RE: How good is Langdon Donovan?
Technically he is very good and a smart player. Unfortunately for him I think due to the fact that he has those qualities people are looking at him to be a go-to player which just is not in his psychology. On some days he can be dynamite but when he meets a little bit of adversity during games he folds under pressure.
I realize how assanine this sounds after he dropped 3 goals yesterday and is going to become to the US leading scorer by a country mile but Donovan to me is the US' version of a Bebeto, Jaime Moreno or Eidur Gudjohnsonwithout the ambition. They arenot the players you build a team around but they are certainly players you need who just based on their technical prowess takes the attention off of the go-to players. As well these playersare adept at setting up the go-to players.Landon Donovan is a top notch complimentary player.Every team has them and they are very important.
The sad thing about Donovan is due to his propensity to shy away from adversity he will fall below is potential and that to me is unforgiveable. He has all the tools to be a strong player on the World Stage except the mental.
As for how good is he. I am with Jawge. On the World Stage he is an above average player. In Concacaf he is kryptonite to Carribbean and Central American teams who can't deal with him. In meaningless friendlies he is King. I still like him as a player anyway. Unfortunately he is not the batter to the cake he is more like the frosting. - T.K.
Tilla (3/25/2007)I know many on this forum do not give him any rating as a footballer. He however never fail to deliver for both his club and country. We see him do it all the time, against Jamaica, Mexico many European teams and now scoring a hatrick against Equador. We know Equador is no walk in the park tea too from what we have seen in the World Cup in Germany recently.
I think he is a good intelligent little player and we would do well to even have one Donovan in our side (we can do without 25 Adus). Suh wha unuh tink forumites? Is Donovan a Don or a Rucks?
(Clap)(tup) for Donovan:exclamationmark:
I think he is a good intelligent little player and we would do well to even have one Donovan in our side (we can do without 25 Adus). Suh wha unuh tink forumites? Is Donovan a Don or a Rucks?
(Clap)(tup) for Donovan:exclamationmark:
I realize how assanine this sounds after he dropped 3 goals yesterday and is going to become to the US leading scorer by a country mile but Donovan to me is the US' version of a Bebeto, Jaime Moreno or Eidur Gudjohnsonwithout the ambition. They arenot the players you build a team around but they are certainly players you need who just based on their technical prowess takes the attention off of the go-to players. As well these playersare adept at setting up the go-to players.Landon Donovan is a top notch complimentary player.Every team has them and they are very important.
The sad thing about Donovan is due to his propensity to shy away from adversity he will fall below is potential and that to me is unforgiveable. He has all the tools to be a strong player on the World Stage except the mental.
As for how good is he. I am with Jawge. On the World Stage he is an above average player. In Concacaf he is kryptonite to Carribbean and Central American teams who can't deal with him. In meaningless friendlies he is King. I still like him as a player anyway. Unfortunately he is not the batter to the cake he is more like the frosting. - T.K.