Mattocks goal last night

Mattocks does not need time. He needs to be challenged and he will rise to the occasion. At 22 he is not really a young player. Think about it that Rooney was playing for England at 17 (I won't even mention Pele leading Brazil's front line in Worlld Cup). Secondly, take some playerss from the Premiership, Sturridge is 23, Hazard 21, Sterling 17, Oscar 20, Matta 23 Walcott 23 and the list could go on and on. You have to expose talent to let it grow. Protecting him from failure will breathe an atmosphere of doubt in the young player's mind.

It is good to see that his coaches at the Whitecaps show full confidence in his ability and not afraid to push him.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The argument was never if he took the record or not!
      That was my point all along.

Well, you were responding to my post about him almost breaking the record. So, how...never mind!

Well said, I'm still amazed on how he operates in and around the 18. Quite unlike the "typical jakan forward". Must be adhering to coaches instructions in college. This means he's tactically astute and can execute the plan of a coach.

That said Rboyz should display the same confidence in him by putting him in the fire and give him those balls (in and around the 18).

Yup mi feel him ah go reach far. Yuh notice most time him nat even ah look pon di goal. Mi seem him knock een one and not even look but juss run an start celebrating. Ja lucky to rhatid. This is why I feel that there is another Tappa (ah skilla balla) on the island but because of the system and the way of thinking he is being bypassed.