Rodgers will be sacked the 1st or 2nd week of December
Originally posted by X View PostTalk to Pual, im di happy when Rafa get di boot, im muss over the hill with you now.
kissteeth.
They signed Brendan because he is just happy to be 39 and in charge at a big club, he will take the BS from FSG that Rafa wouldn't. So at the end of the day, we have to face up to the fact that our owners are debt-averse businessmen unlike the debt-loving Glazers and that they would rather run a profitable Championship outfit than a money losing title holder. That's why ownership is more of a problem than the manager."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Top 10 such is the admission , ahh mean ambition ? i cant understand how you can say the manager isnt the problem when you conceed he is happy to be at a big club and accept B.S ? Glad you can admit Rafa would not and i am glad they overlooked him for that reason, incidentally stop saying Rafa cracked under pressure, he handled it well winning all those other trophies and if there was any pressure it was from H&G , you admit his budget was a hinderance,Rafa planned for that pressure he lined up a striker to partner Torres, so when Torres & Ferraud got injured in the last 2 months of that season it was his genius that guided us to 2nd, it was his genius again that guided us to 6th with half the team injured the proceeding season.Hodgson with a full strength team had us in relegation by New Years, Rodgers with his as you say accepting the B.S looks set to chart the same course.
Its dissapointing to me , that you rave about a season starting after we got our asses whipped by the top 3 , gone are the days when we didnt fear anyone.just look at us now,oooh how the mighty have fallen.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I'm 'old school' so expect us to do our talking on the pitch. I'm not comfortable with the constant media interviews and, in particular, the endless discussion of the tactics we're employing. Having said that I thought the stuff he did with some of the fan sites a couple of weeks ago was great. I watched 'Being Liverpool' online last week before it got taken down. Won't spoil it for anyone but overall he comes across pretty well although some of his philosophising had me wondering whether Gervais/Merchant might sue for plagiarism. I got the impression that the show is very much a BR vehicle and I do worry about that given our pretty indifferent start to the season. I think the media are just waiting to turn on him. He has a fairly large ego for someone with a limited CV so he could become an easy target if things start to go wrong.
I don't like the way that he's been given free rein to demolish the squad he inherited. It's massively wasteful and hugely expensive. If we had stronger leadership off the pitch he would have been told to build on the squad he had, much like Rafa did when he took over from Ged. Evolution, not revolution. He seems to be in a rush to bin off all of KD's signings (with the obvious exception of Suarez). Whatever your views of the individual merits of the players KD brought in, selling them at knockdown prices, loaning them out to rivals or sidelining them completely represents a massive loss on some significant investments. He was brought to the club because of his ability as a coach. Good coaches improve players; they don't bin them off and then complain about lack of resources.
He got a lot of sympathy out of the Dempsey saga, but I'm not sure why. He talked Carroll down all summer rendering him completely worthless; could have had Sigurdsson but decided he wasn't worth the wages and left the pursuit of a goalscorer (our number one priority for the summer) until the final day of the transfer window. Schoolboy errors all round compounded by the fact that he absolutely can not stop himself talking about other clubs players. I got the impression Fulham would have sold Dempsey to anyone but us because we'd gone public in our interest.
I thought yesterday's performance was quite good and you can see what he's trying to do. We will need to be patient and I think the majority of the fans will be, but it's the players that worry me when it comes to retaining the faith.
Overall, I think people tend to forget that BR is a rookie manager. Untested at this level and he is obviously making mistakes. Since the deadline day fiasco much has been said about the need for a strong CEO. For me, it's been the most glaring omission from the FSG 'plan' from day one and it's needed more than ever now that we have someone like BR at the club. A guiding hand in the background would allay some of my fears about him.
