Who is Lamar "Wanka" Nelson?

Yuh nuh badda talk, cause you always just post the link instead of just cut and paste the article itself.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

there is a reason for that .....

yeah...........????? There is also a reason why I take the time to cut & paste any article that I post too.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

sent you a message, HOPE YOU GOT IT!!!!

dem nuh know bout dem cut and paste ting.. dem want di site lock dung..

i didn't ask for another, i merely asked if it was easier just to post the link to the observer than to post a link to a link that has the article. i assumed it would be easier (if it is not i am open to correction) and wondered if it was not easier, why did you resort to the more "scenic route"? that amounts to hating you?
              It was not easier.
              Any which way you take it - going the route I went i.e. posting the RBSC link (I was already on the RBSC's site) or 1) opening the link I gave you then copying the Observer link; or 2) first opening the Observer's web site and then finding that link, entailed more steps than just posting the RBSC link. ...I thought it was evident to everyone that the route I took was easiest and fastest. Either of the other routes could be termed 'scenic'.

ok.

Maybe a wish to not infringe copyright? ...but what the hell? - I usually just put the link at the bottom of the article.

Wanka!

Wanka is the kind of player you'll leave your Sunday dinner to see play football. When he touches the ball there is a serious air of anticipation from spectators and I think his opponents as well. I think it puts some undue pressure on him as he can't produce magic every time he touches the ball.

He's an attacking midfielder with the deftest of dribbling skills. Just when you think he has lost it, he wins the ball back and makes the defender look stupid. He does not have the passing range of a Maestro. His style is more like Messi - dribbles and looks for the openings and makes the pass. Or goes himself!

He's not the finished article as yet, but if he continues on his path he could be hot in two years time. Needs to work on getting more consistency on his shot and needs to improve his passing. I understand his attitude could use some touching up as well.

Wanka!

Wanka is the kind of player you'll leave your Sunday dinner to see play football. When he touches the ball there is a serious air of anticipation from spectators and I think his opponents as well. I think it puts some undue pressure on him as he can't produce magic every time he touches the ball.

He's an attacking midfielder with the deftest of dribbling skills. Just when you think he has lost it, he wins the ball back and makes the defender look stupid. He does not have the passing range of a Maestro. His style is more like Messi - dribbles and looks for the openings and makes the pass. Or goes himself!

He's not the finished article as yet, but if he continues on his path he could be hot in two years time. Needs to work on getting more consistency on his shot and needs to improve his passing. I understand his attitude could use some touching up as well.
                      Conclusion: Not Reggae Boyz saviour! Not a 'real' player as judged against top players. ...in a nut shell 'still a novice'! ...a neophyte!

Contrast that with the claims of top notch player?

where did you get all of that?

Your conclusion seems a little harsh.

However, I would agree he is not yet a "top notch player".

Wanka should be invited to the next round of training sessions should we advance to the Hex.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                            He is the hottest thing in Jamaican football, 21 years old,plays for Arnett Gardens and could very well be the answer the Reggaeboyz have been looking for in the midfield as the creative general. I heard that he has amazing skills, vision and also a goalscorer. Is he the next Tappa, Jerry Hue or better? If he is the answer then put him pon di field and ask him di question! Yard massive, Mosiah! Talk to mi...who is this youth!?
                            Well one needs to read!
                            I have.

The article states and you posted
                            He is the hottest thing in Jamaican football

Clearly he is not!
                            He is a neophyte! Please return to and read the article and Mosiah's comments on what has been said about areas in which he is lacking. Those say clearly he is no where near good player.

One thing I have said repeatedly on this site and elsewhere - Listen to what is said as it tells exactly what the person is saying (and who that person is!) The article tells how players are judged by the writer and his source. It also tells, as far as his and his sources' judgement is concerned, the lack of ability to make judgement on who is a good player.

Would you wish to have in our TEAM ReggaeBoyz a player as inept as the player under discussion?

Considering there are local players who are in the national squad who are currently playing in the NPL (RSPL) do you really believe he is "the hottest thing in Jamaican Football"?

...or do you believe here is a player with SOME potential who just may, one day, become a competent player or better?

Look - I have gotten exactly what I wrote from the comments posted...including what Mosiah said, namely the fellow is, as far as being a football player is concerned, a neophyte - at this moment=not good player!!! ...but with SOME ability which with proper attitude, hard work and good guidance (coaching/teaching & mentoring) come become a COMPETENT player or better!!!

I think the reason we have had such poor rate of progress in quality of players, local and national teams is the crap drummed into the psyche of those who provide guidance to our players (and indeed into the psyche of our players) by those who should know better.

"Hottest thing in Jamaican football"?

Total unadulterated nonsense! Terrible disservice to the youngman. Wickedness! ...as I fail to understand how persons with competence in real life and some knowledge of football can not be deliberately engaging in*sabotage by trumpeting such nonsense into the ears of the impressionable young player. The fellow is ******** poor as stated and yet he is being touted as our current REGGAEBOYZ saviour

*deliberately impeding the youngman progress, drumming into the youngman's consciousness unrealistic views of his current ability thereby impacting his attitude and approach to his 'football work', etc., etc... all bad things to do!

It is also a terrible thing to disseminate the info that this fellow is better player..."hotter" than or even "equal to" those already playing for the national team as that cannot be good for shaping attitudes, perceptions of the players or perceptions and attitudes of those who cooch/teach our players and our football administrators. Why would one want to spread falsehoods? ...to what purpose can this be beneficial to each involved in moving our football industry forward?
                            Last edited by Karl; October 4, 2012, 01:26 PM.

with a name like that.. where does he find the time ??

Btw, Wanka had a good day for the Junglists yesterday. I think he was the victim of many no-calls by the referee, one Mr. Courtney Campbell. Let's just say I cannot understand this referee's calls sometimes.

Anyway, I am becoming more convinced about Wanka's shot. He scored a screamer free kick last week and took another one last night that had the goalkeeper in all sorts of trouble.

Good player, despite Karl's contrary portrayals.