Deon Burton

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
    He is proven, his goals took us to the World Cup in 98. Probably use him as a super sub! What you say Me?
    As they say, lightning don't strike the same place twice.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

As they say, lightning don't strike the same place twice.
      Old wives tale. Lightning, on many occasions, does strike the same place twice or more often.

The expression is more figurative an is not to be taken literally DDread.

That said, it is unlikely that Burton will come in and have the impact he did back in 1998. He is 14 years older, he is no longer playing at the highest level in English football (read this to mean EPL), he has certainly lost a few steps and would not be a the top of his game despite his exploits in the lower leagues. I think if we are going to get players, it is better we target younger players who are playing top flight football week in week out.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20658954

Originally posted by Me View Post
            He is no better than Mattocks or Cummings. Better to stick with what we have.
            Do you really rate Mattocks?

He has the numbers so he should be on our team for the Hex!

What are his numbers?

O sh!t man, we are so frigging desperate that we now NEED to call up Gramps. Is Fitzroy Simpson still playing ball? I would call him up now even if he's just playing master league ball.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

O sh!t man, we are so frigging desperate that we now NEED to call up Gramps. Is Fitzroy Simpson still playing ball? I would call him up now even if he's just playing master league ball.
                    The young ones can't even do it against mediocre opponents so.......

I took my son to watch Bristol Rovers v Gillingham today and i must say Deon Burton is still in great condition physically he played for about an hour and scored a good goal. He is still very dangerous in and around the penalty box. If you ask me he could still do a job for Jamaica. He may not be able to play full games consistently but he could still be an asset.

What Burton still has over many of our strikers is first touch, movement off the ball, and vision. If only Shelton could get some of Burton's strengths.

I would rather stick with tried and proven like Burton instead of some of these new guys that have been drafted.

When i started this thread, i wasn't really serious, but seeing Deon play live i am seriously thinking are people like Theo Robinson as good as him? No way. The way how he took is goal today the movement to lose is marker and is instant finish in the bottom corner, you either have it or you don't his allround game was excellent. If he stays fit he will score close to 20 goals this season. If i was Tappa i would give him a call.

Mosiah needs to pick up the fone and have words with the goodly Captain.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gillingham manager Martin Allen delighted with impact veteran striker Deon Burton is making at Priestfield

Comments | Log-in to comment...

by Luke Cawdell
                                Gillingham manager Martin Allen saluted his most senior player, Deon Burton, after his class finish at Bristol Rovers on Saturday.
                                Burton, pictured, volleyed home a minute before half-time to double Gillingham’s lead as Allen’s men retained top spot in League 2 with a 2-0 win.
                                And Allen praised the 36-year-old striker – who took his goal tally into double figures – for keeping in top shape.
                                Allen said: "He has been a fantastic professional and we’ve got these men that have had such good footballing careers.
                                "Deon has played in the World Cup and the Premier League and looks after himself. He doesn’t train on the pitch as much as others do. Adam Barrett is exactly the same. They are top professionals
                                "They are not playing around here. They haven’t come to Gillingham to get a few quid at the end of their careers. Deon is a great example of the type of people we want to represent our club.
                                "Don’t come here and have a holiday, come here and let’s crack on and do it."