#4 RichLFC
TIA First Team
TIA Full Members
4,547 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:42 AM
Think he realized firstly that he probably made a mistake with farming Carrol out, and perhaps more crucially in not fully realizing Ian Ayre and the clubs recruitment set up are pygmies in comparison to even Huw Jenkins, let alone Levy, Gill etc. I will be charitable and describe the footballing operations of FSG as useless
I bet he wishes he had a decent chairman, and could be regretting vetoing a sporting director. Think he's also being thrust a lot in to interviews because there is a realization that the club could quickly be in a desperate situation if injuries hit us and he will need to allay the hordes of disillusioned and ********ed off supporters the best he can
Think we have lost already several points due to our recent recruiting ineptitude and the defence are adapting very slowly
It's not anywhere near perfect but don't really think we can keep changing regimes otherwise reckon we will go down eventually. The new manager bounce doesn't happen at this club and the mentality is atrocious. So he will be looking for little acorns. Such as, I dunno, draws away from home after falling behind
Think he knows full well that this may be the way to play it until eventually the playing staff gets the hang of it and the dumbasses at the top end realize that cheapskatery won't allow us to compete. We will have to recruit in January. No more arsing about
#5 leopoldfrank
TIA Reserve Team
TIA Full Members
309 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 08:44 AM
I'll join in this debate at Xmas. Don't really feel the need to overly analyse and criticise him yet. Here's a link to Being Liverpool I found on RAWK for anyone who is interested. Just about to watch it.
http://frrole.com/o/...askus-liverpool
(add a .avi or .mpg extension to file once downloaded to view)
#6 T.C.B
New Signing
TIA Registered Users
27 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 10:02 AM
Im positive about him. I think he speaks well, has a presence about him and is determined to be his own man. I think he gets "it".....as in I think he knows how much this club means to us and how special it is to the people of the city. He seems to realise the size of the task at hand and I hope he is given the time needed to get it right. We simply cant go through another change on the manager/coaching staff and expect to be stable. I shudder when I think how much it must have cost to pay off Rafa, Hodge, Kenny and their respective coaching staff.
Sometimes I think Brendan overdoes the rhetoric in interviews and also the constant religious overtones are a bit tiresome. He is a rookie at this level and has and is going to make mistakes. The way he handled the Carroll situation was very poor. It was clear from day one he wanted him out and his price and demand dropped as a result.
He should have boxed more clever on that one for sure. No doubt he thought that a deadline day replacement would be signed but thats no excuse for how he weakened our position early in the window.
He has brought in some good players in Allen and Sahin, jury is out on Borini and we've yet to see the two younger players yet.
On the pitch I think we can see what hes trying to do. The players are adjusting to the new system and it will come together soon. We have maybe deserved a bit more from our first few games of the season. He badly needs a win and hopefully it will come at the best possible time next weekend.
#7 ILLOK
TIA Regular
TIA Full Members
1,679 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 10:14 AM
It's too early to be having this discussion.
#8 MikeOscar
TIA Youth Team
TIA Full Members
237 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 10:23 AM
Rodgers can sure talk the talk, but hasn't shown his ability to walk yet. It is still very early days so far and it's impossible to make any sort of proper judgment until the end of the season. He has a massive, massive task on his hands. This task hasn't been made any easier by the uselessness of the management above him. Yet for all that, he isn't blameless for the summer fiasco either. A proper striker should have been priority all summer, especially with him flogging Carrol off like a cheap whore. He could have vetoed Carrol's move to West Ham until a replacement had been secured, but didn't. Somehow he's managed to deflect almost all blame upwards towards FSG, which seems a bit slippery to me. I don't trust him (yet), but really hope he'll do well. If he fulfills our hopes he could set up something special here, but so far we haven't taken the first step.
Edited by MikeOscar, 16 September 2012 - 10:32 AM.
