Look out...Rene is coming

RE: Look out...Rene is coming

Simoes is a great organizer, and that is what Jamaica's football need more than anything right now. He has an excellent football mind, he has a good commdand of teh English language, and most of all, he understands Jamaica's football culture, and what he will be up against.

He has the ability to reach out to the Jamaican people, including the private and public sector, in ways no other coach has been able to.

I know he is not the best thing out there, in fact I think the last Brazilain coach we had in Lazaroni was a better football coach, but comes nowehere close to Simoes in terms of the "technical director" role.

I dont doubt for one minute that Peckerman and De Haan are great coaches. But Jamaica's football need more than just a coach right now, we need a technical director.

If John Barnes want to come in and work as Simoes' deputy, no problem with that...But Barnes alone cant manage Jamaica football, and quite honestly, I cant see Jamaica being able to hold on to the likes of Jose Peckerman and Fop De Haan for any extended period of time. These guys are premium. Look at how quickly Beenhakker exited his T&T job. I doubt he coached there for more than 12 months.

Simoes, in my mind, is the best fit to chart the course for Jamaica football 2010 and beyond. the man no doubt has kept himnself busy since leaving Jamaica.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Tilla (8/24/2006)Lazie, gwaan ah yuh bed, yuh eye dem dark! Where did you see me list Brnes ahead of Simoes? Again, here is my list:<UL><LI>Peckerman <LI>de Haan <LI>de Oliviera <LI>Simoes <LI>Barnes</LI>[/list]

It is of course possible that coaches can not connect with players. The same can besaid of Simoes too. Simoes' advantage is clearly that he has experience working with the Jamaica national team as well as taking us to the World Cup. He has been exposed to the culture and if installed as coach could hit the ground running. We should make no mistake however thinking that he too may not have connection problems with players. He had problems in th past and as much as many of the problem players have moved on, he could encounter others.
      Tilla, who is de Oliveiera? Do we know if this guy is interetsed in coaching a thrird world nationa like Jamaica? How did he get on your list? Did yo ujust throw him on the list because he was fired from his job recently? How do you know he is a good fit for the Jamaica job? Please keep in mind that we are not onlly looking for a coach, wea re looking for a Technical director. The two roles can be combined, but they are functionally two different roles.
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Sickko (8/24/2006)The Italian and German coaches also stepped down right after the World Cup as well, so why pick out the T&amp;T coach?
        You need to first understand the reason behind Beenhakker exiting the T&amp;T job and the reason behind the German and Italian coaches exiting their posts.

Beenhakker's coaching talent is being wasted in T&amp;T...these coaches are not content with just making it to the world cup, they want to win the whole damn thing.

So dont compare Italy and Germany to T&amp;T....totally different set of circumstances.

De Haan and Peckerman are not just happy to beat Mexico and Costa Rica...these guys have hifger ambitions than that.

OK fine, I take all you have said just now, so then does it mena that Rene's wanting to return here mean he does not have the ambitions of these others, that he needs to come back and try to beat Costa Rica and Mexico when he should bein a place where he is trying to win the Confederation Cup and other multi-region awards then?

You start to sound like your friend from the caves.

Sickko (8/25/2006)OK fine, I take all you have said just now, so then does it mena that Rene's wanting to return here mean he does not have the ambitions of these others, that he needs to come back and try to beat Costa Rica and Mexico when he should bein a place where he is trying to win the Confederation Cup and other multi-region awards then?

You start to sound like your friend from the caves.
            Again, you resort to throwing all kind of insults at me to prove your point....you never learn do you?

Rene Simoes is nowhere as high caliber as the Likes of Klinnsmann and the Italian coach. Simoes has never tasted success at any big international club, etc etc. He is hungry for this type of success....Tell me Mr informed, what kind of motivation will a Jose Peckemen have to do well as the coach of Jamaica? How will Jamaica help Peckerman to achieve anything that he is yet to achieve as a football coach? For Simoes, getting to the world cup is in istelfan achievement that he treasures..and I'm sure he has ambitions of taking it further than that next time he goes there....which ties in with what we should be expecting from our teams.

Peckerman goes to the world cup to win it...not to make the second round...And I am sure he knows there is no way in hell Jamaica is going to win the world cup in 2010.

Seems like you belong in the cave with the rest of us Mr esteemed Jouranlist. You reasoning ability is lacking...not that I'm surprised by that...you actually think Boxhill is better for Jamaica football than the previous president.