coaches have treated him fairly and will play him in the Jamaica national team if he deserves that honour.

It's all about commitment, chemistry and team work.
                        Let me correct you, Mattocks didn't almost break Ralph's rookie record. He scored 8 goals with no assist in 22 games; Ralph scored 11 goals with 6 assist in 25 games. If we extrapolate Mattocks production to 25 games he would have 9 goals and 0 assist; well short of 11 goals and 6 assist. There is only one goal that Mattocks has scored this season that most of our strikers probably couldn't do, and that was the header. All the other ballas have their share of highlight goals as well; many of which Mattocks has yet to duplicate on the pro scene. With that being said, he looks like the real deal; but then again the last time we said that about a rookie JA forward in the MLS..well.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                          That was a great goal! But, Fuller, King, Cummings, Shelton, Richards, and Johnson, on their day, could have all done that; don't kid yourselves. Mattocks looks like he is going to be a good one, but, at this point, he hasn't done anything yet. If I'm going into battle this Feb and have all my strikers fit and in form Mattocks will not start and will be hard pressed to even make the bench. Mattocks might very well turn out to be our best striker ever, but right now all he has shown is potential. And, as you you all know potential is short for you have not accomplished anything yet.
                          What nonsense. Did you watch the qualifiers?. All the strikers you mentioned (with the exception of Cummings who didn't play much)got much easier chances than Mattocks goal and couldn't score. That should pretty much all you need to know.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                            What nonsense. Did you watch the qualifiers?. All the strikers you mentioned (with the exception of Cummings who didn't play much)got much easier chances than Mattocks goal and couldn't score. That should pretty much all you need to know.
                            Brethren I prefer to not assume you are a dunce, but you surely sound like one! Anyone of us can choose one goal from any striker and use that as an example of why he is better than the others. If you look through the body of work from Johnson and Shelton (Fuller, Cummings, and King didn't play or didn't play much) you will see them score some great goals as well. And yes neither Johnson or Shelton had a good first round, but they have delivered for us before in the past. Additionally, I'm sure you can find easy misses by even the greatest strikers to ever play the game.

None of the strikers you mentioned have scored a strikers goal like that. Mattocks can also score with his head. Did you see easy headers missed by our strikers in the qualifiers? The missing of chances that require a strikers technique is common amongst the strikers we used. That was not a one-off thing. It represents one of the glaring differences between us and the teams we will be facing. I make no assumption about your intelligence your posts adequately answers that question.

That extrapolation nuh make it. Ralph started 22 games and didn't have to watch while two overpaid Scottish players started because big bucks were paid for them. But yes he didn't almost break it.