Jamaica's myopic non-development strategy

What I am saying is Rudi Austin, Jermaine Taylor and others have been through the system until they are adults.

The JFF can't develop our adult players very much, this is a non starter. We have no league, and will not have the sponsorship or supporter in the short term. We simply have to get our teen stars and 20 odd year old stars out of Jamaica for further development.

Again we can do more but it not that bad.

I disagree with you. Players can and must be developed in Jamaica...

if you think our problem lies in the transition from U17 to U21 then you are in denial..

In our 'system' by 17 it is too late..

You are also naive or in denial if yuh believe the present Schoolboy recruitment system can withstand a proper academy program..

Think Campion drop off from Colts to Manning Cup except worse.. I don't
        believe the status quo can accept that..

=Muadib;386566]if you think our problem lies in the transition from U17 to U21 then you are in denial..

In our 'system' by 17 it is too late..
          We have multiple problems..I identified a few not the whole universe

You are also naive or in denial if yuh believe the present Schoolboy recruitment system can withstand a proper academy program..
          LOL...What is a "proper" academy system in the Jamaican context? I don't know what you have in mind.

HS ball has thousands of players...how many would be inducted into this "proper" academy?

As far as recruitment goes....JFF is responsible for football development. All they have to do is mandate which players are ineligible for HS ball because they're in a national program...assuming that is the wish of the player...is that a problem??

Think Campion drop off from Colts to Manning Cup except worse.. I don't
          believe the status quo can accept that..
          I don't understand this but my compliments to Campion and your contributions to futbol

Jamaica's most talented balla...Skill Cole went there...no?
          Last edited by Don1; October 22, 2012, 03:37 PM.

You are so right!!!

Do you think cooperation of persons outside of the JFF with common interest or at the very least interests that dovetail/points of convergence...could fill the void left by the JFF?

Schools - NPL Clubs - *players-agents - sports masters/coaches - academies (local and outside of the island)?

Hey the schools, as in track and field, strive for 'reps' that association with successful sports & athletes bring! ...the players-agents crave fame and fortune! ...likewise sports-masters/coaches crave fame and fortune! ...likewise the academies crave fame and fortune!!! ...it would be a simple matter for a de a yaard individual (sports agent?) to drive such! Right?

Do you think cooperation of persons outside of the JFF with common interest or at the very least interests that dovetail/points of convergence...could fill the void left by the JFF?

Schools - NPL Clubs - *players-agents - sports masters/coaches - academies (local and outside of the island)?

Hey the schools, as in track and field, strive for 'reps' that association with successful sports & athletes bring! ...the players-agents crave fame and fortune! ...likewise sports-masters/coaches crave fame and fortune! ...likewise the academies crave fame and fortune!!! ...it would be a simple matter for a de a yaard individual (sports agent?) to drive such! Right?
                Yuh ah kall out Mo?

Dat look like di long and most especially di short of it
                Last edited by Don1; October 22, 2012, 08:26 PM.

ok boss

No I think you are off base here. There has been great improvement, the brain and framework of our squad is local. Taylor, Austin, morrison, Palmer, peel head, Cummings, Richards, Austin, Watson, shelton, mattocks, GKs, shavar, khari Stephenson, jj, Daley, dicoy Williams, fuller, gardener, granny and a multitude of others who have starred on our dusty, broken lopsided fields and have gone on to earn a living, no! put fans in seats for professional outfits all over the world, people saw it fit that these guys would add value to their club, that is no easy achievement, and they have every one of them brought honor and glory to Jamaica. Pre 98 we could count on one finger the number of players that truly played for a living.

Actually that is why many of us see the massive potential that our tun u haND mek fashion football engine has produced since 98, the fault is mostly with lack of resources and not marshaling scarce resources to best potential.

The addition of the best the diaspora have to offer is a great thing, not a bad thing, we are who we are because of our quest for better when the rocks resources or the use and allocation of the resource was poor. We should be encouraging the yardization of English, American and Canadian yardy generations, like the Italians and Irish who claim that honor 150 years down the line and those countries benefit from that, same for Ja we cannot just let go of the seed and the fruit thereof due to petty insular, inside the fishbowl thinking.

Widen the net is the call breds, widen the net and reap the sweet fruit thereof.
                    The current fundamental team can be strengthened immeasurably from addition of another three or four of the best England have to offer. Sturridge if him not already gone, Danny Simpson from the Toons, ebanks Blake possibly, mcanuff and hoilett maybe, that would do it for me right there.

Also how can anyone talk too much about non-strategy when we ourselves don't even rate our own league and the results produced.