#9 redbj
TIA Legend
TIA Full Members
10,356 posts
Posted 16 September 2012 - 10:29 AM
it is, and it isnt.
although im still fairly optomistic, i have to say, some of the rent a quotes are, as pointed out above, a bit almost brentish.
i read somewhere that kenny gave him a bit of a whack in regards to raheem and his willingness to gather the credit on his progress.
all in all, fairly concerned to tell you the truth.
the guy does talk constantly about what needs to be done to establish success, but hes never actually done it, ive read somewhere that he needed to get the club stabilised again from a tumultous time, which is fairly myopic, considering we actually got stabilised under the king, (the real one) and actually won a trophy.
in fact, in what is seemingly taken for granted as a debacle of a season, Dalglish actually won more than rodgers ever has in his career...and finished higher than him in the league, which you could argue would be expected, except for the fact we are now modelling ourselves on rodgers former chargers, and spent over half our budget on his top player.
having given all that, im still holding out alot of hope that rodgers might just be tough enough to get the job done.
i just hope that having gotten rid of the real king, the new emporer has actually got clothes.
http://www.talksport.co.uk/sports-ne...ignings-181022THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View PostTop 10 such is the admission , ahh mean ambition ? i cant understand how you can say the manager isnt the problem when you conceed he is happy to be at a big club and accept B.S ? Glad you can admit Rafa would not and i am glad they overlooked him for that reason, incidentally stop saying Rafa cracked under pressure, he handled it well winning all those other trophies and if there was any pressure it was from H&G , you admit his budget was a hinderance,Rafa planned for that pressure he lined up a striker to partner Torres, so when Torres & Ferraud got injured in the last 2 months of that season it was his genius that guided us to 2nd, it was his genius again that guided us to 6th with half the team injured the proceeding season.Hodgson with a full strength team had us in relegation by New Years, Rodgers with his as you say accepting the B.S looks set to chart the same course.
Its dissapointing to me , that you rave about a season starting after we got our asses whipped by the top 3 , gone are the days when we didnt fear anyone.just look at us now,oooh how the mighty have fallen.
"Rafa cracked under pressure" - X, how can you say he didn't? I remember DISTINCTLY his accusations of Manu** getting better calls than other teams right before their match against Chelsea. He knew they were the "in form" team and tried to influence the officiating in that match. All he ended up doing was bringing greater pressure on his players when Chelsea frigged up at OT. It was a schoolboyish move and he should not have done it. I am not referring to anything else other than that season and still hold Rafa in high esteem, but he is not the right man for Liverpool with these owners. If we had some Russian oligarch or Arab sheik as owners (cue: blame Rick Parry and David Moores for that) then he would be the right guy. As for his genius, he was the brainiac who alienated Alonso driving our best midfielder away and then replaced him with an injured player. Really? Come on. But I think him for his service and his efforts.
Lastly, as I said with Hodgson I will say with Rodgers (and any other manager) - give them till Christmas. I won't make any judgment before then, but my sense is that Rodgers will come good. He had the toughest opening schedule any manager could ask for, but I can see where this is headed. They certainly didn't make things easy by not having another striker in the line up, but I think that by Christmas things will be dramatically different - otherwise - he (or preferably FSG) - will have to go. Still, do you think it's a coincidence that #1 and #2 in the table are the two biggest spending clubs in the transfer window? Not that this let's Rodgers of the hook, but money is a HUGE factor, that's why the owners are the first step in assessing the situation...after all...Rodgers didn't hire himself."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
my question would be if brendan rodgers gets us to 2 cup finals would that be seen as an achievement?
were talking down our expectations but the team last season had foundations to build on for this season.
we allowed the fewest shots on target at our goal in the league with the 3rd best defence.
we had 50 more attempts at goal than manu but scored 42 fewer goals.
we hit the post more times than any other team and a record amount in the league (33).
we missed the most penalties in the league.
we won the most corners in the league 309.
our downfall was ultimately our shooting and the fact that we had the worst conversion ratio in the league at 9%.
so our attack was very good, so was our defence our problem was scoring, yet rather than build on this foundation of last year, weve reset the system.
our attack is worse than before even though this was actually the only area we were lacking and needed to build on to move us forward.
im not convinced we need to start again from scratch. we should try to build on what we already had. evolution not revolution.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by X View Postmy question would be if brendan rodgers gets us to 2 cup finals would that be seen as an achievement?
were talking down our expectations but the team last season had foundations to build on for this season.
we allowed the fewest shots on target at our goal in the league with the 3rd best defence.
we had 50 more attempts at goal than manu but scored 42 fewer goals.
we hit the post more times than any other team and a record amount in the league (33).
we missed the most penalties in the league.
we won the most corners in the league 309.
our downfall was ultimately our shooting and the fact that we had the worst conversion ratio in the league at 9%.
so our attack was very good, so was our defence our problem was scoring, yet rather than build on this foundation of last year, weve reset the system.
our attack is worse than before even though this was actually the only area we were lacking and needed to build on to move us forward.
im not convinced we need to start again from scratch. we should try to build on what we already had. evolution not revolution.
