Mattocks goal last night

Who said it wasn't a good goal. But that's it. Whatnelse did he do?. He can't create chances or convert half-chances. He played well off the ball and the defender lost track. It doesn't come that easily against CR, USA, Honduras, Panama, Mexico. You have to take it to them. He doesn't have those skills. Not from what I have seen. Last night he was almost nonexistent for the entire game.

how many think that that shelton 1. would have cut back into space; 2) would have tried to hit the ball one time; 3) missed it either by skying it or trying to control it first and lose it as a result of a bad first touch ...
      Look Shelton is basically clueless. What Mattocks did was simply instinctual of any reasonable forward playing in a playoff game. No great skill demonstrated.

JFF biggah heads seh him ordinary...

lol ! woiee !

All now mi cyaan believe..
        I do agree with them.

Who said it wasn't a good goal. But that's it. Whatnelse did he do?. He can't create chances or convert half-chances. He played well off the ball and the defender lost track. It doesn't come that easily against CR, USA, Honduras, Panama, Mexico. You have to take it to them. He doesn't have those skills. Not from what I have seen. Last night he was almost nonexistent for the entire game.

ordinary compared to who ?

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              Mattocks has many areas to improve on, but I am not sure how you going to talk about not "taking it to them" when like Marlon King he is a player who depends on service.

It was an excellent goal that Fuller, who I am a supporter of, would not score. King is the only other forward we have with that sort of ability to put the ball away when in the box.

Mattocks off the ball movement in that sequence was exceptional.. it showed tactical awareness and very good decision making.. the finishing touch was sublime.. Brilliant..

That is a key missing element from the forward play we have seen from the Reggaeboyz..

Just what we need for the Hex..

Study that.. there will be a test later in the Semester..

We have already used a fit Fuller and King and we were only able to qualify for the Hex. I doubt the HEX is shaking in their boots. Simply sees them as good alternatives.

Me teacher! Me!

How was his game in its entirety?

lol !

yuh ah mad man.. if dat was a Champions League game di whole ah unnuh ah jump up and down.. mek it was Ballotelli or Drogba.. y'all would be salivating all over di forum..

Originally posted by Me View Post
                          Mattocks has many areas to improve on, but I am not sure how you going to talk about not "taking it to them" when like Marlon King he is a player who depends on service.

It was an excellent goal that Fuller, who I am a supporter of, would not score. King is the only other forward we have with that sort of ability to put the ball away when in the box.
                          You apparently have not watched Fuller enough.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DevUweeEUb4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIlhxTt-asA

Fuller is a much better striker than many on this board gives him credit for. When Fuller and King were playing together in the championship, Fuller's strike rate was more impressive..Fuller has not banged in the goals for JA, but he has created many opportunities. Mattocks is the future, but he is not yet on the level of King or Fuller.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                            You apparently have not watched Fuller enough.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DevUweeEUb4
                            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIlhxTt-asA

Fuller is a much better striker than many on this board gives him credit for. When Fuller and King were playing together in the championship, Fuller's strike rate was more impressive..Fuller has not banged in the goals for JA, but he has created many opportunities. Mattocks is the future, but he is not yet on the level of King or Fuller.
                            I have seen everyone of those goals already and have watched as many Ricardo Fuller club and national team games as anyone on this forum.

He has NEVER been a great finisher. Has always been a GREAT dribbler and very fast and strong, so he repeatedly gets himself into good goal scoring positions. Whereas most other strikers rely on service.

Mo that's the point about strikers they wander in and out of the game. It's just that one little window that they exploit.In the Hex, especially against Mexico this guy will make their defence uneasy.One lapse in concentration and he has them.

He made the goal look easy but it was a half chance. Look where the defender was. What if he had controlled and tried to "create space" as many here would say?