We will probably never have a real pro league until we can raise average per capita income to a real 15k per year, but in mean time we must produce a structure, a competitive, level playing field so that players can truly measure performance and that performance means a chance, a shot at the national squad, too many players getting shots and not producing and too mant producing and not getting even a dutty look, this has always been the failing of Jamaica, an inability to truly level the field or at least give a better shot to most based on real production.

Our road forward is continue to produce better technical players with excellent work habits, too many of our best talent struggle with the latter.

That is the next step, stop force riping players trying to find a pele or something, when guys get a shot at national duty, it should start at the bottom, earn the right through league play, then when called at practice then confirm that as a substitute in actual games. The national league has great talent, we need to figure how to get the football matrix into their brains earlier, as I heard Sturridge say the other day, he really does not see the enthusiasm at the grassroots level for ball in England as he sees in Jamaica, where guys get together spontaneously and roll ball until the sun dip below the sea, how do we tap and sustain that joy, that is the challenge, this cup is three quarters full, we just need a little vision and more organization.

Nuff we can agree on.

I have not read this tome beyond a quick scan but see where it's going with chatter about per capita income etc

I'm sure there is some sense in there (you are more than capable ) but my scan reveals some profound nonsense about pro league development.

All Jamaica needs is visionary leadership bringing all the relevant parties together in a futbol movement as Karl just stated.... JFF, ISSSA. clubs, schools, universities, private sector & Govt. actors

This is what track has done with absolutely brilliant results from local development. This is what numerous African countries have done to develop world class players at home with less than US$1000 GDP per capita

There is a point where the misuse of statistics with illogical assumptions produces vastly diminishing returns...

You have long rounded that corner

World class players no problem, I was talking about a pro league which I said we could not have unless we hit a certain income level.

Mr. Don1 if you don't read the ting yuh can't keep your title, we going to have to call you Mr. Done1
                          No serious argument here just saying it is not as bad as you are saying, just need some more vision and organization, we have achieved a lot, look at TNT over same span, almost the flipside of what we have done with a lot less resources, that list I called up s pretty impressive.

Same way with the case of American soccer them tell you that it wasn't going nowhere until suddenly two years ago they had to confess how it has grown.

Jamaica soccer has grown over the past few years. One of the reason why the league is not better is because our players are overseas. Can you imagine if we had JJ, Fuller, Daley etc. all in the major league? More scouts are doing looking at Jamaica. We have open so many doors since 98.

One of the good annoncement recently is the Digicel grassroot program which they took the former sponsorship of the NPL and now putting in parish and community youth football. Yes the academy should have been online but hopefully it will come next year. The record will show the difference between now and 98.

When I went to college, one player from Serbia pretty much ask "what Jamaica know about football? name one professional Jamaican player.

A league in Jamaica is not very easy. How many viable clubs do we have? Where is the resource going to come from when neither JFF or PLCA can't even muster consistent sponsorship. The level of players needed for a league will have include player from other leagues. The fact is our best youths can't spend long time in the NPL or they will not grow. I advise them to get out as soon as possible. The fact is community teams can't be professional teams, whether it is Tivoli, Arnett Garden, Waterhouse etc.

What I am saying is Rudi Austin, Jermaine Taylor and others have been through the system until they are adults.

The JFF can't develop our adult players very much, this is a non starter. We have no league, and will not have the sponsorship or supporter in the short term. We simply have to get our teen stars and 20 odd year old stars out of Jamaica for further development.

Again we can do more but it not that bad.
                              Sass: You are defending the indefensible. Don1 is bang on target - We do not have an integrated...JFF led system of development. Fact is, we are still living off the school system...a system in place from the 1800s with no significant improvements in terms of the introduction to the game, teaching/coaching, the method of culling the 'best'of the lot and getting them into a first rate 'finishing school' environment.

That Don1 said, is fact!

We need to maximize on what the schools have done...the club structure that KSAFA introduced in the 70s that transitioned into a *"Craven 'A' National League" to now NPL. It is an ad hoc...'buck-up' ting!

*If I remember correctly there was an "Ovaltine (National) League before the Craven 'A' national League....but the Kingston and St. Andrew body was the driving force behind that old Jamaica Football Aassociation (JFA) League.

Mi nuh believe in trying to re-invent the Wheel..

Jamaica have 2.7 Million people and per capita of < $4,000.

What is the blue-print ?

Don't see a successful one (regular trips to the WC) that does not include leveraging the Diaspora as well as building players from 8 years old in a dedicated environment..