We Neva learn our lesson, keep banging the wall!

Aside: Klingsmann needs to drop some of the old guard...

He is being undermined. They do not give the same effort they gave (the previous best US coach) - Bruce Arena.

This USA team is indisciplined...and too many members do not give that 110% they gave for Bruce. They just do not share the ball as well as did Buce's teams.

It is also evident he needs 2 or 3 'keepers who 'tell' Howard is place in the squad is not secure.

Dread while Fuller is helpful at time, can you also count the times he has been absolutely selfish and not passing to his strike partner who is in a better position to shoot?

Sad that Fuller is in this position but he himself has spoken about his production for Jamaica. While I like Fuller, he too have to step up. He passes the ball much more when playing for Stoke City and it is said that he and Shelton don't talk to each other. You maybe can say Roy drop Rio and Tappa drop Fuller LOL.
      Fuller and Shelton should never start together unless you using 3 out and out strikers. You would need to either one with Johnson or King...but not together when you use 2 strikers.

I can recall games where Fuller totally played crap as he tried to dribble down anything and everything in sight while missing the real objective of the game. I recall one game, I think it was a Gold Cup game in which the Jamaican papers wrote how Fuller "had a peach of a game" while the whole game he spent making terrible decisions and hurting the team. I wondered if those writers really knew anything about the game.

I actually had such high expectations for Fuller when he was a young 20 year old. As time went on, I realized my expectations were misplaced.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

. . .

My point is, the team does not seem to have a problem creating chances, we have a problem with finishing. It therefore follows that Fuller might not be the answer to our problem, as seen that he has a deficiency when it comes to finishing in national colors. Maybe calling King would be the better option than Fuller.

Hey, over the long run, it is always lost on us who was involved in creating an opportunity. What usually counts is who finished the opportunity. It is sad that this is what happens, but that is just the reality of the game we love.

Last season it was said that Torres was on the creation of so many of Chelsea's goals although he was not scoring. Di Matteo as the manager said as long as the player was contributing, whether he scored or not was not an issue. At the end of the day though, Torres is still considered a failure as a striker as a strikers success is gauged by how many goals he scores per game. A jus' the reality.
          First of all Fuller has rarely got good service when playing for Jamaica so you wouldn't know if he would finish those chances when he actually gets them. Additionally, we are not creating an abundance of chances this current outing. I did a comparison of Fuller vs King over a couple seasons back when they were both in the championship together; most here would predict King as needing less chances to get goals, but it turns outs that Fuller's strike rate, under similar conditions, was significantly better than Kings. Fuller it turns out was more clinical, go figure.

Over the long run you are correct it is the goal scorer that is remembered by the public, but in the heat of the battle I want the guys on the pitch that will give me the best chance of winning. We have basically chosen to use the digicell team, with the addition of Mapps and Noseworty, for this campaign. What has been clearly missing are creative players in the midfield and the striker positions. A player with Hue's passing skills has been missing and a forward with Fuller's skill and creativity has also been lacking; we have been one dimensional in our attack. Can you imagine having Shelton and Johnson doing their thing in the first half and then you bring on a fresh King and Fuller in the second half..or vice versa. Our main strikers should have been Shelton, Johnson, Fuller, and King. Who are these other baggage forwards we have been carrying with the team? And why is it we just now call Hue?

I can recall games where Fuller totally played crap as he tried to dribble down anything and everything in sight while missing the real objective of the game. I recall one game, I think it was a Gold Cup game in which the Jamaican papers wrote how Fuller "had a peach of a game" while the whole game he spent making terrible decisions and hurting the team. I wondered if those writers really knew anything about the game.

I actually had such high expectations for Fuller when he was a young 20 year old. As time went on, I realized my expectations were misplaced.
            You and I both know the media are sometimes clueless when it comes to rating players in a game. I remember a Gold cup where Fuller did play like crap, but I also never believe he should not have been selected because he was neither fit or in form.

You shouldn't be disappointed. He has had a stellar career only not for Jamaica. A so the thing go sometimes. Too many of our players at that era tried to prove themselves too much when playing for Jamaica because they got a "contract". I think Bibi has also been guilty.

Hopefully the youngsters them get it right.

I understand your fustration but he hasn't taken a lot of beaten and is always in position. Too many times or wing back think they are Roberto Carlos and is out of position. People cuss him when he pass it up the wing but nothing is wrong with that, When he passes it in the middle and give it away yes I agree. The thing is Right back is not his natural position, and hopefully he will grow in it. In the middle of the park when playing midfield he turns his ball backwards too many times.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                  You and I both know the media are sometimes clueless when it comes to rating players in a game. I remember a Gold cup where Fuller did play like crap, but I also never believed he should have been selected because he was neither fit nor in form.
                  Correct version of the post.

You are joking right? What you call Brad Guzman who is now the starting keeper for Villa?

What oldster not giving their all for Klingsman?

You guys are comedians, i told you all about Fullers x years ago , yuh remember 1-10 ratio, Shelton is on said path, he will be 1 in 15 against the top 5 in concacaf, only scoring against minnows .We have a striker crisis for years.

The style of football that Tappa has us playing will have to see us depending on our midfield for goals, Omar cummings and Ryan Johnson should be given starting duties,with Richards & the young Mattocks blooded to step up, and of course anaother striker from the U.K if not KING!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You are joking right? Omar Cummings form is how good currently. Depend on our midfield for goals? how many have they scored and which midfielders are you talking. Richard blooded to step up? How old is Richards? He has to step up now or never.

Shelton still have a 1-2 record so you have to be consistent with your stats. Did he score against US and Guatamala? Are they minor. Shelton wouldn't be my starting forward but maybe a winger in my opinion.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                          And why is it we just now call Hue?
                          I believe Karl can help you out with that question.

Nobody is more hounded on the football field when Hue plays in our NPL. Our fastest and fiercest defenders target him, but he always burns them. He has proven himself against them, against the Cubas, against the ManUs and now against little Guatemala.

Pity he wasn't in the matches against the USA.

Anyway, your views are duly noted and archived!

Agreed!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                                Don is that not what I said, 1998 we had no local based player in any foreign league so clearly our team was local, that s straightforward.

Now we have players that have excelled locally and are selected to go to bigger eagles and are paid to do that, those are our best players, is anything more straightforward than that. If we had a total local squad Antigua would have dusted us out completely.
                                You miss the point.

1. The term "local based player in any foreign league" is a profound contradiction...one is either based in the home country at some foreign point

2. The 1998 team qualified for the WC primarily with local players and a handful of committed foreign based players... that is the only successful qualification model Jamaica has to date... and it debunks your model's bias to foreign based players.

1998 qualification suggests the core of Jamaica's team should be locally based but given massive exposure internationally in a development phase

3. For the umpteenth time...the so called "best players" (by your statistical & league modeling) do not make necessarily the "best team"... especially if those players are only available fleetingly and team play consequently is difficult to develop.

The best team should be the objective ..NOT a grouping of what some model suggests are theoretically the best players... we have seen that foreign movie post 1998..and it's been a consistent flop.

BTW...obviously I'm not suggesting that local players should be introduced in the middle of qualifying..but that a longer term development strategy should be in effect. Your Antigua reference is a non sequitur
                                Last edited by Don1; October 15, 2012, 02:16 PM.