How good is Langdon Donovan?

RE: How good is Langdon Donovan?

Tilla (3/25/2007)I know many on this forum do not give him any rating as a footballer. He however never fail to deliver for both his club and country. We see him do it all the time, against Jamaica, Mexico many European teams and now scoring a hatrick against Equador. We know Equador is no walk in the park tea too from what we have seen in the World Cup in Germany recently.

I think he is a good intelligent little player and we would do well to even have one Donovan in our side (we can do without 25 Adus). Suh wha unuh tink forumites? Is Donovan a Don or a Rucks?

(Clap)(tup) for Donovan:exclamationmark:
    Technically he is very good and a smart player. Unfortunately for him I think due to the fact that he has those qualities people are looking at him to be a go-to player which just is not in his psychology. On some days he can be dynamite but when he meets a little bit of adversity during games he folds under pressure.

I realize how assanine this sounds after he dropped 3 goals yesterday and is going to become to the US leading scorer by a country mile but Donovan to me is the US' version of a Bebeto, Jaime Moreno or Eidur Gudjohnsonwithout the ambition. They arenot the players you build a team around but they are certainly players you need who just based on their technical prowess takes the attention off of the go-to players. As well these playersare adept at setting up the go-to players.Landon Donovan is a top notch complimentary player.Every team has them and they are very important.

The sad thing about Donovan is due to his propensity to shy away from adversity he will fall below is potential and that to me is unforgiveable. He has all the tools to be a strong player on the World Stage except the mental.

As for how good is he. I am with Jawge. On the World Stage he is an above average player. In Concacaf he is kryptonite to Carribbean and Central American teams who can't deal with him. In meaningless friendlies he is King. I still like him as a player anyway. Unfortunately he is not the batter to the cake he is more like the frosting. - T.K.

T.K: I certainly appreciate your honesty and candor. You took time to explain yourself and back your position with reason.Jawge now just give you his feeling without the reason.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

aah boy , but yuh

get the message though right?:P

True. And when he retires, a cup will be named after him because he has done a tremendous lot for US football. And deservingly so!

Wow!! Now what would we give to a double scorer in the world cup? Okay let me rephrase that.

Lets say this country is in the world cup for the first time and they have lost their first two games but then bounced back to salvage some pride by winning their last game 2-0 courtesy of a double strike from one of their midfielders.

Now how should that player be honored? Or maybe the fact that he is a black man precludes him from being honored in his own land? Is that asking too much ooops don't answer that because the fact that most of us had to run lef our born for better opportunities abroad is all that I need to know

respect

Direct that question to the appropriate people. I have made myself very clear on what we ought to have done regarding Tappa's heroics.

Yes Ras mi wid yuh ah

hundred percent on this one. Man score two goals in a friendly, it came easy to Mo to say "name a cup after him". Tappa scored two goals to make JA proud, we sidetrack the issue by talking about Lindy (imagine no one on this board has ever seen him play. Watching JBC as a child, I thought he was a golfer) Now Mo is coming with Hue. Rise up peoiple and give your local hero is due, Tappa is us and we must learn to love and extol ourselves. Big post Ras truss mi pon dat.

My reply to this sent yesterday when i could not log on:

"How good is Landon Donovan" piece and still cannot get on -

Suffice it to say, Donovan could be rated TOP OF THE WORLD. In my mind that elite group has about 100 players. The man produces consistently at that level. As to the whether or not he can 'breakdown' a TOP OF THE WORLD defense? Ofcourse he can and has done so. He is not a beating two or more men as the Robinho's of the World. He is all about TEAM and beating in 'popping' one-on-one skill - one man and then doing his thing i.e. passing or shooting. Excellent little player.

Of the seven things, *Just inserted - I consider critical things all TOP OF THE WORLD players must have a majority of - i) TEAMplayer, ii) Excellent technical ability, iii) Pace across ground, iv) Quickness - reaction time in thought and physical action, vi) have defensive presence and attacking presence and vii) physical fitness...Donovan has six! His only weak area is his technical ability...and, that is just above average.

He is an excellent player. he would be comfortable playing on any of the TOP FIVE TEAMS - Argentina, Brazil, France, Germany and take your pick of Portugal, Croatia, Holland. He is that good...that important a TEAMplayer! We must remember that the players around the player under the microscope put limits or enhances what he can contribute.

