Lazie, Jangle, if Vidic was their today...

• Lazie, Jangle, if Vidic was their today...

...do you think you would have won? Evans strikes me as a weak link and Rio will struggle against fast opposition. Your next 4 Prem fixtures are:

Newcastle (A)
    Stoke(H)
    Chelsea(A)
    Aresenal(H)

Vidic won't be ready for any of these games (I think). What do you think your team has to do to win all these games? And Jangle, I know that you have to score more goals than the other team to win, but my question is about what you would do strategically and tactically, it might be tough for you to think this way. By the way, bribing the ref wid more money don't count.

...do you think you would have won? Evans strikes me as a weak link and Rio will struggle against fast opposition. Your next 4 Prem fixtures are:

Newcastle (A)
    Stoke(H)
    Chelsea(A)
    Aresenal(H)

Vidic won't be ready for any of these games (I think). What do you think your team has to do to win all these games? And Jangle, I know that you have to score more goals than the other team to win, but my question is about what you would do strategically and tactically, it might be tough for you to think this way. By the way, bribing the ref wid more money don't count.
    Which of the goal would be his fault? The problem is Spurs was allowed to do as they wish in the first half. If Vidic was there ...if the middle was playing same way we'd be in trouble.

I don't think that any of the goals were directly his fault. But that is not my question. What do you all have to do differently (I guess play more aggressively in the middle) to take maximum points from the next 4 games?

Play like they did 2nd half and leggo Rooney. Wid Vidic out we gonna conceed, therefore score more than everybody else.

I think its more complicated than that, here's what I would do:

1. Start Rooney and RVP in all 4 games so they get a solid understanding of each other.
          2. Play a 4-2-3-1 formation against Chelsea and Arsenal; against Newcastle and Stoke, play 4-4-2 with Rooney higher up; those two teams don't have the midfield to trouble unuh so Rooney shouldn't have to work as hard - Hazard gonna give your team serious trouble
          3. Bench Giggs. Start Scholes in all games.

You can thank me later.

I think its more complicated than that, here's what I would do:

1. Start Rooney and RVP in all 4 games so they get a solid understanding of each other.
            2. Play a 4-2-3-1 formation against Chelsea and Arsenal; against Newcastle and Stoke, play 4-4-2 with Rooney higher up; those two teams don't have the midfield to trouble unuh so Rooney shouldn't have to work as hard - Hazard gonna give your team serious trouble
            3. Bench Giggs. Start Scholes in all games.

You can thank me later.
            In Fergie I trust. I personally think its time for Giggs to walk away. I'm of the view that you win some and lose some, but it is clear MU contributed to their downfall today. I guess like me the players were certain they would win.

It is simple Paul. No way anybody can walk through Manu defense without a tackle from Vidic. Twice Manu defense escorted Spurs playing in the box without a pushing a foot. Rio is not as quick on his feet but is a decent defender while Evans is too slight.

If it was even Smalling or Phil Jones there would have been a tackle.

In Fergie I trust. I personally think its time for Giggs to walk away. I'm of the view that you win some and lose some, but it is clear MU contributed to their downfall today. I guess like me the players were certain they would win.
                What should be troubling u all is that your best player is 37! Slurgie need to find a midfield maestro...you can't expect scholes to run the whole season.

It is simple Paul. No way anybody can walk through Manu defense without a tackle from Vidic. Twice Manu defense escorted Spurs playing in the box without a pushing a foot. Rio is not as quick on his feet but is a decent defender while Evans is too slight.

If it was even Smalling or Phil Jones there would have been a tackle.
                  I think they have other problems than just Evans (i.e. Vidic not being in the line up). If Rooney and Scholes aren't on the pitch, it is as if no one else really wants to play. You saw the same thing in the Liverpool game as well. De hair dryer mussi bruck. LOL!!!

