• The 6 teams in the Hex

Mexico
    USA
    Honduras
    Costa Rica
    Jamaica
    Panama

Will we be able to get enough points to qualify without improving this squad?

No, Jamaica is the weakest team in the Hex. Significant improvements needs to be barely competitive.

probably not.

Jamaica needs:

1) A reserve center back who can replace Mariappa or Nosworthy when necessary without a big drop in ability. (Mariappa and Nosworthy are still my starters.) (*)

2) A defensive midfielder. (*)?

3) A creative midfielder.

4.) Some cold, clinical strikers.

Tappa said he "would leave no stone unturned" in his search for players. Time to hit the rock pile.

i and 4 for sure!!! what we also need is depth.

We have one thing in our favor, and that is our ability to win home games.
            We have an outstanding home record but need to improve on the road.

what about king?

It has now gotten that much tougher but Jamaica right now is a legitimate contender for Brazil spot and upgrading cannot be to our disadvantage.

We must always try to avoid getting into these situations because we don't want to be playing Mexico in Mexico and needing to score 3 goals to qualify.

No serious mistakes against Antigua tonight though. Last goal was nice.

The problem I have is, we had the least competitive group and we could hardly go through. We are now the weakest team in the hex, at least as the team is currently constituted, and probably the worst coached. No offence to Whitmore, but fact is fact. The only hope we have to improve in the next 3 months is through careful team selection. Forget about the damn curfew breaking crap. Tappa is trying to be like Simoes when it comes to zero tolerance, and I understand that, but he has to be aware that Simoes had a larger amount of quality players to chose from. Whitmore doesn't have that luxury, and should just face reality. Simoes almost wrecked the career of Walter Boyd, im my opinion. We are not Brazil, we have to understand that our player pool is small, and mostly of players who are not exceptionally skillful, or play with the best ball sense most of the time.

After beating the USA at home, with the return the King, and upgrade at wingback, better passing and a healthy squad anything is possible.

With all due respect, gwaan a you bed and sleep it off. Wake up tomorrow and hold the waggon

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        No, Jamaica is the weakest team in the Hex. Significant improvements needs to be barely competitive.
                        I do not believe so.
                        Jamaica has been showing from the CONCACAF Gold Cup finals that it has the potential to play the best quality football in CONCACAF.

I know there are many here who saw Hue tonight and think he can perform just as well in this coming higher level...I am here to say he cemented my thoughts on he would be a great liability.

At the next level we cannot hope to defeat any of these teams if we give up terrority on either offense or defense. On neither side of the ball can we afford to play with 10!

Luton Shelton appears to be one of the forwards who also has no where else to go. He was not into full team play...too often he gave away the ball by not making the pass. (Please note I am not saying he did not make some very good passes...but too often 'he messed things up'). We cannot afford that type play.

Why am I saying Shelton appears to have little or no room to improve?

He has been making these same mistakes against these 2nd formers for years...from he first came into our team. I do not see him improving before the next round or even during the next round.

It may sound strange hearing me say this but this is the best I have seen our MoBay forward, Dane Richards, play and he put in the most improved performance of all our players. I think Dane has much more improvement to make and showed he has the capacity to do same.

The next most improved performance was Rudolph "Ruddy" Austin. He played great both on attack and defense. ...and based on his play over period I have been seeing him...that performance suggests he could become a TOP OF THE WORLD player. So I expect him to also step up his game in the next round.

Our left-sided player, Demar Philips showed how one player can make a tremendous difference to a TEAM. Still gave away the ball a few times in silly (immature actions) ways.

Expect upside to quite a few players. It all depends on whether or not each understands the principle of...concept of being a 'selfish TEAM-player'.
                        The simple matter of personally thinking I am unimportant all I do must be for TEAM. Example, if Shelton had that concept it would make for him assisting on plays such as that 2 metre tap-in in the USA match.

I think many of our players from this squad can 'progress' to such a level and make for a GREAT Jamaica TEAM REGGAEBOYZ! ...growing even as we are progressing through the Hex.

Finally: Thank GOD for JESUS...we are through!

Shelton was horrible at attempting to cross the ball at this level in the first

The 4-1 score is a fair reflection of the gap in the two teams. Jamaica is the only Caribbean team in the 'hex' and is playing at Central American level.

The first Jamaica team to beat the US was coached by a Jamaican picking his team.

The next level requires room for improvements which we have.

We played against a team that had nothing to lose and was only beaten by the US in extra time.

The standard of play of Jamaica 2012 is higher than 1998.

We are starting to play like a team that had a bad result in Antigua from too many missed chances and some players looked they were not up for it against the US at home.

It sends a message to some who think Jamaica needs them more than they need Jamaica.
                            Last edited by World Fan; October 17, 2012, 12:33 AM.

I will say it again, there can be no excuses. Never in Jamaica's history have we had so many quality players to pick from, so it is up to Tappa and the JFF to pick the right players and system to take us to the World Cup.