YNWA."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
I am aware of most of these stats?????? But we are playing football like you havent seen in years ???? IF by christmas??????
Errractic !
Boss im nuh good im affi prove say im good in my book.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by X View PostI am aware of most of these stats?????? But we are playing football like you havent seen in years ???? IF by christmas??????
Errractic !
Boss im nuh good im affi prove say im good in my book.
Liverpool has taken more shots on the target than any other club in the Prem this year - it is our conversion rate that is horrific. So when I say we are playing football like I haven't seen in years, I am talking about possession. The last time we played like that was in 2009, certainly not under KD and Hodgson. All KD did was try launch the ball in the air to Carroll; his system allowed for substandard players like Adam and Spearing - Rodgers own does not (thank God).
And yes, "if by Christmas". You can't give the man the job and don't give him time to do it. So while I agree with evolution not revolution, let's see what the revolution brings before we get too hasty. Liverpool had the hardest opening season fixture list in as long as I can remember. A loss at Norwich will be a big blow and a warning light will go off, so I am predicating the time allowance based on him being much further up the table before then.
Anyway, stop all the belly aching and give me solutions - and don't bother come with "Fire Rodgers and hire Rafa" - Rafa ain't coming back, get over that. So, what do we do now? Give me real solutions (keeping in mind we have some effery owners)."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Hammering/disgracing Norwich is the bar for some ? others its Hammering/disgracing MAN U.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
That's the mentality which caused you to be in that position. Unuh need fi creep before unuh walk. How many seasons unuh "duss out" the Empire and we end up winning the league. Unuh need fi change unuh priorities. Right now beating teams like Newcastle, Everton, Fulham, West Brom is an achievement for unuh. Go hold yuh space and stop call up big team name.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Yess spoken from di heart, we were creeping when we won the Cl league, FA cups and being in numerous cup finals, whacking man 4 & being runners up, I can see with dunny such is arsenal ambition.I know this is where and how you want to see us.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by Jangle View PostThat's the mentality which caused you to be in that position. Unuh need fi creep before unuh walk. How many seasons unuh "duss out" the Empire and we end up winning the league. Unuh need fi change unuh priorities. Right now beating teams like Newcastle, Everton, Fulham, West Brom is an achievement for unuh. Go hold yuh space and stop call up big team name.
X - who says that dussin' out Norwich is the bar? For me, I see that Rodgers is doing certain things that no manager in recent times (as I can remember) is doing - e.g. playing the youngsters and focusing on possession as well as tempo. He played 5 teenagers against WBA in the Carling Cup and won; they also played very attractively. And as far as the first team goes, he is giving them chances there as well - Sterlling looks to have cemented a starting position, and *young* players like Wisdom and Suso look like they can hold their own and are being given opportunities at the expense of senior squad members like Downing and Enrigue. That is exactly what is needed - hunger!
Lastly (and it pains me to say this) I agree with Jangle. We have to beat the run of the mill teams and not worry too much about the big guns - we will ALWAYS be up for those games...it's the likkel stupid ones that we screw up on. A few seasons ago, losses to Reading and Middlesborough derailed our championship run. Had we won those games, we would have taken the title. Since then, the league is more competitive.
We'll talk again at Christmas.
EDIT: By the way - Rodgers mistake so far was with letting Carroll go without a replacement (if that was his doing) and that his defence is not playing tight enough. The two goals that Norwich got on the weekend were inexcusable. He has to fix that.Last edited by Paul Marin; October 1, 2012, 09:43 AM."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365