Since you asked me a serious question, I am going to give you a serious answer. Mr. President, please do not read any further. What we are seeing with this United team is a result of SAF going soft as he nears his retirement. It is plain to see by one and all that our biggest problem lies in the middle of the pitch. SAF, for the past 3 or4 seasons, has refused to let go of the old guard. I did not watch the second half of the match, but I groaned when I saw the line up. Giggs has served us well, but he needs to go. You cannot start Giggs and Paul Scholes in the same team. Paul Scholes and Michael Carrick should not be paired against top quality team. Scholes should also be coming off the bench until the season ends. SAF is too sentimental when it comes to his older players. Ferdinand, Scholes, Giggs, Carrick, Fletcher, should have been let go (not all at once) over the last 3 to 4 seasons. To answer your question Paul, I think we need to play the youths - Cleverley, Anderson, Powell. I don't think that Kagwa has found himself yet and should be dropped to the bench instead of Rooney. Nani also needs to be cashed in. Vidic will never be the same and we need to fasttrack those youngsters. Evans needs to go. Generally speaking, I think, with the squad that he has, he needs to give the youngsters a chance. The team would be more dynamic. Welbeck is not clinical enough to be a striker and maybe more suited out on the wing. After that Fulham game at the begining of the season, I was hoping that SAF would have made a bid for Dembele. We need a hardman to play in front of our defense that would allow our playmakers to do their jobs. I think Newcastle and Stokes are going to be our toughest of those four matches. We will have a fighting chance against Chel$ki and the Gummers.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Since you asked me a serious question, I am going to give you a serious answer. Mr. President, please do not read any further. What we are seeing with this United team is a result of SAF going soft as he nears his retirement. It is plain to see by one and all that our biggest problem lies in the middle of the pitch. SAF, for the past 3 or4 seasons, has refused to let go of the old guard. I did not watch the second half of the match, but I groaned when I saw the line up. Giggs has served us well, but he needs to go. You cannot start Giggs and Paul Scholes in the same team. Paul Scholes and Michael Carrick should not be paired against top quality team. Scholes should also be coming off the bench until the season ends. SAF is too sentimental when it comes to his older players. Ferdinand, Scholes, Giggs, Carrick, Fletcher, should have been let go (not all at once) over the last 3 to 4 seasons. To answer your question Paul, I think we need to play the youths - Cleverley, Anderson, Powell. I don't think that Kagwa has found himself yet and should be dropped to the bench instead of Rooney. Nani also needs to be cashed in. Vidic will never be the same and we need to fasttrack those youngsters. Evans needs to go. Generally speaking, I think, with the squad that he has, he needs to give the youngsters a chance. The team would be more dynamic. Welbeck is not clinical enough to be a striker and maybe more suited out on the wing. After that Fulham game at the begining of the season, I was hoping that SAF would have made a bid for Dembele. We need a hardman to play in front of our defense that would allow our playmakers to do their jobs. I think Newcastle and Stokes are going to be our toughest of those four matches. We will have a fighting chance against Chel$ki and the Gummers.
                      It is interesting that you say he needs to give the youths a chance. i was arguing (elsewhere - this board isn't the only place I "argue") that Brendan Rodgers gamble and courage in playing the young team we put out against WBA in the Carling Cup was a very smart move. It paid off. So I think you are right. I am very surprised at how long Slurgie has held on to his trust in Giggs, Scholes and Rio. I think part of what you're seeing is his frustration in the club's inability to bring players through. You have to admit that the standard of the team that won him so many trophies was based on a youth squad that came out of Manu**'s academy - beckham, scholes, giggs, neville were the core of that team; that kind of relative quality is not available. Well, for me, unu too old. I am very interested in seeing how he works his way out of this. History has shown that you second guess him at your peril.

" I am very surprised at how long Slurgie has held on to his trust in Giggs, Scholes and Rio"

Hasn't Scholes done more than enough to merit his place in the team? Rio, without Rio where would MU finish last season? Without Rio, where would MU be this season? Okay we lost 3-2 on Saturday. I think the mistake was having Rio marking Defoe and that is what led to goals 1and 3. MU will bounce back but this rush to get rid of Scholes (who changed the game against Liverpool) and Rio (the best English defender in the game) is comical.

" I am very surprised at how long Slurgie has held on to his trust in Giggs, Scholes and Rio"

Hasn't Scholes done more than enough to merit his place in the team? Rio, without Rio where would MU finish last season? Without Rio, where would MU be this season? Okay we lost 3-2 on Saturday. I think the mistake was having Rio marking Defoe and that is what led to goals 1and 3. MU will bounce back but this rush to get rid of Scholes (who changed the game against Liverpool) and Rio (the best English defender in the game) is comical.
                          You miss the point. The point is that there is no youngster in behind them that can do what they do. To have your best midfielder be 37 years old borders on professional negligence. To be clear, no one is saying get rid of them, but how much longer can the team rely on them - maybe another season? Slurgie starting both Giggs and Scholes is an eyebrow raiser. I agree with Jangle, they should be coming off the bench. The youngsters need a chance to step up and prove themselves.

I'm sorry, last I checked Jones and Smalling are both injuried. Didn't Fergier use 2 youngsters from the academy against Newcastle on Wednesday? So to talk as if there are no youngsters waiting in that postion isn't true. The reality is Rio better than everybody else. Now with Vidic out, if Fergie should bench a fit Rio for an inexperienced defender facing Defoe ..... how many coaches would take that risk?

The midfield now is a cause for concern. The problem is a hardman is needed to tackle in the middle. Scholes don't tackle, Scholes foul. Yes, there are players in the midfield waiting, but the reality is Scholes is still better than all of dem.

I'm sorry, last I checked Jones and Smalling are both injuried. Didn't Fergier use 2 youngsters from the academy against Newcastle on Wednesday? So to talk as if there are no youngsters waiting in that postion isn't true. The reality is Rio better than everybody else. Now with Vidic out, if Fergie should bench a fit Rio for an inexperienced defender facing Defoe ..... how many coaches would take that risk?

The midfield now is a cause for concern. The problem is a hardman is needed to tackle in the middle. Scholes don't tackle, Scholes foul. Yes, there are players in the midfield waiting, but the reality is Scholes is still better than all of dem.
                              Not arguing on the short term tactics with personnel...the bit in red is the point. A 37 year old man is your best midfielder and supports Jangle's point about Slurgie not acting decisively enough over the last 3-4 seasons: ("
                              SAF is too sentimental when it comes to his older players. Ferdinand, Scholes, Giggs, Carrick, Fletcher, should have been let go (not all at once) over the last 3 to 4 seasons. To answer your question Paul, I think we need to play the youths"). I hate agreeing with Jangle on anything but objectively, I think he is right.