• We Neva learn our lesson - Part 2

Whew!!!! I had start a new thread.

Some very good points were raised in that thread. Karl and Stoni, I cannot understand your stances against Hue being in the team when he was our best player last friday. Stoni, you obviously want a team that plays defensive. However, that was never Tappa's plan for that Guatemala game. Our biggest downfall in that game was that there was nobody competent enough to finish Hue's passes. We controlled most of the game, especially in the second half, but we had too many headless chickens. I saw Hue making a reverse pass that left the Guatemalean defense completely flat-footed. A shot at goal should have completed that play. I think it was Shelton who received the pass and allowed the defense to recover.

Karl - The team is NOT creating numerous goal-scoring opportunities as you believe. Again, just like me, we get to see Hue play when he's selected for the national team...and gets game. To date, I have not seen him have a bad game. Your idea of him not having the speed of thought to make passes is completely ludicrous. When you have idiots standing on the bylines waiting for passes before they start running, who is he going to pass to? We do not need Hue to be running up and down the field defending when he is the main creator of scoring opportunities. That is just a tactical move that should be addressed by the coach. Hue, next to workhorses like Morrison and Austin will make us a formidable team.

Luton Shelton must not start as a striker. Our attacking play has become very predictable over the past year and the opposing teams have made their necessary adjustments to counter our speed. We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now? There are no crosses coming from our wings that put a short team like Guatemala under pressure.

Sass you are on form with your arguments. Our LB position must be filled as that's where our weakness is in our defense. Jermain Taylor is not a natural LB.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I would say take Morrison out. Find another defensive mid. From last year mi a tell them fi call Carl Henry from wolves. Morrison is too slight. He doesn't always tackle and I expect more from him offensively. He is not able to change a game for the life of me, just back pass and side passes. We expect more from him, he is a professional long enough.

Karl - The team is NOT creating numerous goal-scoring opportunities as you believe.
      Have you checked number chances created?

Again, just like me, we get to see Hue play when he's selected for the national team...and gets game. To date, I have not seen him have a bad game.
      Was this a good game by him?
      How many passes did he attempt?
      How many were completed?
      How does that compare with top worldclass player in his position?
      How many times did he cough up the ball - ...fouled opponent! ...lost by poor touch! ...lost in tackle (tackled/hounded by opponent)?

Your idea of him not having the speed of thought to make passes is completely ludicrous.
      I am judging his decision-making and execution against what I am observing in top quality games.

We do not need Hue to be running up and down the field defending when he is the main creator of scoring opportunities. That is just a tactical move that should be addressed by the coach. Hue, next to workhorses like Morrison and Austin will make us a formidable team.
      Total nonsense if we are expecting 'good' TEAM. Will not even go into explanation on need for 11 players operating at optimum rate for TEAM. ...as your comment suggests you have no inkling of qualities needed to create (good) team fit for quality performances.

Luton Shelton must not start as a striker. Our attacking play has become very predictable over the past year and the opposing teams have made their necessary adjustments to counter our speed.
      Our speed has been (with Shelton) always presented advantages. No team player can get to a 50:50 ball faster than opposing team player who is slower.

We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now? There are no crosses coming from our wings that put a short team like Guatemala under pressure.
      In context of the paragraph in which the following appeared -
      What has this to do with having great speed?
      The above demand skill sets that having great speed would allow even greater advantage!

Sass you are on form with your arguments. Our LB position must be filled as that's where our weakness is in our defense. Jermain Taylor is not a natural LB.
      Will not comment on that need...save to say in this our last match the goals were created through the center of our defense and from wide on our right!
      Last edited by Karl; October 16, 2012, 01:12 PM.

maybe after we get to the Hex - yes. It is so sad that the entire program depends upon us getting through. We have come such a long way, with a longer wasy to go. The team has shown tremendous improvements since our last foray, and it would be a shame to see this core broken up. Regardless, we need to actively continue the search and give more players, especially from overseas leagues a chance.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now?

Wow Stoni & Karl any suggestions.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

[quote=Karl;384874]Have you checked number chances created?Have you?

Was this a good game by him?Yes
            How many passes did he attempt? Were our forwards rnning into spaces?
            How many were completed? I am not a statitician. How many were completed?
            How does that compare with top worldclass player in his position? Equally, especially when I am comparing him to Paul Scholes.

I am judging his decision-making and execution against what I am observing in top quality games. So am I.

[quote] We do not need Hue to be running up and down the field defending when he is the main creator of scoring opportunities. That is just a tactical move that should be addressed by the coach. Hue, next to workhorses like Morrison and Austin will make us a formidable team. [quote]

Total nonsense if we are expecting 'good' TEAM. Will not even go into explanation on need for 11 players operating at optimum rate for TEAM.Why do you believe that he is not operating at HIS optimum? His role is to create goal-scoring opportunities. ...as your comment suggests you have no inkling of qualities needed to create (good) team fit for quality performances.

