• Our striker problem

Top Scorers
    Player Goals Penalties
    Luton Shelton Striker Jamaica 2 1
    Dane Richards Striker Jamaica 2 0
    Demar Phillips Midfielder Jamaica 2 0
    Nyron Nosworthy Defender Jamaica 1 0
    Ryan Johnson Striker Jamaica 1 0

Shelton goal scoring avg for the last round against meeker opposition was poor, a penalty was scored to pad his C.V ,yes he did score a freekick but when you consider the chances he recieved from open play its poor.

Anyone advocating for Fuller return,doesnt mean Jamaica well,he has never got us past the preliminary round to this last stage.

A solid arguement can be made that Shelton is in the same boat as Fuller ,in that Tappa made a tactical move to pull Shelton and our game opened up with flooded goals thus ensuring we made it to this round.

I am of the firm belief that if Fuller & Shelton is given the reigns to lead the charge in this round we will be out of the runnings in the 1st two games.This we cant afford.

They should be discarded.King and another forward should be called to lead that charge ,although I believe one should be a starter the other should come off the bench to prove his place.Richards has earned his starting place,Cummings deserves a good look or at least a game or two to prove his worth.

I see no need for 9 RB40 players,I am of the opinion that 4 players are needed.

2 strikers

2 midfielders or 1 midfielder and a defender.(It would be nice if they are multifaceted) I see Shefwednesdday using J.J at left back nowadays.
    Last edited by Sir X; October 30, 2012, 05:42 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

With a player like Hue in the midfield our strikers will get service and we should expect more goals. Nothing wrong with one or two more in the pool still.

When Hue was out of the squad they got the chances and failed to put them away,Hue being there only means more chances and even so some still cannot put them away.

Root out di dead wood.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

JJ was playing right back because their two right backs got injured. He is now on the bench and comes on as a winger.

Point is some coaches use players in multifaceted roles,we should do the same, be it a case of injury ,tactical acumen or both,we should look for those types of players.

BTW i have long advocated for this at the scorn of some on the site,now we see the wisdom when bonafide coaches do the same.

Well Tappa has done that with quite a few of our players, so it look like him is your kind of coach.

I am on a bandwagon right now and tappa is hard to assess, i will cut him some slack,he is young and learning and he seems to adapt quickly,isnt as rigid as some of our past coaches.

My jury is out on Tappa but it seems to be tilting in his favour.

Doan figget Boo di most prolific strikah wi produce widout doubt.

lol..i hope we do .

No question about that one.

Yep he should be forgotten.He & Shelton are holding up space.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                        With a player like Hue in the midfield our strikers will get service and we should expect more goals. Nothing wrong with one or two more in the pool still.
                        Think Hue could turn out to be 'fool gold'!
                        Will he be allowed service...(he has to receive the ball to do his think and he is slow!)...and if he gets the ball often will he be allowed time on the ball to do his thing?

The game...the games...will be much faster in this round!

He is what he is. There will be a couple of plays where he will be hustled off of the ball and might not get back quickly on defense, but there will always be plays where he can open a defense the way others can't.

The coach will have to come up with the right formation so that we fully exploit his strengths and minimize the impact of his weakness.

You are so right! And they will hustle Mattocks off the ball and King as well, if he's there. They can't hustle them off every ball.

But with a player like Maestro, you keep him on the field and wait for that moment of genius!

Maestro, Jamaica's greatest footballer ever, (yes, you heard right), will do his thing in the Hex. Memba mi told yuh!

You are so right! And they will hustle Mattocks off the ball and King as well, if he's there. They can't hustle them off every ball.

But with a player like Maestro, you keep him on the field and wait for that moment of genius!

Maestro, Jamaica's greatest footballer ever, (yes, you heard right), will do his thing in the Hex. Memba mi told yuh!
                              Cho Mo, cool no man!!