His last World Cup was not bad. He contributed to his TEAM drawing with the eventual World Champions and the displays against the other TEAMs is not as awful as many make it seem. The expectations were high...but, Bruce Arena coached badly and selected his TEAMs poorly.

*It is the two words - "I consider" that I added/inserted.

Karl where on Brasil's team can donavan play?

Brasil is a counter attacking team, Brasil most of the time does not play team ball (look at their game carefully). Brasil at times does extra ordinary things to score goals to either win or tie a game (most teams would just give up and fold) there is little room on Brasil's team for ordinary players (small wonder Robinho shines so brightly in yellow shirt). Brasil, Germany and Arg? karl please sit and rethink this one.

Yuh a look smaddy talk to.

Jawge (3/26/2007)Karl where on Brasil's team can donavan play?

Jawge: Firstly the question is not, could Donovan make the Brazilian team?

Even then he could if he were a Brazilian!

Jawge: Do you have Brazilians who only do the simple jobs? Dunga comes to mind. He just anchored the TEAM.

Do you see any current Brazilian who just does his job? Adriano the forward? Not often given to flair is he? Just makes his one-twos and puts the ball into the back of the net?

Secondly: The question is could Donovan replace any of the current Brazilians and perform well make the Brazilian TEAM at least as good as it can be?

I think he could!

Brasil is a counter attacking team, Brasil most of the time does not play team ball (look at their game carefully).

You take a look!

Brazil is one of the best TEAM playing TEAMs. TOP OF THE WORLD on TEAMplay.

You are blinded by the flair!

Does Brazil often give away the ball? - NO!

Does Braizl use the entire field to retain possession? - YES!

Does Brazil continuously share the ball during their games? - YES!

Does Brazil often make...continuously make multiple passes during attacks? - YES!

On the counter, does Brazil use TEAMplay...multiple passes to 'open' the opponent to 'serious damage'/create goalscoring opportunities? - YES!

Does Brazil's teammates continuously...continuously provide SUPPORT OPTIONS - moving into spaces continuously - on attack? - YES!

...and on defense, do all the TEAM members take part? - YES!

What are you taking about Jawge? Even when an individual makes one-on-one moves...as it should be in TEAM...and, as Brazil always does...SUPPORT PLAYERS help to guarantee the success of those one-on-one moves by moving into SUPPORT POSITIONS so as to provide an outlet if needed...and, MOST IMPORTANTLY -contribute directly by keeping other defenders 'honest'...out of the way of the one-on-one movement!

TEAM and Brazil is, as it is with all the TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMS, synonymous!

Jawge: What the hell are you taking about?

Nuh tell nuh lie pan our Brazil!

U.S. team sees a more focused Donovan

The stars and planets of the soccer solar system are lining up remarkably well for Landon Donovan these days.

Not only did the U.S. attacker record an impressive hat trick in the 3-1 victory over Ecuador on Sunday, he was then thrilled to discover that he had matched Brian McBride for second place in all-time U.S. Soccer goals leadership with 30.

And if that wasn't enough, his new wife called to remind Donovan that she was about to turn 30 the next day.

See? Thirty goals. New wife turning 30. Things are simply that swell in Landon Donovan's world right now.

(continue)

But wait.....is what de rhatid? Tilla! Did you really write "Langdon Donovan"? Or are my eyes deceiving me? How come I did not pick up on that before?Langdon?Is which one a yu porn tapes yu get dat name fram? - T.K.

Not a smart player, average soccer IQ, but quick and accruate also if yu 'touch' him early he will disappear from the game.

PS Add the Jamaican Coat of arm to the national team uniform.

LOL..No Jamaican striker can come close to him...LOL LOL when you awoke what happened ZEP ?

LOL! the only thing MEX , USA and C. Rica has over Jamaica is an infrastructure,ohh yes and properly managed money.

You lack talent, we have it in abundance. we use a B team and drew with you before the WC a hint of your true status on the world stage.

Bennet scored a peach , when a player like that cannot break into Jamaicas 1st team , practically ignored for half his footballing life by the national set up , its says more about us than our competitors quality.

If Bora is on the path I think he is on , you will be fighting for2nd place with MEX!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.