[quote] Luton Shelton must not start as a striker. Our attacking play has become very predictable over the past year and the opposing teams have made their necessary adjustments to counter our speed. [quote]

Our speed has been (with Shelton) always presented advantages. No team player can get to a 50:50 ball faster than opposing team player. True, our speed does presents its advantages, but how many goals have we scored after we get that advatage? How many times have we seen Shelton lose the ball or not make that telling pass after getting the advantage with his speed?

[quote] We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now? There are no crosses coming from our wings that put a short team like Guatemala under pressure.

What has this to do with having great speed? Speed without getting the end result is useless. This is football, not a track event.
            The above demand skill sets that having great speed would allow even greater advantage!

Will not comment on that need...save to say in this our last match the goals were created through the center of our defense and from wide on our right!
            Again, true, but that does not mean that our LB position is the weakess part of our defensive unit.

We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now?

Wow Stoni & Karl any suggestions.
              At this stage encourage sharing of ball quickly and shooting more often. Unnuh set-up unnuh waan a nedda - try more passing into goal. It is fact that approaching goal at speed and making side-footed pass into goal shall have ball traveling quite quickly...fas-fas...as fast as strong shot using other means...and that passing is usually much more acurate than 'bombing away'!

Easy conversation with players on above...no time to do much more!

..after that?

Whats amazing to me is our predicament rests on HUE, pass or fail ,its all down to Hue , i wonder if we pass will Hue get any credit, I know on whose head the blame lies when we fail.

After 1 game...aaah sah.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

[quote=Jangle;384878][quote=Karl;384874]

We do not need Hue to be running up and down the field defending when he is the main creator of scoring opportunities. That is just a tactical move that should be addressed by the coach. Hue, next to workhorses like Morrison and Austin will make us a formidable team. [quote]

Total nonsense if we are expecting 'good' TEAM. Will not even go into explanation on need for 11 players operating at optimum rate for TEAM.
                  Why do you believe that he is not operating at HIS optimum? His role is to create goal-scoring opportunities.
                  Why?
                  He was not seen as sufficiently mobile. He could at the very least always amble into support position when we had the ball...and get close to an opponent when we did not!! He was not consistently...continuously doing that!!! I think he could have...and in our coming match can...and should do that!!!

He could also make his decisions and release the ball quicker (to prevent the intended recepient being covered defensively...shut-down as ball arrives). His slowness - thought, execution - too often made his pass difficult for his TEAMmate to receive with time and space to 'go'. Not enough passes that had ball arriving to TEAMmate with GOD only by that TEAMmate's side!!!

We need to play 11 vs 11 on defense as well as offense. ...even against these teams (God Bless Guatemala and Antigua & Barbuda for the efforts)...having '1 short' on defense make for goals against us. Heaven help us against more competent teams - Mexico away from The Office? Can I say 5-0 deficit! Yup! 5 - 0 and Mexico is not as strong as last World Cup...that is what playing '1 short' on defense could do to us.

Luton Shelton must not start as a striker. Our attacking play has become very predictable over the past year and the opposing teams have made their necessary adjustments to counter our speed.
                  Our speed has been (with Shelton) always presented advantages. No team player can get to a 50:50 ball faster than opposing team player. True, our speed does presents its advantages, but how many goals have we scored after we get that advatage? How many times have we seen Shelton lose the ball or not make that telling pass after getting the advantage with his speed?

Often!

We have not scored a goal from open play in how long now? There are no crosses coming from our wings that put a short team like Guatemala under pressure. Again, true, but that does not mean that our LB position is the weakess part of our defensive unit.
                  Not sure of that! There were times we were exposed there but that was more from poor ball handling by others than the LB!

...any position will be...appear to be...full of holes if the ball is always being given to the opposition.

Finally: (Almost forgot you referenced Paul Scholes) - You must have never watched a recent BoyU match! ...mispronouncing on Paul Scholes' play as you did suggests you have never seen him play ever...and obviously certainly not recently!!!
                  Last edited by Karl; October 16, 2012, 01:56 PM.

why you say that?

Karl, it is useless to argue with you on Hue. Like a political tribalist, you are unwavering in your opinion even when the facts slaps you in the face.

"He could also make his decisions and release the ball quicker (to prevent the intended recepient being covered defensively...shut-down as ball arrives). His slowness - thought, execution - too often made his pass difficult for his TEAMmate receive with time and space to 'go'. Not enough passes that had ball arriving to TEAMmate with GOD only by that TEAMmate's side!!!"

Here, you blame Hue instead of his "slow-of-thought" teammates who fail to see the space behind the defender.

You do not have to worry about Morrisson and he will be out due to suspension (accumulated yellows).
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran