I suspect what we need are more businessmen

• I suspect what we need are more businessmen

and less nationalist freedom fighters in the JFF..

It is a matter of negotiation when it comes to utilizing talent 'outside' of the program to-date.

One must understand what each party wants.

A player with qualifications to play for Jamaica may have aspirations to play in the World Cup.

Jamaica would love to qualify for the World Cup.

Under normal circumstances this would seem to be a win-win negotiation..

Until the freedom fighters start to get profound and quixotic..

'What are their motives ?'

'Why did they wait until we were into the Hex ?'

'Are they committed to the program ?'

It is a very simple discussion..

How badly do you want to play in the World Cup ?

The player has to be evaluated based on this desire and his level of professionalism. It is irrelevant if he can talk patois or if his heart swells when he hears the National Anthem.

Either he is a professional or he is NOT..

Make the evaluation then proceed.

Basics.

you think without the commitment they will take you anywhere.

Heinz Simontich said if you work at Halfmoon you have to pick up paper off the ground no matter what is your role as guest will not come to dirty hotels. If not you get fired if you walk pass it.

Now that is a businessman. You think Butch just pick up worker fi the the big games???? Ask Wayne Cummings.

and less nationalist freedom fighters in the JFF..

It is a matter of negotiation when it comes to utilizing talent 'outside' of the program to-date.

One must understand what each party wants.

A player with qualifications to play for Jamaica may have aspirations to play in the World Cup.

Jamaica would love to qualify for the World Cup.

Under normal circumstances this would seem to be a win-win negotiation..

Until the freedom fighters start to get profound and quixotic..

'What are their motives ?'

'Why did they wait until we were into the Hex ?'

'Are they committed to the program ?'

It is a very simple discussion..

How badly do you want to play in the World Cup ?

The player has to be evaluated based on this desire and his level of professionalism. It is irrelevant if he can talk patois or if his heart swells when he hears the National Anthem.

Either he is a professional or he is NOT..

Make the evaluation then proceed.

Basics.
      Agreed...the decisions by the JFF's leaders must be selfish: TEAM to win and make it to Brazil where merely showing up would be a disgrace...cause for depression. It is about being in Brazil and creating waves!!!! ...showing we belong.

After all is said, we have already proven by 1998 act(s) that we can show up. It is now time...the next step must be...to once at the World Cup Finals to play good football...to prove we belong...to create, yes, WAVES!!! ...therefore only players who can deliver on that should be selected. We need a good TEAM...we need a WORLD CLASS TEAM...we need TOP OF THE WORLD type TEAM. We must make the sum of the parts greater than the whole!!!

As I have been saying for yeeeeeeeeeeeers - yes Mosiah, search the site... - Shelton is lacking! ...and the TEAM needs the other strikers to brush up on passing and other technical ability...and finishing...and we need our midfielders to continue to create goalscoring opportunities (They were doing that before the arrival of Hue...and in the games Hue played they continued to create multiple opportunities). ...we need on-the-field XI to give FULL 100 on both sides of the ball...FULL 100 TEAM effort!!!
      Last edited by Karl; October 19, 2012, 12:32 PM.

Commitment ? Yuh mean if dem committed to playing in a World Cup ?

Me more concerned if they are professionals and if dem can play football and integrate within a scheme and take instructions from the Gaffer..

that sound like commitment to mi ....

I think the answer lies in your beginning thread:

Irrespective of how you look at it--Football is BUSINESS FIRST!

In the case of World Cup--only the fans see it as nationalistic. You can't blame them.

If advancing requires requires bringing in 'freedom-fighters' with geneologic ties...then that is the best decision.

mi feel seh is professionalism.. of course they have to be convinced they are in a professional environment..