Klinsmann: Jamaica game a 'giveaway'

• Klinsmann: Jamaica game a 'giveaway'

United States coach Juergen Klinsmann has described Jamaica's win over the Americans in the semi-finals of the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers as a "giveaway", but promises an improved defensive showing in the final round.

The Reggae Boyz celebrated a first-ever win, at the senior level, over their more highly rated northern neighbours last month, following a 2-1 triumph at the National Stadium in a home and away semi-final tie. The Americans took the early lead through talismanic striker Clint Dempsey but were pegged back by two set-piece goals from Rodolph Austin and Luton Shelton. The Americans won the return leg of the qualifier 1-0 in Columbus, Ohio. The result was the only clear sheet for the United States, who conceded 6 goals during the campaign, the same number as the Jamaicans.

"We expected a very difficult qualifying campaign and that's what it is. We didn't necessarily get it down to the wire in the first stage, but that's how football works. If you give away a game, like we did in Jamaica, then you have to pay the price for it a little while and you have to correct it," Klinsmann told the Reuters news agency, following a win over Guatemala on Tuesday.

"The next round will be even tougher. You have very good teams in there, every game will be a battle, every game will be a fight and we are ready for that," said Klinsmann.

The United States advanced as winners of Group A, along with the second-place Jamaica, who booked their spot in the final round following a 4-1 win over Antigua and Barbuda, in a tense affair on Tuesday night. The teams will join runaway Group B winners Mexico and second-place Costa Rica, and Group C winners Honduras and second-place Panama in the final round, which will kick off in February of next year. The top three teams will advance to the World Cup finals, while the fourth-place team will play off with the winner of the Oceania Football Confederation.

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2012...s/sports1.html

The JFF should blow up that statement and put it the building and the the boyz locker room.

Klinsmann will get himself fired eventually.

where is HL and Lazie to say thanks???? LOL

Take her mother's advice: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrEWTgkubXo

Or if yuh prefer a different flavour, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzDT5vNBALA.

In The return match-- Jamaica played ok but look were no match for the US. Das why im say the BoyZ lucky.

[quote=Lazie;386072]Take her mother's advice: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrEWTgkubXo

I remember I used to 3 step to this one (back in the days). Dance floor DARK!!!

"give away a game", in the sense that the U.S. ended up losing a game after initially taking the lead.

This tabloid article is obviously looking for controversy where there isn't any to begin with.

OK, I got you Zeppo. I was just about to pounce on the comment, but I can understand.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

He has been saying it consistently over the past month. Judge for yourself if you think Zeppo's explanation is correct.

"We gave the game away in Jamaica because we were not ready to fight against them, to take the physical challenges and respond to them. We gave away free kicks away in situations where we shouldn’t have and we paid the price for it."

http://www.ussoccer.com/News/Mens-Na...d-Qualify.aspx

..and teams that take the lead always win right? Otherwise it is a giveaway. Ok then. Tabloid?

if them gift us the game in Jamaica, guess what? We gift them the game in Ohio as well. If mussi think a Christmas.

When trouble take you not even pickney shut can fit you and a dat happen to the US inna Kingston. Nothing more, nothing less. Them fortunate to get the first goal.

we will take it HOW we want for reasons that best suit us, thanks!