• World Cup campaign on track

World Cup campaign on track
    Andre' Williams, STAR Writer

Dane Richards celebrates after scoring in the match. - Ricardo Makyn Photos

The Reggae Boyz World Cup campaign regained some traction after their 4-1 victory over Antigua and Barbuda inside the National Stadium last night.

This well-needed victory sees Jamaica advancing one step closer to their Brazil 2014 World Cup dream where they will begin competing against Panama, United States, Costa Rica, Honduras and Mexico when the last round begins in February 2013.

In an encounter that saw so much being dependent on the United States versus Guatemala game, the Reggae Boyz emerged victorious albeit in front of a less than flattering crowd support. In the end, Guatemala, the other contenders in the group, lost 3-1 to the United States.

THE STAR sought to canvas the views of a few spectators after the game;
    Kaylia Williams, publicist, expressed, "I went in the stadium knowing that our team would be victorious. Overall, I am happy our team won 4-1... The overall performance could have been better though, so we need to work on our flaws so we can score some more goals in the next match."

Taxi driver Mark Jones added, "Reggae Boyz all the way. Win, lose or draw enuh! Mi glad dem gone through, God know. We have a lot to fix up still cause the next round a go tougher and certain things we see a gwan now can't follow the team to the next round."

Lyshon Davis, promotion supervisor, said, "We should have scored more goals, we had the opportunities ... we dominated the first half but were too relaxed. The wagonist dem stayed home ... The true fans were at the stadium praying and hoping for the best."

Jerome Morgan, accounts clerk, pointed out that, "The outcome of the game was expected ... I knew Jamaica would win. Overall, how I feel about the team performance —(it is) poor, the team needs a coach. Also, the number 9 should not be in the team either ... I don't see his purpose."

A section of the small crowd celebrates Jamaica's victory.

Jamaican defender Lovell Palmer hugs a member of the Jamaica coaching staff after Jamaica emerged 4-1 winners over Antigua and Barbuda at the National Stadium last night.

Burrell - Disaster averted

Burrell: Disaster averted
    Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

Jamaica's ace midfielder Jermaine Hue hurdling a tackle from Antigua and Barbuda's defender Luke Blakely in last night's CONCACAF World Cup semi-final round qualifying match at the National Stadium.

Jamaica won 4-1 to advance to next year's final round. - Ricardo Makyn

Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, termed Jamaica's advancement to the final round of CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2014 World Cup as 'disaster averted.'

Everything fitted properly in place last night. The Reggae Boyz registered a 4 -1 victory over Antigua and Barbuda at the National Stadium in Kingston, Jamaica, and this coupled with a 3-1 triumph by the USA over Guatemala.

The two results enabled Jamaica to advance ahead of Guatemala with a superior goal difference. Both countries ended the semi-final round with 10 points. The United States topped the four-team group with 13 points.

Last night Jamaica produced a very good performance and got their goals courtesy of first-half strikes Demar Phillips (16th) and Nyron Nosworthy (17th) and a brace by Dane Richards (78th and 88th) with Quinton Griffith pulling one back for Antigua and Barbuda in the 61st minute.

"There would have been severe casualties, there's no doubt about it, had we not advanced to the final round," the JFF boss Burrell told STAR Sports following the post-game press conference.

Results
    "Football coaching jobs are about results, so it would have even been disastrous in that area. I have no doubt that we would have had to have changes, so I am very happy with the way things have gone so far, and we continue to hope for the best."

With the jobs of head coach Theodore Whitmore and the rest of the coaching staff now secure for the near future, Burrell revealed that Whitmore will be getting a pay increase.

"Tappa will get an increase in his salary," Burrell said.

The entire football programme would have been thrown in limbo according to Burrell, as there would not have been enough funds to sustain the nine national teams.

Competitive

Dane Richards celebrates after scoring in the match. - Ricardo Makyn

"From a financial standpoint, you could see the disaster from several areas. We would not be able to remain competitive and we would slide into oblivion I think," Burrell shared. We would have to withdraw from several tournaments and that in itself would have been disastrous. The programme would have been adversely affected in every way."

With the much needed victory achieved which has seen Jamaica and the USA qualify from the group for the next round, Burrell said funds are now needed to properly prepare the Boyz for the task that lies ahead.

"This victory tonight has injected new life in the football programme, and as such, I am very happy for this victory, because I believe that our football is at a crossroads. Not reaching the final round would have been a disaster to say the least," Burrell reaffirmed. "That behind us, we are looking forward to giving our players and the coaching staff all the possible exposure that we can to enhance their chances of qualifying for Brazil in 2014."

Whitmore took the opportunity to make a passionate plea for the corporate Jamaica and the general public to continue to support the programme."We always knew that the road is not easy, but we made it through tonight," Whitmore said. "We just need the support, belief and confidence going forward and we know certainly we can make it to Brazil 2014."

Midfield maestro Jermaine Hue (centre) gets congratulations from his teammates after an impressive performance at the National Stadium last night. Hue pulled the strings in midfield and crowned his brilliant showing with an excellent pass to Dane Richards (11) for the fourth and final goal. Jamaica won the match 4-1 to advance to next year's final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying. - Ricardo Makyn

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2012...s/sports1.html
    Last edited by Karl; October 17, 2012, 04:28 PM.

Wheeeeeew! Tappa, bwoy?

from being almost fired to a salary increase ... talk about life on the edge.

how dem seh mo was not there?

but is tappa any smarter today than he was the other night in Guatamela.. They lost just to how the ball bounce.. If the keeper had handle the easy shot and not spill it for a corner we would have been alright.. As a leader sometime you need to choose our words right...

Tappa was asked in the press conference about the need to pick the best players. The journalist mentioned King, Omar Daley and Jermaine Johnson. Tappa cleverly sidestepped the question.

In responding to another question regarding players from the English leagues, Tappa said all potential players need to demonstrate their commitment to the team. It was not about the JFF running down any player. (Those were not his exact words.)

The JFF needs to run down some players. This Tappa guy sounds like he is a joker. The follow-up question sould be, "Are you saying that King has not demonstrated commitment to the team?". Would be interested to hear his answer.