My sentiments

• My sentiments

Lawrenson blasts Liverpool's TV documentary, claiming Shankly would be turning in his grave

By SPORTSMAIL REPORTER
    PUBLISHED: 03:59 EST, 8 October 2012 | UPDATED: 04:04 EST, 8 October 2012

Criticised: Brendan Rodgers

Former Liverpool defender and Match of the Day pundit Mark Lawrenson has hit out at the ongoing fly-on-the-wall documentary detailing life behind the scenes at Anfield.

Being: Liverpool, currently being aired on Channel 5, takes a behind the scenes look at the club with manager Brendan Rodgers featuring prominently.

And Lawrenson was critical of the Northern Irishman's participation in his column for the Daily Mirror - claiming that Anfield bosses of old would be 'turning in their graves'.

'What on earth is Brendan Rodgers doing in this programme Being: Liverpool?', writes Lawrenson, who was also critical of the club's American owners.

'I’m sorry, I just think this show comes across as American schmalz. It’s totally ill-advised and some of the stuff that I have seen so far in the first three episodes is cringeworthy.

'I think everybody shares that point of view. The problem is, once you get American owners intent on doing it and intent on getting everyone involved it’s extremely difficult.

All smiles: Rodgers oversees Liverpool training last week

'Well, at the moment the club isn’t doing particularly well. The soundbites are great but it’s plain for everyone to see that there is a lot wrong.'

Lawrenson, who made 241 appearances as a defender for the Reds in the 1980s, added: 'One other thing. The show I saw on Saturday ended up with Ian Ayre, the chief executive, jumping on his Harley Davison and riding through the city.

'Come on!! Shankly would be turning in his grave. So would Paisley and Fagan and all of those Liverpool legends.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz28hZnnuBX
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...no argument from me. Not a fan of the series.

i like it but I am not a pool fan so i can say eh.. nice soap opera ..... not serious football club.. keep it up .. i wonder what it will be like being liverpool in the championships.

I wonder why , the claffy held up three envelopes in a team meeting and said I have the names of 3 players who will let us down this season ????

lol....poppy show to rahtid,man say the sqaud lost confidence in rafa after winning numerous titles , wha dem affi say bout dis clown, from man lazy to the media to dis envelope B.S.

Boss im ave Hodgson beat, expect more gaffs, it would be if it wasnt intentional.

Mad men a run pool.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.